Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oversized, Recoloured and with extras? Who could resist!
The second in a series of 4 hardcovers recollecting the stories of Sandman this faux-leather bound book comes beautifully packaged with gorgeous cover art by Dave Mckean and a sturdy slipcase.

The art is significantly larger, printed closer to the size it was originally drawn, and is recoloured to Gaiman's specifications. The new colouring makes a huge...
Published on November 15, 2007 by Haloquin

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great story, very bad binding!
I bought this product because I really loved the sandman stories and thought it would be worth it to buy the absolute version for the extra features. However, after reading it for abit, and I'm not the sort who abuses books.. the pages were becoming detached from the spine, which led me to conclude that the binding for this book is pretty awful.
Summary: get the book...
Published on November 20, 2010 by Toni_C


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oversized, Recoloured and with extras? Who could resist!, November 15, 2007
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
The second in a series of 4 hardcovers recollecting the stories of Sandman this faux-leather bound book comes beautifully packaged with gorgeous cover art by Dave Mckean and a sturdy slipcase.

The art is significantly larger, printed closer to the size it was originally drawn, and is recoloured to Gaiman's specifications. The new colouring makes a huge difference, the art, which appeared scrappy, muddy and unclear in some of the earlier printings, is much clearer and the colours positively glow.

There are numerous extras, a never-before-reprinted illustrated story, a collection of Sandman art (published as the Gallery of Dreams comic I think) and copies of the original script and pencils for an issue... plus a few other bits.

I would recommend this as a gift or for a collector, but really the first volume would be better. The Sandman stories do stand alone and don't necessitate a specific order of reading but its nice to have the first in a set first, you know.

The one problem I've found is apparently common with Absolute books... the glue from the slipcase covered one of the corners of the books sticking the pages together. I unstuck them but couldn't avoid tearing a few; the black top coating of the page peeling away. As they are heavy they also often get the corners of the slipcase slightly bashed.

Despite this I would recommend these over the trade paperback collections. While they are overall more expensive the Absolute books are far more enjoyable and much more beautiful... and the price on Amazon.com is half what you'd pay in a shop, even with shipping to the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistibly beautiful -- I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!, December 4, 2007
By 
J. A Magill (Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
Few comics deserve such an extraordinary loving treatment as Gaiman's Sandman is receiving in these irresistible Absolute editions (this being volume 2 of what I believe is projected to be 4). Not only does it include wonderful extras ( a bonus story, bonus art, original scripts and pencils) but the volume itself is lovely. The faux leather case with its Mickean cover lends it a wonderful air, as a volume in Lucien's Library. The art, with its recoloration under Gaman's direction and oversized, likewise gives the reader a level of clarity never before enjoyed in the original.

One can go on and on about this volume, but I found it, in a word, irresistible. If you or someone you love is a fan of Sandman, this volume and/or the first in the Absolute Sandman series is a gift that will surely not disappoint, indeed it will surely be treasured for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great story, very bad binding!, November 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
I bought this product because I really loved the sandman stories and thought it would be worth it to buy the absolute version for the extra features. However, after reading it for abit, and I'm not the sort who abuses books.. the pages were becoming detached from the spine, which led me to conclude that the binding for this book is pretty awful.
Summary: get the book for the story and the beautiful colour but don't expect your book to stay together after you're done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly bound for a collector's book, October 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
I just picked up the book and already its binding is falling apart. The glue used to seal / hold the binding together is simply not strong enough for a book this thick and heavy; opening the book to read is sufficient to cause the glue binding to split apart. Horrible quality for something that certainly isn't cheap! Unless you're a great fan of The Sandman with lots of cash, it's probably wiser to buy the paperbacks instead.333
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Uneven, But Still Brilliant!, April 21, 2008
By 
G. Guthrie "Speculative Fiction Fan" (Palm Beach Gardens, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
This is the second collection of Sandman comics taking us up to issue #40 (of #75). There are a few single issue comics (all good), but for the most part this volume is comprised of two large story arcs. The first is Season of Mists, which I liked a lot and was 7 issues. It told a tale of Lucifer deciding to quit Hell and leave. He kicks everyone out and gives the key to Dream, who then is swamped by all the other gods/entities who now want the key to Hell. Here we also get to see all, except one, of the Endless for the first time, which was cool.

The second half of this volume was taken up by a story arc A Game of You, which were six issues in length. So this story dominated the second half of the volumes, as did Season of Mists with the first half of the volume. This arc actually is exactly what I would expect from The Sandman, it's about a girl's escape into her fantasy land she created as a little girl, which of course The Sandman created, because it was created out of dreams. So this was the first story that really was a believable scenario of Dream, if he existed. The only problem was it was created from childhood dolls on one hand, which were goofy, and on the other hand it was extremely violent. It was a weird mix that just didn't fit together that well. I think this was a story if read from text would have come out superb, but with the goofy graphics it just seemed weird, and didn't come off that well.

I still liked the second volume, even with the second half dragging a bit with A Game of You. And I'll say I liked the first volume in this series better. But this volume was still pretty darn interesting. Easily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2, November 16, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
Sandman was unquestionably the finest piece of work to come out of comics in the 1990's. Neil Gaiman managed to craft an entire universe within its pages, a comprehensive mythology so complete and flawless in its execution that, at times, I find it hard to believe what I'm reading was the work of one mind. It's a conglomeration of all the world's mythologies, and he uses this tremendous microcosm as the backdrop for some astonishing stories.

