Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Act (1977 Original Broadway Cast)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon May 10, 2004
Anyone lucky enough to experience the Magic of Minnelli in Kandler-Ebb classic "The Act", specially created to showcase Liza's kaleidoscopic talent, know this Legend has no peer then or now on the live concert stage...each time attending this incredible event, standing ovations were far too many to count, all being well earned by Miss Minnelli who received a "Tony Award" for this stunning Broadway Show. From the exhuberant opener "Shine It On", it is clear a soaring Liza is in peak vocal form, singing with all the passion and greatness that is her trademark. Romantic and reflective "It's The Strangest Thing" is a wonderfully appealing ballad while "Bobo's" is fun and energetic. Liza wearing a beautiful red dress came twirling down a pole with "Turning" becoming a beautifully flowing ballet that then turns in to an engrossing up-tempo spiritual! "Little Do They Know" is a cute number for the chorus while love in the afternoon to relieve stress with a hot personal trainer make "Arthur In The Afternoon" a Liza classic that she would continue to include in concerts for a number of years to great effect. Torchy and soulful "The Money Tree" is a passion filled stunning tour-de-force as Liza pours everything she has into this powerful ballad followed by another engrossing tour-de-force "City Lights" that builds into a classic dance routine with Liza being lifted high into the air by the troup of dancers while belting out the showstopping "City Lights", making this stunner a Liza Minnelli classic now posted on youtube from "Tony Award" program for all to savor and enjoy. Full voiced yet rich & tender is the breathtakingly beautiful vocal featured in the winning "There When I Need Him", making it easy to see why many fall in love with Minnelli's magical voice. No other singer who could bring so much passion & vocal grandeur to these songs as Liza does, simply incomparable throughout this wondrous collection! "Hot Enough For You" is funky fun with chorus doing a reprise of "Little Do They Know" while Liza readies for the finale, the reflective ballad "My Own Space", a sublime Liza vocal with piano only, always a special treat from Liza! Soaring and very soulful "Walking Papers" end this classic Tony Award Winning Show in a great spiritual fashion that has Liza singing with loads of passion and unmatched vocal brilliance. Anyone who appreciates a truly great singer will not want to miss this classic, Liza Minnelli is in peak form showing off the range of her remarkable talent~ Viva Liza Minnelli!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 1999
My first Broadway musical, all the way from Virginia to see this ultimate diva. Cast album is a pretty good approximation of the performance, though I don't like a few of the arrangements and some of the chorus' voices. "City Lights" is great, as is "Bobo's" and the fantastic "Money Tree", which brought the house down as the first act closer. Glad to see this is readily available again.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2003
In 1978, a friend and I drove overnight from Ohio to New York City without tickets to try to see "The Act." The Broadway Gods were looking down on us, because we were able to get front row aisle seats for an outrageous $25.00 a piece. I thought I had died and gone to heaven. What a wonderful reminder this CD is of that evening. Every song is a gem, but the showstoppers are "Bobo's," "There When I Need Him," "Arthur in the Afternoon," and of course, the mega-showstopper, "City Lights." But my favorite moment from the CD and from that night 25 years ago is "The Money Tree." Even typing those three words just now, gave me chills. The only thing better than hearing Liza sing that song on this CD was watching her sing it in person.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon January 27, 2004
THE ACT was written for the talents of Liza Minnelli by her longtime friends and collaborators John Kander and Fred Ebb. It earned Miss Minnelli a Tony Award, though quickly began to flounder when she became ill and started missing performances.

THE ACT was built for Liza, so we're not going to see a revival of this show. The score is second-rate when you compare it to other Kander-Ebb scores like CABARET, CHICAGO and even THE RINK.

Liza Minnelli is the only reason to buy this cast album, where she belts out numbers like "Shine It On", "There When I Need Him", "Walking Papers" and the gorgeous ballad "It's the Strangest Thing".

A fine testament to Miss Minnelli's talents. [DRG CDRG6101]
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2003
My first copy of "The Act" is in vinyl from the late 70's and during one of my trips to the US in the 90's, I was so happy to come across the cd version of this Broadway musical in one of the small record shops in San Francisco . This cd has always been on major rotation in my player and has provided me with great music ever since - everytime! Liza is at her best in this recording. Every number, from "Shine it On", to "Walking Papers" is electric! Liza tears into each song and makes it her own - and no other singer attacks and gives 101% on every number like Liza does! She makes you want to jump and tap during her showstoppers - particularly in "City Lights". She also hypnotizes and makes you listen to each of the words - big and small in her ballads. She breaks me everytime I listen to "There When I Need Him" and the "Money Tree". Even the gosple-like "Turning" and the naughty "Arthur in the Afternoon" never fail to amaze. My husband even whistles to "Bobo's"! A friend who listened to this cd in the car asked for a copy and has been hooked ever since. I can't blame her.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 1999
Vintage Minnelli. This is one of those sets of songs that come to you when you are driving, or happy, and you can't remember quite where you heard them, but they lift your spirits. Funny lyrics, great music, it's a fun one to have!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2013
I saw this show in 1977 and met Liza after the show. She was a powerhouse on stage for 2 hours and gave a great performance, so having the CD was a must to replace my LP which is worn out. Kander and Ebb wrote some great songs for their friend Liza, and she shows them off well, earning a Tony in the process. A definite must for any Liza or Broadway fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2005
Liza had so much talent and energy,no one knew what to do with this ball of FIRE.I remember readying the review of "THE Act" in Newsweek,and they said the same thing.I didn't get to see this play,(even though i got to see Liza in concert that year)but had to buy the album,and later the CD."BoBo's" is my favorite cut."Authur in the Afternoon"and "City Lights" were two of the songs Liza sang when I got to see her live in concert that year,and 2 show stoppers.This album was almost not made.No record label would produce it,and it was recorded in a couple of days to save money.If you are a Liza Minnelli fan,you have to get this CD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2008
Back in 1977, I attended three performances of The Act, and each time Liza was super collossal!! She WAS the show, and she was onstage most of the time. I rememeber fans asking when the score would be recorded. I even wrote her myself and received a personal reply from Liza saying it would be done soon. It turned out to be a wonderful package, great vocals and cover photo that is quintensential Liza! City Lights is a favorite of mine. Liza won her third Tony Award for this show. The transfer to CD is faithfully captured. Many budget CD's from Europe have released this score on various labels. A must have for Liza fan!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 1998
The Act, an old show from the 1970's was first directed by Martin Scorcese after he directed Liza Minelli and Robert DeNiro in New York, New York. While the show was not an unqualified success, those fans of Ms. Minelli will think this an absolute "must-have" for their collection. Given a wonderful songlist of pure Broadway "show tunes" the singer does not disappoint, particularly in the big belting numbers, City Lights and Money Tree. Additionally, the ballads are moving and provide vintage Minelli emoting.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.