Customer Reviews


364 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illusion? Reality? It's All The Same.
Chris Pavone has a winner here! It took me a couple of chapters to get the rhythm of the book, but I ended up loving it. A well written story-line that keeps the reader turning the pages, with just enough reality to make it believable. The story revolves around literary agent Isabel Reed, and a mysterious, anonymous manuscript that she receives. She is both drawn to it,...
Published 13 months ago by Bonnie Cehovet

versus
46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UNAUTHORIZED BIOS CAN BE HAZARDOUS TO YOUR HEALTH
What author Chris Pavone gives us in his new novel "The Accident" is a series of "ones". One day in the lives of a group of inter-related characters , one explosive non-fiction manuscript that threatens the very lives of many of these individuals, and one ruthless media mogul and his assorted cronies bent on keeping the manuscript from ever being published. Unlike...
Published 12 months ago by Red Rock Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illusion? Reality? It's All The Same., January 27, 2014
By 
Bonnie Cehovet (Shelton, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Accident (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Chris Pavone has a winner here! It took me a couple of chapters to get the rhythm of the book, but I ended up loving it. A well written story-line that keeps the reader turning the pages, with just enough reality to make it believable. The story revolves around literary agent Isabel Reed, and a mysterious, anonymous manuscript that she receives. She is both drawn to it, and terrified by it. The revelations in this book form a web that encompasses secrets involving a powerful media media empire, its owner, government agencies and officials, and a secret from Isabel's own past.

The manuscript could be a career maker for many people .. including Isabel's young assistant,Alexis; Camilla, an ambitious rights director searching for a golden parachute; Stan, a larger than life producer in LA, by Brad, a struggling publisher in New York, and by Isabel's friend Jeff, a veteran editor. It could also get them killed.

Each character is well scripted, and the movement between them flows seamlessly. They each have their strengths, and their flaws. In the background we have the anonymous author, who is supposed to have committed suicide, and a CIA type operative that ... isn't.

This is all about betrayal at the highest levels, and how one incident can form a shadow over so many lives, for their entire life. All of this action takes place within the space of one day ... 24 hours. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UNAUTHORIZED BIOS CAN BE HAZARDOUS TO YOUR HEALTH, February 11, 2014
This review is from: The Accident (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What author Chris Pavone gives us in his new novel "The Accident" is a series of "ones". One day in the lives of a group of inter-related characters , one explosive non-fiction manuscript that threatens the very lives of many of these individuals, and one ruthless media mogul and his assorted cronies bent on keeping the manuscript from ever being published. Unlike Pavone's first novel "The Expats" which dealt primarily with spies, this story is set in the world of publishing with side trips into political maneuvering and dirty dealing performed under the guise of national security.

It appears that the world of publishing is filled with individuals who will do whatever it takes to survive in a cut-throat business. (Ditto for CIA and FBI operatives.) From New York literary agent Isabel Reed and her assistant Alexis to owner/publisher Brad McNally and his editor Jeffrey to subsidiary rights director Camilla Glyndon-Browning, each sees the anonymous submission as a ticket to success, while CIA Copenhagen station chief Hayden Gray is trying desperately to hold on to his own "golden ticket."

Although all the action takes place in one day it does initially take a bit of concentration to keep the cast straight since the author moves back and forth in time via the various characters recollections of old secrets and lies and more recent revelations. No spoilers here but I will say that the end of this book contains an extra layer of complexity that elevates the story from average to remarkably satisfying. 31/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pavone's The Accident Is Destined For Bestseller Lists And Its Getting There Will Be No Accident!, March 11, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Accident (Kindle Edition)
Pavone's The Accident, the follow-up to his very good first novel, The Expats, has all the makings of a bestseller. Its plot is fast-paced and exciting, its characters are credible and its narrative makes the reader feel that he/she is "right there" in the middle of the excitement.

So, here's a bit of what The Accident is about to whet your appetite.

A female, NYC literary agent has just finished reading a manuscript by an anonymous author that provides mysterious revelations about some very powerful people -- one of whom is a billionaire media mogul, as well as long-hidden secrets about her own past. It is a manuscript that she feels will explode its way onto bestseller lists, and help rejuvenate her career as well as that of the editor she's chosen to help get this book published. A very experienced CIA operative is determined that this story stay buried, and is willing to "remove" anyone exposed to the manuscript. And, The Accident is about the anonymous author himself who is "living in shadows" in Copenhagen, trying to atone for a lifetime's worth of lies and betrayals by wanting to get his book published.

Needless to say, these lives collide as the book begins on the path towards publication and towards saving or ruining careers and companies...a path that places everything at risk and everyone in danger of their lives.

Is The Accident great literature? Definitely not. What it is, however, is an exciting, entertaining and suspenseful thriller that demonstrates that Pavone's successful debut with The Expats was no accident. The one minor criticism I have is that the book tends to jump too much back and forth between time periods, characters and geographic locations; which, at times, made me feel I needed a scorecard to keep track of things. Despite this perceived flaw, The Accident is a book I think most thriller lovers will enjoy.