Volume 2 of Absolute Sandman is when the comic starts to go down the rabbit hole, so to speak. There are moments of pure darkness and terror, as well as humorous one shots, and curious side stories. But what ties it all together is Gaiman's peerless mastering of the art of story telling. He knows how to draw you in, and he knows how to hold you there. A massive tome like this shouldn't prove so absorbing that I could read it in three sittings. It's not a quick read by any means, but once I'm in, I don't want to leave.

And no review of an Absolute release would be complete without mentioning the luxurious packaging. Beautifully bound, the book alone would be an impressive looking addition to any library. That it comes with an attractive slip case simply adds to the already considerable appeal. Even if you already own all the Sandman trades, it's well worth the cost to buy these, if you can afford the price. The over-sized art looks gorgeous, and the printing quality is superb. The extras in the back, particularly the complete script of an issue, only serve to seal the deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More sandman!, November 2, 2007
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
First, let me say, Neil Gaiman is one of the most thoughtful, reflective writers there is. In this book, he's teemed with some very moody artists as well, for some great stories.

I assume if your looking at this, you don't need to be sold on the story. While buying the Absolute volumes (there should eventually be four, in order to collect the entire series) is roughly twice the price of the paperbacks, the quality cannot be beat. Each page is blown up larger than any other oversized hardcover, and the binding is sewn tight, so no worries there.

The book can be a little heavy to read, but the hardcover looks amazing, and there's about fifty pages of extra scripts, proposals, and sketches.

This volume collects Season of Mists, where Dream inherits Hell, and saves Nada, A Game of You, with Barbie and the Porpentine, and Fables and Reflections, single issue tales from Dream's past.

While some of the best sandman stories (Brief Lives, The Kindly Ones) are yet to come, these stories shouldn't be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More tales of the Sandman, March 14, 2012
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
Neil Gaiman's shorter Sandman stories are like gems. But honestly, I've always preferred the longer arc-stories that fill out an entire collection -- and "The Absolute Sandman Vol. 2" brings together two of those stories, full of the richness of Gaiman's imagination and his entrancingly vivid characters.

"A Season of Mists" opens with a meeting of the Endless going wrong when Morpheus is challenged about his past treatment of his lover Nada. Chastened, he decides to go to Hell and free her. But when he gets there, Morpheus learns that Lucifer is tired of being the lord of Hell, and is busy shutting the whole place down.

Unfortunately, this means leaving the souls of the damned to wander the Earth. He gives ownership of it to Morpheus, but unsurprisingly Morpheus isn't interested. And soon various powers begin appearing to claim it -- ancient gods, demons, Order, Chaos, and Faerie. Who will become the new lords of Hell?

"A Game of You" picks up with Barbie, a very minor character from "The Doll's House," who has broken up with her husband and moved to New York. There she lives in an apartment building with her M-to-F buddy Wanda, a lesbian couple, a weird prim lady named Thessaly, and a weird guy.

But then she has a run-in with an imaginary creature from her childhood, who gives her a magical jewel with his dying breath. Soon Barbie is pulled into the fantasy world of her childhood, where she battles a mysterious enemy called the Cuckoo. But Thessaly and her neighbors set out to rescue her before she is lost forever -- and New York with her.

"Absolute Sandman Vol. 2" shows how incredibly versatile Neil Gaiman's writing can be -- it encompasses different worlds, dimensions and lands in a seeemingly endless, wondrously terrifying universe. But at the same time, it can delve into the infinite complexities of a single human mind.

Gaiman is absolutely brilliant at conjuring the exquisite and the grotesque, the eerie and the strange -- and he manages all of those here. There are childlike imaginings, the twilit realm of the Dreaming, and the visceral grotesqueness of the demons (one is a lumpen creature with a melting eyeless head and toothy mouths for nipples). It fascinates, even in its ugly moments.

My only problem, really, is in "Season of Mists." It bases itself on Christian theology that many people actually believe in (heaven, hell, Satan, angels, God, etc). But it isn't in line with those beliefs, so some parts of it come across as... uncomfortable to devout people.

Morpheus undergoes some truly enthralling character development. He's given a realm he doesn't want, but doesn't seem to have any good way of ridding himself of it (at least, not at first). And the Lord of Dream has to face up to his own misdeeds -- namely, he FINALLY figures out that he was horrible to Nada, and that his punishment of her was cruel.

But "A Game of You" also shows that even the most minor character becomes a fully realized, multidimensional character in Gaiman's hands. Barbie becomes a fragile, rather uncertain young woman, along with Foxglove, Hazel and the gold-hearted Wanda.

"Absolute Sandman Vol. 2" is a must-have for the die-hard aficionados who have some cash burning a hole in their pockets. Truly spellbinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute satisfaction, November 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
The image quality is excellent as is all the graphic work and book binding. This edition of Sandman is truly absolute and a must have for all Sandman dedicated fans :) Ondra Plihal, Czech Rep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Series, June 7, 2010
By 
K. B. Culliton (Sacramento, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
A beautiful series, both graphically and lyrically. I originally read this story from a friend's old set of 10 graphic novels, and it is worth the extra money to buy this new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2
The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 2 by Neil Gaiman (Hardcover - October 10, 2007)
$99.99 $71.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.