The 13-Story Treehouse (13 Story Treehouse) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$9.63
Qty:1
  • List Price: $13.99
  • Save: $4.36 (31%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The 13-Story Treehouse Hardcover


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$9.63
$4.99 $1.98
Paperback
"Please retry"
$27.43

Frequently Bought Together

The 13-Story Treehouse + The 26-Story Treehouse (13 Story Treehouse) + The Day My Butt Went Psycho (Andy Griffiths' Butt)
Price for all three: $25.29

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 - 7
  • Series: 13 Story Treehouse
  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (April 16, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1250026903
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250026903
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.6 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #18,680 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 3-5-Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. In addition to the normal rooms found in a house, it has a theater and library, a bowling alley, and a games room. The boys write and illustrate books, and are far behind on their deadline for their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. They bicker and procrastinate and experience many adventures and misadventures. Wacky stories about flying cats, a monster mermaid, a treehouse full of monkeys, and a banana-seeking giant gorilla will entertain and delight readers. Fun cartoons on every page will engage them and inspire giggles. The situations are described and illustrated so completely that readers will be instantly transported to the fantastic world of the 13-story treehouse. Fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid"(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.-Erica Thorsen Payne, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School, Charlottesville, VAα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

In this series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey, a young author-illustrator pair discover that a single day of life in their gigantic tree house provides enough material for a manuscript to satisfy their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. Episodes involving a giant banana attack, a sea monster masquerading as a mermaid, burp-filled bubblegum bubbles, a threatening gorilla, and 13 ferocious flying cats are described in bites of text plentifully seasoned with Denton’s scribbly, busy black-and-white cartoons, which vary from full page to spot to other rascally configurations that spill from the page. The wonderfully random slapstick humor is tailor-made for reluctant readers. Even better, each short chapter stands alone, though the whole story hangs together thanks to repeating motifs. A treat for all with a sequel promised for next year. And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading. Grades 3-5. --Kathleen Isaacs

More About the Author

Andy Griffiths is an internationally successful children's author and the award-winning writer of the JUST series and the BUM trilogy. His books have been bestsellers in both his native Australia and the USA. Andy thrives on having an audience; he has been a teacher, the lead singer in a rock band and a stand-up comedian. He lives in Smellbourne, I mean Melbourne, Australia, with his partner and two daughters. Other books by Andy Griffiths to look out for: THE DAY MY BUM WENT PSYCHO, ZOMBIE BUMS FROM URANUS, BUMAGEDDON, JUST ANNOYING, JUST CRAZY, JUST DISGUSTING, JUST KIDDING, JUST STUPID. Terry Denton is well-known for his work with Andy Griffiths on several titles, including the JUST books. He is also an author and illustrator in his own right and extremely popular with audiences in Australia and the US.

Related Media


Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 14 customer reviews
It was a great book for kids like me.
Andrea Martinez
She would giggle as she read and when she finished, said she was surprised at the ending.
Connie S.
The equally whacky illustrations make this book a fun and easy read.
LadyInRead

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Jennifer L Toole on August 30, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Like a lot of boys his age, it's hard to find books he's interested in. The second he opened the cover and saw the drawing of the treehouse, he was hooked. It's not often I hear, "Mom, I'm going upstairs to read for a while". He can't wait to read the next one!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By GMR on May 7, 2013
Format: Hardcover
What starts out as a day in the life of two young lads living in the uber-awesome treehouse of anyone's dreams, morphs into a race to meet their publisher's deadline and ends in an adventure so wild, so crazy, so catnary-flying-in-the-clear-blue-sky.

It's set up "Wimpy Kid" or "Dork Diary" style meaning less on the words, more on the artwork but both pieces depend equally on each other for the story to be told. With the turn of a page, you're whisked inside the treehouse that appears from the outside to simply be a ginormous tree, free to explore the multi-story structure complete with a bowling alley, a room full of pillows, a theater, a library, and....a secret underground laboratory where random acts of genius (and not) are carried out on a daily basis. Yes, there is fun to be had and fun that has been had but there was also a deadline forgotten and Mr. Big Nose their publisher is none too happy. Any authors out there know that feeling?

The cast of characters encountered varies, if you haven't guessed that as of yet. From the cat turned catnary to the sea-monkeys, from a sea-monster to a GIANT gorilla, and a little bit of everything in between, you've definitely got your plate full here...but that's not even mentioning our leads, Andy and Terry (wait a second, aren't those the names of the author and illustrator?).Andy is the writer of the duo; Terry is the illustrator. Though each would like to claim the title of the other as well, a contest between the two revealed in the story nets the true winners. You'll laugh along with their antics, make their worries your own, and while away a piece of your afternoon as you read all about them rushing to meet their publisher's deadline...only after having a few more adventures that put off the inevitable.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on May 1, 2013
Format: Hardcover
My husband and I are taking turns reading this to our almost-7 and 4 year old. It makes us all chuckle. My older kid is already a fluent reader, but she still lets us read to her, and I am glad because then we get to share a fun book like this one. I think some might say it is a "boy" book, and while it is true that it may particularly appeal to boys, if I had a reluctant reader of either gender, I would give them this book. Graphic novels take a lot of pressure off of struggling readers while still giving them some reading practice. There is one chapter in which the only word is "bark" --perfect for my four year old emergent reader to have her confidence boosted because she feels like she could read an entire chapter of a big kid book. I highly recommend this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Connie S. on April 26, 2013
Format: Hardcover
I had to wrestle this book away from my 8 year old daughter so I could get a look at it. She did not approve and even hid it for awhile (this is a first for her). Amazingly, she read it all the way to the end. She would giggle as she read and when she finished, said she was surprised at the ending. I have read some of the Captain Underpants books and "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" and it seems to fit right in that category. There are lots of drawings that my daughter thought were funny and like I said, she read it all the way through.

This was an arc from the publisher, I believe. Thank you!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
7 year old would not put this book down- finished in 4 days- stayed up until 9pm the last night. A fun zany adventure story for a child who graduated from Captain Underpants (but the kids in this book are nicer)
Now we are just waiting for the sequel!!! Only a few days more!!!
This book appeals to boys and girls, but it would probably top my list for books for boys who are reluctant readers.
Some of the vocabulary was a little advanced for him, but context helped as did talking about the words, so he definitely learned from this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Suzanne N. Nardone on February 16, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Perfect for my 8 and 6 year olds. Clever, clean- ish humor we could all appreciate. And the zany situations these two boys get into just keep coming. The story and illustrations are reminiscent of Roald Dahl (and the author gives him a shout-out in the book). My kidS LOVED it and I am looking forward to the next one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Wendy on January 30, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Before reading this book my 8 year old daughter claimed she hated to read. She was hooked on the book and finished reading it within days. Now she's hooked on Andy Griffiths books!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa6f95e58)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?