Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


267 of 277 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 4400 - The Complete First Season
4,400 people who disappeared over the last 60 years are returned to earth all at once, and they are the same age as when they were abducted. The returnees have no memory of what happened while they were gone, and some demonstrate supernatural powers that they didn't have before they left.

Two federal agents, Tom and Diana, are assigned to investigate. Tom's...
Published on November 21, 2004 by cyclista

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why No Subtitles?
I think others have said what I want to say : I love this kind of stories and I enjoyed this DVD.

Just one technical thing to complain. Why there are no English subtitles? I sometimes watch DVDs during the nights when the kids have gone to bed. It would be great if there are English subtitles so I can still catch all lines even though I have turned down the...
Published on January 12, 2006 by A. Leung


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

267 of 277 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 4400 - The Complete First Season, November 21, 2004
By 
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
4,400 people who disappeared over the last 60 years are returned to earth all at once, and they are the same age as when they were abducted. The returnees have no memory of what happened while they were gone, and some demonstrate supernatural powers that they didn't have before they left.

Two federal agents, Tom and Diana, are assigned to investigate. Tom's nephew is one of the returnees who has been missing for three years. Diana develops a relationship with a now parentless child who was abducted several decades ago. The writers do a nice job of combining threads that continue from episode to episode with the new situations that arise. This show has been described as "X-Files meet X-Men". Recommended for sci-fi or fantasy fans.

I hunted around the internet for some information about the DVD. I found [...] which says that the Pilot and four episodes is included on the DVD set. The artwork doesn't mention any extras, which is disappointing if that is the case.

1. Pilot (2 hour movie): What scientists believe is a comet is actually a ball of light that leaves behind 4400 missing persons. The 4400 are quarantined and finally released.
2. The New & Improved Carl Morrissey: One of the 4400 becomes a vigilante trying to clean up the crime in his neighborhood.
3. Becoming: An M.O. used in a homicide is the same as the M.O. of a serial killer from 25 years ago. As the public turns hostile toward the 4400, one returnee, Jordan, decides to organize.
4. Trial By Fire: When a reporter makes the names of the 4400 public, the returnees are targeted by fire-bombers. Jordan tries to provide shelter for his fellow returnees.
5. White Light: The federal agents make a discovery about what had really happened to the 4400.

It's been a while since an episode aired, and I had some question about its future status. I've read that Season 2 has been ordered and will have 13 episodes starting in June 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, February 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
This story centres on 4400 people who, at various times throughout the last 60 years have gone missing. One night a huge ball of light appears by a lake in Washington State. The light disappears leaving behind the 4400 missing people. They have no memory of where they have been or what has happened to them. As far as they are aware, no time has passed.

The tale unfolds as various key characters are introduced and the realisation hits that the 4400 are now 'different', they have strange gifts or powers. What remains to be discovered is where they have been, why they were taken and, most important of all, what is the purpose of their return.

This DVD set features all of series 1 over 2 discs. There are no extras except for subtitles for the hard of hearing. In spite of there being no extras this is a set still well worth buying, the story alone is worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, February 16, 2005
By 
C. Ericson (Milwaukee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
I loved this show. I wanted to watch it last summer when it was on tv, but I only got to see part of the pilot episode. It left me wanting more. When I saw that it had come out on dvd, I just knew that I had to see it. I watched the whole thing over a period of two days and I loved every bit of it. I don't normally watch sci-fi, but there was enough drama in it that it kept me interested. It answered some questions while leaving others unanswered in preparation for another season. There are only 5 episodes because it started out as a miniseries, but I'm so glad to hear that it got picked up for another 13 episodes. They will be able to do so much with it because there are 4400 stories out there about each of the returnees. It seemed like it addressed a lot of the questions and fears that people would have if something like this were to happen. I just can't recommend it more for anyone that is slightly interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great alternative to Taken, January 28, 2005
By 
Justin (Columbia, SC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
When I bought this, it was because my all-time favorite mini-series, Taken, was $105 and while I may love the show, I can't/won't afford to pay that. So through hepful links from there I found The 4400 and for $20 figured it couldn't hurt to give it a try.

Well, having seen all of it now, I can safely say it's the greatest thing to ever come from the USA Network (along with a superior adaptation of Stephen King's The Shining). The stories all move at a good pace (if you hear it's slow, these people have the attention span of a shovel) and the stories are all interesting. It sucks that all you get is the shows, but that's not going to knock my grading down at all. I like extras, but they aren't the be all, end all of my viewing experience.

Can you imagine if this weren't successful and would've ended after these five episodes? It would've been horrible. The 4400 takes you into a great, believable world, with lots of plots and action and twists along the way as the mystery of these people, and their return, is followed.

I can't wait for Season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not the X-Files...it is something much grander..., April 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Alot of fans have related THE 4400 to THE X-FILES. It is not the X-Files. While the X-Files was centered around Mulder and Scully and they had cases come to them that covered the gammit from seamonster to possession to little green men the 4400's agents Tom Baldwin and Diana Skouris have one central case that they are assigned to with many other smaller cases being branched off of it.

The case Baldwin and Skouris are investigating is "What happened to the 4400?" That is what the entire series centers around, the Orson Baily phenomenon, the Oliver Knox copycat, and the arsons that sprout up are all parts of the larger question.

The acting in this series itself is supurb, for example you have Richard Tyler (Ali) who was abducted in the 1950s in South Korea. When Richard returns he is first seen looking through a magazine saying "The Secretary of State is black!" And eight year old Cochita Campbell who plays Maia Ruteledge displays such courage and toughness having been abducted in 1938. An example is in the pilot when the foster parents that Maia was set up in bring her back to quarentine and Ryland talks to her opening the conversation with a remark on the weather, Maia responds with "You didn't come out here to talk with me about the weather."

