Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is the ultimate source!
I agree totally with the text on the cover, this is the ultimate reference on antennas. I had a specific target in mind when I bought it and as expected I found the topics I was looking for but also and to my surprise found the other chapters very interesting to read and I am now reading the book from cover to cover - really enjoyable, interesting and packed with...
Published on November 10, 2007 by Ejner Nicolaisen

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to get lost in the book
If you are a beginner, if you are looking to learn fresh about the subject of Antennas, I don't recommend this book for you. You will be miserably lost. As with other ARRL publications that I own, it's a collection of enormous amount of information that are semi-random in nature, discoherent, and non-contextual. It's written by too many authors to be understood in a...
Published on October 17, 2010 by M. Hamed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is the ultimate source!, November 10, 2007
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
I agree totally with the text on the cover, this is the ultimate reference on antennas. I had a specific target in mind when I bought it and as expected I found the topics I was looking for but also and to my surprise found the other chapters very interesting to read and I am now reading the book from cover to cover - really enjoyable, interesting and packed with info.
Especially I appreciate the fine balance between theory and practical info
Further it's a great feature to get the complete book on a CD in the PDF format - great!

Ejner Nicolaisen OZ9EU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the antenna bible, April 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
This is the bible for ham radio antenna design. Also covers transmission lines and propagation. Both theory (at graduate EE level) and practice (at the level of mere mortals). -- ws2i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic - And at a Discount from Amazon, September 17, 2008
By 
New England Yankee (Northern New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
ARRL publishes a handful of titles that occupy the pinnacle in ham radio publishing, including their license manuals, Operating Manual, Handbook, and, of course, the Antenna book. There is nothing that really compares to ARRL's antenna book in terms of either raw coverage or quality. While there are engineering texts and a ham radio titles that dive far deeper on narrow topics, the ARRL Antenna book covers a vast range of antenna types and topics - and in more detail than the majority of hams will ever care to absorb. This book can be read for its more advanced technical content or, alternatively, be used quite effectively as a project book. I don't often see this book discounted. I couldn't find it new at a discount at the last hamfest I attended, for example, nor is it discounted at my local (unnamed) ham radio store. Couple that with free shipping from Amazon, and it's a deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Practical Antenna Reference Book, April 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
I am impressed! Safety is not the last chapter, it's the first chapter! It is a full 24 pages in length and includes topics such as: tower support safety, safety belt and climbing accessories, gin pole use, installing antenna on towers, tower climbing safety tips, lockout/tagout, installation of tower shields, electrical safety, NEC, grounding, lightning, AC power lines, feedline protection, rotator use, mobile antenna installation, transient protection, RF radiation/EM field safety, and safe RF exposure limits. Not a bad way to start a practical book on designing, installing, securing, and operating RF transmit/receive antennas.

I have taken electrical engineering courses on antenna analysis and design. Good courses. Although I learned how to analyze antenna performance and model their patterns, I still didn't feel I could design a practical high-performance antenna system yet. That is where amateur radio and earlier editions of this 976-page practical design and construction antenna book came to the rescue. Looking back, I believe it also made a difference in my first five years as a young electrical engineer developing and testing side-looking airborne radars (SLAR) based on phased arrays.

So, what makes this antenna book the one to own?

Coverage: Extensive practical design and performance material on all the popular antenna systems and many unconventional antennas. For most antenna types, design topics include system variables (e.g., number of elements, spacing, matching network), performance vs. frequency, multi-band configurations, stacked arrays, real-world terrain effects, and alternate configurations. Throughout the book are numerous photos of hardware, diagrams, schematics, and performance plots. There are chapters on the design and construction of high-performance yagi antenna: 432 MHz (70 cm band) with 22-elements and 144 MHz (2 m) design supporting 10 to 19 elements. Circular polarized antenna design to establish links to LEO and elliptical orbit amateur satellites are covered. There are chapters on material selection for antennas, towers, and supports. There is an extensive chapter on atmospheric effects on radio wave propagation. There is even a short chapter on HF antenna systems for sailboats!

Reference material: Nearly every chapter includes an extensive bibliography that includes papers from CQ, QST, Antenna Engineering Handbook, RF Design, Proceedings of the IEE, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, and the Radio Handbook. At the end of Chapter 2, there is an extensive list of textbooks on antennas (including the ones from my college courses).

PDF: The CD ROM that is included contains a fully searchable PDF of this book. Nice bonus feature.

This is a first-class reference book on the design of RF antenna systems!

CQ CQ CQ DE K7CRC K7CRC K7CRC K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remains an excellent value, July 21, 2008
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
As this purchase was to replace my copy of an earlier edition that was lost in a tornado, I didn't have any reservations in buying the latest edition, still a great resource. A nice balance of theory and construction how to do it. I do like that the print edition now comes with an electronic edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to get lost in the book, October 17, 2010
By 
M. Hamed (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
If you are a beginner, if you are looking to learn fresh about the subject of Antennas, I don't recommend this book for you. You will be miserably lost. As with other ARRL publications that I own, it's a collection of enormous amount of information that are semi-random in nature, discoherent, and non-contextual. It's written by too many authors to be understood in a progression commonly found in textbooks. So, this is not a textbook. It won't take you from A-Z. Instead there will be things talked about in Chapter 4 that are defined in Chapter 25. Things that referenced over and over are not even defined anywhere.

Try looking for SWR, S-meter, Antenna Tuner, etc. You will find them scattered allover the book without any proper introductory information. I totally not recommend this book unless you have 2 or more years of experience in Radio and strong theoretical knowledge. Not that there's much theory in the book, but they assume you know the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars antenna book, March 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
perfect companion book to the ARRL handbook for any prospective radio "Ham operator" I recommend it highly. It is very technical stuff sometimes not very absorable, but very helpful when designing an antenna system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ham Radio Classic, February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
I got my first copy of the Antenna Book back in the 1980's when I was a young teenager who had just gotten his General Class license.

It is a fantastic book, a must have for anyone who wants to understand how antenna systems work.

The included software and book on disc are excellent.

I wish it was a little less expensive, but it is not a purchase any ham should regret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARRL Antenna Book, October 17, 2010
By 
C. C. Nemec (Windsor Mill, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
If you are a ham radio operator or a SWL (short wave listener) then YOU NEED this book! This is the bible of antennas. Excellent material; well illustrated; and easy to understand. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is A Whopper Of A Book, February 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Antenna Book: The Ultimate Reference for Amateur Radio Antennas, Transmission Lines And Propagation (Arrl Antenna Book) (Paperback)
I cannot imagine an antenna subject on earth that is not covered here. As a fairly new ham with a General license, this book is a bit like taking a drink out of a firehose. It might be wise for the new ham to start with something a bit more basic. However, this appears to be the Bible for those wanting total coverage of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.