Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAXWELL HAS A WINNING COMBINATION!
Of all the books available on leadership, I have found this to be one of the best, and leadership is part of what I teach through my business management courses. This is by no means one of the lengthiest books or most in-depth books, but it says more in 157 pages than others say in 400 pages. The easy-flowing writing style creates an enjoyable reading experience which...
Published on June 1, 2001 by Sandra D. Peters

versus
120 of 131 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same Old Stuff
John seems to have one outline that he simply fills in different illustrations. He can only ride this horse so long. It is time for him to update his material. This book does not accomplish that. Sorry, I like him on the platform, but his writings are getting stale.
Published on September 6, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAXWELL HAS A WINNING COMBINATION!, June 1, 2001
By 
Sandra D. Peters "Seagull Books" (Prince Edward Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of all the books available on leadership, I have found this to be one of the best, and leadership is part of what I teach through my business management courses. This is by no means one of the lengthiest books or most in-depth books, but it says more in 157 pages than others say in 400 pages. The easy-flowing writing style creates an enjoyable reading experience which does not take an extensive amount of thought or time to comprehend. The end result is an accomplished, basic book served in a professional style.
The author uses these twenty-one qualities for the basis of successful leadership: character, charisma, commitment, communication, competence, courage, discernment, focus, generosity, initiative, listening, passion, attitude, problem-solving, relationship, responsibility, security, self-discipline, servanthood, teachability and vision. What a sensational, winning combination! Each of these twenty-one components is discussed separately. While all of these elements are critical for strong leadership, if I had to narrow the scope down to five areas of particular benefit, it would be the ones on character, competence, listening, generosity and self-discipline. I particularly liked Maxwell's straight-forward approach and positive attitude exhibited throughout the book. One other book that rated at the top of my list, and one I would also highly recommend, is a favourite, all-time classic, "How to Win Friends and Influence People" by Dale Carnegie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 131 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same Old Stuff, September 6, 2000
By A Customer
John seems to have one outline that he simply fills in different illustrations. He can only ride this horse so long. It is time for him to update his material. This book does not accomplish that. Sorry, I like him on the platform, but his writings are getting stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars leadership simplified, September 27, 2004
Written to complement The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership, this book will help you identify and develop the personal qualities you need to become a more effective leader.

Maxwell does an excellent job of getting to the heart of each quality in a few short pages. He starts with two relevant quotations to start you thinking. He then gives you a short real-life example of that particular quality in action.

He breaks each principle down into specific applications, gives you a brief period where you can assess your own effectiveness, offers you concrete ways to improve yourself, and wraps each chapter up with a profound thought that will stay with you long after you have closed the cover.

What you get out of this book depends on how you read it. This is a very simple read, and you may be tempted to race through it and miss some key points. Maxwell rightly suggests that you walk through each quality methodically, giving it the attention that it warrants based on your current level of competence.

While the material warrants five stars, some spelling mistakes and the author's use of his own quotes dropped it down a notch for me. Otherwise, an excellent handbook for improving your personal leadership qualities.

Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 128 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too little substance, December 12, 1999
By A Customer
While the author seems well-intentioned, the book is very superficial. It seems to be recycled bromides and platitudes, connected by anecdotes and quotes, and punctuated by occasional exaggeration (like "everything rises and falls on leadership" - everything?). There are hundreds of leadership books with more meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book To Share with Your Entire Team..., October 12, 1999
By 
Scott B. Heintzeman "Scott B. Heintzeman" (Soilid Rock Professional Development) - See all my reviews
The temptation will be to read this cover to cover in onesitting... But this is a book you need to read "one chapter perday" for 21 days... Great illustrations of what real leadersreally do. Also includes excellent suggestions for ways to internalize these 21 attributes. I had to buy a copy for each of my Team... This is John Maxwell's best thinking on the tangible qualities of effective leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on!, April 4, 2004
By 
Richard M. Burke Jr. "RMBurke" (Westlake Village, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best books on leadership I have read. It gives specific examples and motivational thoughts as to what it takes to live the life of a leader.
The book is an easy read and can be used as part of a 21 day/week/month program to apply the morsals and maxims of leadership Maxwell provides.
Now that my copy is all marked up, I can't wait to share it with my employees!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Motivational!, February 7, 2004
By 
Leadership is a process that takes time. It does not occur overnight. Leaders are continually growing themselves. In the preface, Maxwell encourages us to use this book as a resource for character reinforcement. He reminds us, "How a leader deals with the circumstances of life tells you many things about his character."
There are so many insights in this book, it is challenging to pick a few to illustrate its value, but consider this one on using both hemispheres of the brain. He writes, "Discernment can be described as the ability to find the root of the matter, and it relies on intuition as well as rational thought."
He encourages us to read biographies and cultivate the gift of intuition through use. He quotes Peter Drucker who told us to build on the strengths we have rather than concentrate on the weaknesses. On energy and intensity, he writes, "...your passion will have more influence than your personality."
This is an excellent book by an outstanding Christian motivational leader. It builds on his other valuable contributions. John Maxwell is indeed, making his part of the world, a little bit better by his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars leadership simplified, October 22, 2003
Written to complement The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership, this book will help you identify and develop the personal qualities you need to become a more effective leader.
Maxwell does an excellent job of getting to the heart of each quality in a few short pages. He starts with two relevant quotations to start you thinking. He then gives you a short real-life example of that particular quality in action.
He breaks each principle down into specific applications, gives you a brief period where you can assess your own effectiveness, offers you concrete ways to improve yourself, and wraps each chapter up with a profound thought that will stay with you long after you have closed the cover.
What you get out of this book depends on how you read it. This is a very simple read, and you may be tempted to race through it and miss some key points. Maxwell rightly suggests that you walk through each quality methodically, giving it the attention that it warrants based on your current level of competence.
While the material warrants five stars, some spelling mistakes and the author's use of his own quotes dropped it down a notch for me. Otherwise, an excellent handbook for improving your personal leadership qualities.
Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you want to be a Leader?, December 6, 1999
By 
Michael Green (Antioch Califonia) - See all my reviews
This book works well in tandum with his 21 irrefutable laws of leadership. Great for anyone wanting to improve their skills as a leader, or work to discover what skills a truly fantastic leader has. A must read for anyone in a leadership position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qualities Every Leader Needs to Know and Apply, February 23, 2004
By 
Barbara Rose (BornToInspire.com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I genuinely like this book because it causes the reader to BE the qualities of a leader. It addressed character, charisma, commitment, communication, competence, courage, discernment, focus, generosity, initiative, listening, passion, positive attitude, problem solving, relationships, responsibility, security, self discipline, servanthood - to get ahead put others first, teachability - keep leading - keep learning, and vision.

This book will show you that every leader is a leader first to themselves, by integrating the above qualities into our consciousness, and walking our talk with others, and especially within our own selves.

I recommend that the reader seeks to BE these qualities, and to integrate them into a positively focused life - from the inside out.

This book is a wonderful contribution to embrace the highest qualities of genuine leadership, sans the ego's need to try to get others to follow you, but simply to be joyously immersed in BEING you.

Highly recommended to bring out the leader in you.
Barbara Rose, author of "Stop Being the String Along: A Relationship Guide to Being THE ONE" and 'If God Was Like Man'
Editor of inspire! magazine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The 21 Indispensable Qualities of a Leader: Becoming the Person Others Will Want to Follow
$19.99 $15.23
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.