Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interests the noninterested
This version is a good way to interest those who are usually not interested in business principles. It also shows how well an illustrated version can replace the all text version and can, in some cases, be more effective and more memorable.
Published on February 18, 2012 by Anne-marie Armstrong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting approach to one of the principles for achieving success in your life.
Smarter Comics is a company that produces fantastic illustrated comic book volumes on a wide range of topics. They mostly focus on subjects that were previously published books which have become classics. I have read and written reviews on many of them such as Shut Up, Stop Whining and get a life, The Art of War, Think and Grow Rich and Fortune Favors the Bold...
Published 9 months ago by Joseph J. Truncale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interests the noninterested, February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics (Paperback)
This version is a good way to interest those who are usually not interested in business principles. It also shows how well an illustrated version can replace the all text version and can, in some cases, be more effective and more memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Valuable Comic-Book Version to Improved Effectiveness and Satisfaction, October 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
SmarterComics, a prominent innovator known for turning classic and pertinent books into graphic novels (comic books), has outdone itself with Richard Koch's 80/20 Principle. Essentially, SmarterComics strips away the dense aspect of the book and delivers a comic-book version that is not only entertaining, but profusely educational. The essence of the book is intact, while the fluff has been excised. For those unfamiliar with the 80/20 Principle, it is an intriguing book that is designed to improve effectiveness and personal satisfaction. While the original catered largely to business professionals, the comic book medium opens up the doors to a unique and limitless number of visual readers. The 80/20 Principle focuses on alleviating the stresses of daily life and primarily states that, "a minority of causes, inputs, or efforts usually leads to a majority of results, outputs, or rewards." Whether one is a visual reader or simply doesn't have the time necessary to fully understand Richard Koch's original version, the 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics is a highly recommended, valuable asset for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80/20 for life, October 27, 2011
The 80/20 principle may not be a new idea to you, but "The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics" depicts the idea in a new way. The original book and idea state that about 80% of the results come from 20% of the causes. This idea can help people succeed in business and general life ways. This is a great book for business professionals as well as people who strive for a better life overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Example of Success, September 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Richard Koch is the finest articulator of the 80/20 Principle I know of in business, and this "super-comic" version of his classic book is genius. I am recommending it to entrepreneurs and innovators of all ages as the perfect introduction to the Pareto Principle, a message that can spark some desperately-needed innovation in the management of innovation itself in these tough times. Especially in the public and non-profit sectors of the global economy. (Solar panels, anybody?) I also highly recommend Koch's less well-known follow-up, The 80/20 Individual, which was of enormous help to me creatively as a New York Times bestselling novelist and in running a growing media company. Here's to a graphic sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 80/20 Principle In Graphic Detail..., December 13, 2011
This review is from: The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics (Paperback)
Tim Ferriss. - How he developed The 4-Hour Workweek and The 4-Hour Body.
Will Marre'/Stephen Covey. - How these business/life leaders created such a powerful work-life balance process.
Olafur Arnalds/George Winston. - Listen and you'll hear how they've stripped notes from the musical score to give us just enough. Perfect.

No need to go further to explain The Pareto Principle in life and business.

By applying this simple concept: 20% of your effort accomplishes 80% (or more) of your desired result. Meaning the rest is a waste of your energy, time and expenses.

Simple, right? You'd think.

But in reality, we as humans get very myopic very quickly. And end up brute-forcing our way through work, life, problems.

The book has always been seemingly counterintuitive. Until you look beneath the cover. And this illustrated version makes it fun and engaging beyond geek speak and the typical academic application. It's fun. It's cool. It's even awesome as a tool for central discussions amongst project teams.

The illustrated version by our friends at SmarterComics.com is truly all you need to get the gist, and apply it. Today.

Love this. I'm getting copies for my kids for Christmas. And for my business partners (to keep us refining our processes and being efficient, productive and happy).

Some additional tools worth examining within this genre':
The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman, where Tim describes, in detail, how he applies the Pareto Principle in every area of health, fitness... even sex. Really.

Richard's newest book, Superconnect: Harnessing the Power of Networks and the Strength of Weak Links which actually creates a valuable discussion around how the 20% he referenced in the 80/20 Principle is different today than when he wrote the book. Facebook and Twitter fans will dig his insights here.

Brainstorming and Creativity Software - Thoughtoffice Innovation Tools - Mac OSX - Windows XP-7 is software that is a nod to Richards most recent book - associative thinking and how that leads to more effectiveness. Even if not directly. Great comics like Drew Carey and great writers like Rick Warren both use this to rewire their brains for more efficient expressions.

Newsjacking: How to Inject your Ideas into a Breaking News Story and Generate Tons of Media Coverage - David Meerman Scott expounds on how real-time insertion of your message into trending topics can help you leapfrog your competition, riding the tide of someone else's related events, PR and news stories. It's the 20% refined to the Nth degree.

I love ALL of SmarterComics works to date. They have really taken the graphic novel to new heights. And made complex ideas accessible in a single sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life changing, December 22, 2013
By 
kris Patterson (Port Alberni, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book and the philosophy it discusses will change your life. By embracing 80/20 thinking you will revolutionize your life. You can get more of the right things done. Buy this book and apply its wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting approach to one of the principles for achieving success in your life., September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics (Paperback)
Smarter Comics is a company that produces fantastic illustrated comic book volumes on a wide range of topics. They mostly focus on subjects that were previously published books which have become classics. I have read and written reviews on many of them such as Shut Up, Stop Whining and get a life, The Art of War, Think and Grow Rich and Fortune Favors the Bold.

This volume is based upon the book by Richard Koch, "The 80/20 Principle: The secret of achieving more with less." The unique illustrations combined with the basic principles of Koch's original book makes this volume come alive. The basic theory is based upon some research which showed that in most things, 80 % of the work and achievements in the world are done by only 20 % of the people. This basic principle applies to just about every kind of area of life you can think of, and the author emphasizes that a person can achieve much more with less effort by Applying the 80-/20 principle.

I have not read the original book but I found this volume explained and illustrated the principles so that it was clear and concise. Whether you have previously read the original book or are seeking a good overview of the 80/20 principle, you may want to check out this volume. I thought this text was okay but I enjoyed reading the other Smart Comic volumes more than this book.

Rating: 3 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: The Samurai Soul: An old warrior's poetic tribute)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical coherent advice for business and everyday life, May 5, 2013
This review is from: The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics (Paperback)
I love management principles that make sense and can help you outside of this office, but this is great since I never have time to read huge text books. I found the comic approach not only saves times but clarifies some of the proncipals and makes things more memorable.

Like many theories, by even just thinking about how you work and live, it can change your life, but this and the basis of the Pareto theory really does seem to speak volumes to me and has already positively impacted my business performance.

Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If it's going to be a comic book, let it be a comic book, December 19, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is basically a talking book with pictures. It doesn't really tell a story, it lectures you on how the 80/20 principle works. Fine his textbook does that. This SmarterComics is a repeat of that textbook with pictures scattered here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics
The 80/20 Principle from SmarterComics by Richard Koch (Paperback - January 1, 2012)
Used & New from: $1.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.