I received an eBook of The Accident from the publisher and NetGalley in return for an honest, objective review; which is what I've provided. I hope you find my review helpful in helping to decide if The Accident is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "The Accident": Move Along, Nothing to See Here, July 10, 2014
By 
Sherry Christie (Jonesport, Maine) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Accident (Hardcover)
You may want to read THE ACCIDENT if you're part of the New York literary crowd, but if you're just looking for a suspenseful read, move on. This "suspense" novel is very slow to develop a plot, and we never stay in any character's head long enough to have a chance of developing empathy. The author attempts to build tension by repeatedly cross-cutting between different points of view, verb tenses, and present/past activity (the latter also hopscotching around out of sequence), but as a reader I found this technique more annoying than engaging. Scene-setting is established with a laundry list of observations -- e.g., "Then he too starts walking through Union Square's riot of exuberant youth," followed by descriptions of 20 different kinds of people encountered in the square, none of whom have anything to do with the story. Alas, the big end-of-book reveal of a key character's real identity is obvious halfway through the novel. In the Acknowledgments Mr. Pavone thanks everyone he has apparently ever shaken hands with, but I wish he had had more to thank his editor for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hard to get into, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Accident (Kindle Edition)
Someone once told me that I needed to be able to sit down with a new book and read the first 100 pages. I have never had that time so never thought this was particularly true.....until this book. I started this book, restarted, and re started again. I thought about doing a flow chart of characters so when I could read a few chapters I wouldn't be so lost. I loved the plot and my only real complaint, and this is probably the fault of the e-reader, is when switching back and forth between present day and 25 years ago, those paragraphs need to be in italic so it is readily recognized. Drives me crazy when I am reading along and the very next paragraph is something from the past. No page break, no indentation - something so I don't need to go back to see what I might have missed! Would I recommend, yes, but don't think it is as good as his first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much easy mayhem, March 19, 2014
By 
Rosemary Wells (Greenwich, Ct, US) - See all my reviews
There is a tremendous flaw in this book. The whole story is based on a very flimsy conceit.
Many characters die violently in order that multiple paper copies of a tell-all celebrity career destroying manuscript and its xerox copies be captured and shredded.
In any semblance of the real world, at the very first in-office appearance of this manuscript, the pages would be scanned and put on disc, not just xeroxed and passed along hand to hand in carry-bags. The scans would be on email and irretrievable. Every publisher and agent does this.
The rest of the book is action packed gobbledy-gook, well narrated but not very believable.
"The Accident" needed an editor, badly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring Mystery/Thriller About Book Publishing, Unscrupulous Media Magnate, May 13, 2014
This review is from: The Accident (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Book publishing isn't particularly exciting, not even when a terrific, controversial manuscript, with "best seller" written all over it, arrives on the desk of an agent, editor, publisher, or movie producer. And that's exactly what's wrong with THE ACCIDENT--a novel about an unpublished manuscript so explosive that even possessing a photocopy of it can get a person killed. THE ACCIDENT, for most of its 300-plus pages, is just plain boring.

The novel is well-written, but always slow-moving. Worse yet, the author compensates for the lack of action by adding paragraph upon paragraph of description. After a while the reader tires of the lengthy, Proust-like word pictures--lists of the types of people seen in the crowds of New York City, Paris, and other European cities; detailed inventories of the interiors of slummy flats, showplace offices, singles bars, high-rise apartments, and landed estates in fashionable New York suburbs; painstakingly detailed observations regarding the characters' clothing and possessions.

The plot is simplicity itself. An anonymous author has written an unauthorized biography of a powerful media magnate who is about to run for public office. If the events related in the biography are true, then publication of the book will not only bring down the magnate's publishing empire, it will also topple many well-connected politicians, judges, policemen, FBI agents, CIA operatives, and so on.

Of course, the magnate wields tremendous power, and has truly unbelievable surveillance, tracking, and goon resources. The magnate--and his connected friends--will stop at nothing to collect and destroy all copies of the manuscript (which exists only as a paper original and photocopies). Thus every single individual who comes in contact with the manuscript is placed in great peril, and there are many fatalities.

All of the "action" in THE ACCIDENT happens in a single day--starting from the time that a literary agent finishes reading the manuscript; continuing as legitimate and clandestine copies are made by various people who see the manuscript's money-making potential; and ending with the ultimate fate of the manuscript.

Because THE ACCIDENT is tiresome, overloaded with descriptive passages, and has an unbelievable plot, I rate it at 2 stars ("I don't like it" on the official Amazon scale).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars this is no ex-pats, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Accident (Kindle Edition)
I loved Expats. It was crisp , readable and everything you'd want in a suspense novel. This is an okay second book , but I dragged my way through it .Wish I felt differently but can't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously?, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Accident (Hardcover)
Having read and "enjoyed" Pavone's debut novel, "The ExPats" I gave "The Accident" a shot.
Whew! This is a thriller with more characters and locations than any book on the street. Maybe instead of thanking the dozens and dozens and dozens of publishing employees who worked on this book (I felt sorry for the editor who had to read and re-read every draft to try and make this story fly) the author should have included a scorecard of "Who's on First". Too many characters to track and for what? A tell all book about a "Rupert Murdock" sleaze who got in trouble at college and killed some sorority gal? And now that his best friend tells all in an unpublished "book" anyone who "touches" the manuscript must die! Did I get that right?
My suggestion: Pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like playing Solitaire, March 14, 2014
By 
ronaldk204 "ronaldk2042" (Potomac, Md United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Accident (Kindle Edition)
I think I am reading too many books of just average quality. It's kind of equivalent to playing Solitaire. A not unpleasant way to take up time, but leaving you with the feeling of having wasted a small part of your life. Kind of like watching cable tv or surfing the web. When you are done with a book like this, it makes you feel like you should volunteer for Meals On Wheels or Habitat For Humanity if you have time to read this stuff. The book isn't too bad for this genre, but is manipulative in the usual contrived fashion. Who wants to read a book about a Roger Ailes like character who isn't what he seems. All of the players seem so astounded by the whole thing. The writing is ok, but I wouldn't call it a literary event. Here's a thought. Maybe people are reading too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Accident
The Accident by Chris Pavone (Hardcover - March 11, 2014)
$26.00 $19.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.