Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia (Encyclopedia): Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E.
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 27, 2013
I absolutely love this book, the lore is incredible. The pictures are so bright and so vivid. It has everything that you could ever want to know about Adventure Time, you really won't find another Adventure Time book as informative and fun to read as this.
88 comments| 163 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
If you are looking for a book with lots of specific information about the making of Adventure Time, this is not that book. I see another reader has criticized The Adventure Time Encyclopedia for not providing behind-the-scenes trivia, show history, or interviews with the cast and creators.

While that may be a disappointment for certain AT fans, I have a very different response as a fan both of the show and of author Martin Olson, best known for the instant cult classic "Encyclopaedia of Hell" (and as the voice of Hunson Abadeer, a character seemingly reflective of Olson's cult celebrity as the evil-oid EOH author).

Rather than a research-based tell-all about Adventure Time, this book is something which could only have been written by Olson.

With so much AT information already available on the Wikia site, blogs, features and interviews on youtube, etc., it seems Pendleton Ward and company wanted to take this book to another level. So, instead of hiring someone to gather data and conduct interviews, they got Olson to bring his unique imagination and warped sense of humor to "The Adventure Time Encyclopedia," creating something truly original though difficult to categorize.

Isn't that just like them?

Equal parts fanporn, comedy, and bizarre experiment in meta-literature, Encyclopaedia of Adventure Time is for those who seek more than just a typical "Making Of" book. So, for Glob's sake, curl up with a nice cup of mallow tea and vibe into the extreme algebraicism of this utterly strange book. Of which, some parts seem to be alive. Or are a fanzine scribbled insanely by the Ice King. And all of which is hilariously littered with handwritten notes by Finn, Jake and Marceline (Also: Artwork. Beautiful, detailed, artwork by Tony Millionaire and Mahendra Singh. Please).

Even knowing Olson's previous work, TATE is not what I was expecting. Which is totally rhombus.
0Comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised to find this encyclopedia full of new Adventure Time art. It's written from the point of view of Marceline's dad, king of the Nightosphere, with faux-written-in comments by Marceline, Finn, and Jake (I'm pretty sure multiple authors commenting on the main body makes it experimental post-modern awesome! Unfortunately they never say much). It's more than just an alphabetical listing of most of the Adventure Time characters; things like Princess Bubblegum's Travel Guide to Ooo and the Ice King Fiona and Cake Zine give it a miscellany feel.

The design is really impressive for licensed cartoon merchandise. Children will probably like all the pictures, and teens/adults can enjoy Abadeer's delightful circumlocutions, although he does get annoyingly hyper-self-aware (and the tone of his writing is inconsistent). The writing could have been a bit better, but it's still entertaining. I chuckled more than once! If you're a fan of the show you should totally buy this book! You will love it. If you're buying it for a child, just know that it assumes the reader has a large vocabulary (words like "masticating" "ninny" and "bevy" are common, which might discourage a 10-year-old. Or it might encourage them, who knows).

This Encyclopedia makes this reader happy, nay, giddy, when its contents enter range of her orbicular sight sensors (did you find that circumlocution funny or annoying? More of the same awaits you in this Encyclopedia).
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
I had preordered this book quite a while ago, and to my unequivocal happiness, the Adventure Time Encyclopaedia turned out to be utterly awesome! If you are new to the Adventure Time universe, or if you are a day-one fan, or if you just want some information on a show that enlightens your conversations with your kids, this is the book to do it.

You will notice two things the instant you get this book in your hands. 1) The format is a bit smaller than most other "encyclopedias", and 2) The quality is immediately evident the minute you open the cover.

Some readers have complained about the size of this book, but I have to say, the 'digest' size of The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia is absolutely perfect for a number of reasons. It is easier to carry along with you wherever you go, it fits into most bags, backpacks, briefcases, etc.. rather easily, and it doesn't take up wasted space on your bookshelf. I have noticed a large number of publishers migrating to this particular size and I am glad that they are.

