Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$4.01
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by ToyBurg
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Good readable copy. Worn edges and covers and may have creases. The cover may have significant wear. There may be page curls. It is possible that there are heavy highlights or writing in this book. All pages are there and otherwise item is in good condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The 24-Hour Business: Maximizing Productivity Through Round-the-Clock Operations Hardcover – June 5, 1995

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.96 $0.01

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Editorial Reviews

Review

Imagine an ideal company which runs at peak efficiency 24 hours a day, with all the perks attached: then learn from authority Coleman, who tells how to organize and tailor shift schedules for maximum employee benefits and company advantage. This provides a flexible formula adaptable to a variety of businesses which utilize shift workers, providing strong guidance on organizing work schedules. -- Midwest Book Review

Book Description

"There are 8,760 hours in a year. How many companies use all those hours as effectively as they could?

This succinct new guide shows how to squeeze productivity from every hour of the day -- without squeezing employees dry. Author Richard Coleman, a much sought after authority on ""shiftwork"" schedules, explains that round-the-clock business hours are no longer just for manufacturing, but can raise productivity and lower costs in a wide range of industries: retail, hospitality, transportation, insurance, banking, and many others.

With many examples from around the globe, Coleman shows readers how to launch or improve a 24-hour operation. He addresses such issues as:

• making maximum use of time, equipment, and people

• avoiding serious and costly problems of morale, health, and safety

• designing a schedule that meets the particular needs of a business"

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

China
Engineering & Transportation Books
Discover books for all types of engineers, auto enthusiasts, and much more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: AMACOM (June 5, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0814402402
  • ISBN-13: 978-0814402405
  • Product Dimensions: 9.2 x 6.4 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,805,783 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
As more businesses move to 24/7 operations, round-the-clock scheduling will become an hotter issue. This is not new. Some companies, some industries, have been operating with a 24-hour schedule since the 19th century. Now the issue carries greater importance since workers are increasingly concerned about work-life balance, career development, and alternative work schedules. The author of this book, Richard Coleman, is a consultant with over two decades of experience helping a wide range of employers develop the Best Cost schedule that balances business needs like productivity and profit with health and safety requirements and employee desires. All these factors must be taken into consideration, and there is an almost infinite number of designs that can be applied. Coleman's experience comes out early in the book. I was fascinated by all the factors involved in determining the right schedule. My learning was enhanced by example after example from the author's work that illuminated the reading. During the first few chapters, I felt like I was reading a continuous commercial for Coleman's consulting firm, but this barrage eased as the book moved into the latter chapters. While I am not by any means an expert in scheduling, I learned a lot from this book. OK, I didn't know anything about scheduling before I read this book. However, I now have a healthy respect and understanding for what goes into developing a work schedule for a round-the-clock operation. Human resource professionals, plant managers, and others with operational knowledge of staffing and scheduling will gain considerably more than I did because of their familiarity with the topic. Coleman covers all aspects of shift work schedules, even including Circadian rhythms. It's all here.Read more ›
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: weekend warrior