There is also a great score to scenes that signify importance, like in the scene where the abductees return. The score is so bone-chilling that it terrifies the viewer.

There is also a romance factor to the story as well as Richard Tyler and Lily Moore hook up because Richard knew her grandmother. Other factors in this series include rage, that of a father not being able to help his son, and caring as Diana takes eight-year-old Maia home to live with her because as Maia states "I don't like being alone and you don't like being alone either."

All in all THE 4400 is a well thought out, well put together series that should be given a chance.

Note: Just as a sidenote, Jacqueline Mckenzie, who plays Diana Skouris was actually given the holster that Gillian Anderson used to play Agent Scully (the holster didn't fit as Mckenzie states, "It liked like I had another arm petruding from my hip,").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Series, July 11, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
This is one of the best Sci-Fi shows in years and the first season was simply gold. The 4400 refers to 4400 people who mysteriously reappear after having been abducted in the past. They have not aged a day and have no memory of where they have been.

The series is "The X-files" meets "X-Men." Many of the 4400 start to exhibit strange powers. The initial season deals with two detectives trying to find the source and purpose behind the abductions as well as showing the reactionary responses of the people and governments to these returnees.

The acting is good, the stories are brilliant (I especially enjoy the one where a grocery store worker is given enhanced power and speed and proceeds to clean up a local park that had become dangerous during his absence), and the characters are unique and memorable (my favorite here is a young girl named Mia who was abducted in the 40s and is returned clairvoyant).

The only negative is the decided lack of extras on the DVD set. No commentaries, bloopers, sneak peeks, behind the scenes, or 4400 character files. If the series wasn't so awesome this lack would have cost a star but I couldn't bring myself to give it less than full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 4400 - a blessed production...genius!, December 9, 2004
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Over the last century people from all around the world have been abducted never to be heard from again...until now.

A comet rushes toward the Earth, unable to stop it with ICBM nuclear weapons the people of Earth brace themselves for the end. Incredibly the comet delivers 4400 abductees from the last century. Clad in the clothes they wore on the days they were abducted the 4400 people have no idea where they have been and how they have arrived. A federal team are assigned to investigate the 4400 when one of them commits a murder, as the story unravels and the 4400 adapt to the 21st Century they begin to discover they have been gifted with powerful abilities, some of these powers are destructive, others can give life. As the series progresses every plot and sub plot is beautifully executed and tied up nicely to leave the audience on the edge of their seat. The casting is excellent, the stories are moving and the action is consistent. Why are the 4400 back, why here, why now and who gave them these amazing powers, aliens? Maybe, maybe not!...you'll have to watch it.

Scott Peters, The Outer Limits to his credit has created a cutting edge series with characters easily warmed too and a host of different stories that all tie in perfectly. The new series should be with us around June 2005 in the US and probably a little later in the UK. Would appreciate an international release though...please! Regardless of if you are a Sci-Fi fan or not, you will love 'The 4400', watch it now so when your friends are talking about it you know what to say...

Already has a massive core audience, myself included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intesnse, suspenseful, dramatic, Sci-fi series, January 24, 2005
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
If you love the suspense of 24 (Kiefer Sutherland), and the optimism of Star Trek, you'll love The 4400.

Agents of the Deparment of Homeland Security race against time to find answers and assess the threat posed by the 4400 returnees. Are they really who they say they are, or aliens in disguise? Who took them and why? Why return them? Could someone who would tear apart the lives of 4400 families and then dump 4400 people--years and even decades after their disappearances (when most simply have nothing to come back to anymore) be anything but malevolent? Are they a threat to mankind? Are the returnees a prelude to invasion?

As the mysterious powers and purposes of each returnee are gradually revealed, we get tantalzing glimpses at a grand design....

Anti-returnee hysteria is spreading like wildfire, and returnees are being senselessly murdered by fanatics. Will the government be able to figure out the answers in time, before more people die?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but great entertainment, February 23, 2006
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
For the critical ones, there may be a bit too much to see wrong. The acting is inconsistent, the FX can be cheesy, yet I liked the storylines and the characters. Much of the mystery was resolved in the miniseries, so the characters and their agendas drive the series. The characters are the key and the leads are charismatic enough, if not on the level of Scully/Mulder, Benson/Stabler, or even Monk/Sharona. There is enough 'out there' stuff to keep it interesting while the main characters relationships are the core of the show. Since there is a new character each week with special ability, the show could continue for some time without losing steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWEEEEEETTTTTT PPPPPLLLOOOOOTTTTT, March 17, 2005
By 
This review is from: The 4400 - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Simply put... If you like government conspiracy's, the existence of extraterrestrial life, the fight for truth, and the belief that the "The Truth Is Out There", this show is for you. And this time, it is set inside the government and their wicked lies. The 4400 is simply a work of genius. Since the X-Files ended, I have been longing for the next Mulder/Scully deal. I have found something real close. Different lives all sweetly interconnected without being to overdramatic and sobby. Many tales and surprises unfold, in every episode. Every episode is completely connected to the next, unlike the X-Files. The fact that all the 4400 abductees come from different eras of the 1900's, and they awaken in the future thinking that it is their own time, except it is 2003 is brilliant. The multiple revelations of lost time, and the search for belonging, the powers that help along the way are all wisely concepted. Amazingly creative for a low budget miniseries. Can't wait for the sencond season...and THE X-FILES 2 the movie!!! BRING IT ON CHRIS, SPOTNIK, DAVID AND GILLIAN. We need the next dose of anti-hybrid solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The 4400 - The Complete First Season
The 4400 - The Complete First Season by Yves Simoneau (DVD - 2004)
$19.99 $6.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.