The quality of this book is amazing in that it keeps with the unique art style and character designs of the show, but casts a whole new light on the land of OOO. Everything that we know and love is new again. EVERY piece of art in this book is a masterpiece, even more so if you are an Adventure Time fan, and it really brings the text to life while putting a big grin on the readers face. The layout of the book is perfect. The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia is made out to be "authored" by Marceline's father, Hunson Abadeer, and so right off the bat we are treated to specific warnings telling us not to continue to read for fear of terrible things happening to the 'unworthy readers' and one of the most unique, and reassuring, forwards in any book I've read. The letter-fonts used throughout the book could not be more appropriate, including those used by Finn, Jake, and Marceline as they scribble notes through the many chapters, and the pages are beautifully printed on a thick, matte stock. As mentioned earlier, the artwork is astounding and the colors are vivid when needed, and dreary in all the right places. Even the front and back cover are a testament to the quality of this product. Offering a hardbound well printed cover, mixing both glossy and flat artwork with a cool, old-school print in the background.

Hardcore fans will find something new in this book, and new fans will be delighted to learn all that this book has to offer. From the awesome two-page map of the land of OOO printed on the inside cover, to the quirky biographies of all the main-players in Adventure Time, all the way to the final page containing the lyrics of Marceline's "Daddy, Why Did You Eat my Fries" hit song, this book is amazing and fun to read over and over. Let's not get into all the lore, wizard's spells, and great locations strew about the land of OOO...... instead, just pick this book up yourself. You definitely will not regret it, and this book truly is worth the wait and worth every penny spent on it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
Written from the perspective of Hunson Abadeer, a minor character on the show Adventure Time, this book is a fun look at the world of Adventure Time through his eyes. The majority of the work centers around enumerating the major and minor characters of the Adventure Time show universe and giving general information about them as related through the episodes themselves. Further on in the book, there are a few additional chapters such as Ice King's "zine" about "Fiona & Cake", who will be familiar to most audiences of the show, and an Ooo Travel Guide by Princess Bubblegum. As an adult fan of Adventure Time, I was very pleased with the book and found it suitable to give to a friend's 10 year old son, who really enjoyed the book as well (he is a fan of the show). Note that while I have marked this book as "No Sex/Violence" (which is true), overly-sensitive parents might wish to be aware that there is a reference to two of the (non-human) characters running around "naked", and in one illustration, the male character Ice King is dressed up as a Sailor Moon knockoff (albeit very funnily within context). There is also one page that features a "plea" to remove the a character from the page in which he has been trapped. All in all, however, there is nothing particularly genuinely offensive in the book and as long as you stick with 10 and above, the content should be fine for most readers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
Been waiting for this for a long time and its soooooooo cool. I wish other shows would do this. It's super funny and if your a hardcore fan you'll LOVE it. Not an art book or story board book, but a weird encyclopedia with stuff for the fans. For the price its great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
I thought it would be only like concept art and something silly for kids, but when it arrived it was shorter from what i expected so i got disappointed. Then i opened it and it was amazing, the illustration plus the articles, is something I'm really going to enjoy. Highly recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
its a good addition to my adventure time collection, in this encyclopedia you get to look at the great land of ooooo from marcelines dad point of view with some commentary from marceline finn and jake. it comes with good character brief bios and thing to do and not to do. its a great read i recommend it if your an adventure time fan :) enjoy.........
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
I'm not going to lie - I bought this for my daughter for Christmas, just to discover that she already owned it - so I ended up keeping it for myself. A fun little book for one of the most awesome shows ever devised. I remember when this show first started airing - I never paid much attention to it because the colorful characters and candy people made it look like a kids' show. My teenage daughter forced me to sit down and watch the first episode with her. I'm glad she did! This show is awesome and the book is a lot fun. If you're an Adventure Time fan, this is an absolute must-buy. If you haven't given the show a chance yet, you don't know what you're missing. I'm a 37 year old man into guns, knives, cars, and cigars - and I find this show to be amazing. Safe to watch with the family but twisted and weird enough to hold my attention. The characters actually grow on you. Pendleton Ward, you are a genius.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
I got this for my husband for Christmas. Five big shiney stars for this book! It's fun, super funny and light hearted, which still actually being informative. Lots of "Ooooh, so that's why!" were shared with this book in hand. The funny notes by Fin, Jake and Marceline really made me giggle. For girls and boys, this book is awesome.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.