Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Melanie Martinez $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Big Savings in the Amazon Fall Sportsman Event Learn more
Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $12.01 (80%)

Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Adventures of Guy Kindle Edition

13 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 310 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

"Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things"
Don't miss the unflinching, hilarious new memoir by bestselling author Jenny Lawson.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Adventures of Guy is absurd, but that is what makes it so funny." -- Tracy Farnsworth at Roundtable Reviews.com

About the Author

Norm writes funny stuff ... on walls, in the snow, to his attorney ... and in at least six books. Check them out.

Product Details

  • File Size: 572 KB
  • Print Length: 310 pages
  • Publication Date: February 25, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004PLNORQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,098,107 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Norm is founder of the Humor Writers of America and an award-winning business columnist. His fiction is most often compared with The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and stuff by Christopher Moore. Here's what they say:

"... humorous fantasy at its best ..." (Armchair Interviews, a top Amazon reviewer), on The Adventures of Guy
"I loved this book, fangs and all." ~ Best selling author James Rollins, about Fang Face
"... you can't help but laugh..." (Roundtable Reviews)
Fang Face five starred review by Harriet Klausner, Amazon's Top Reviewer.
"... fantastically funny." ~ BookLoons
"...wicked sense of humor!" Readers Favorite Book Reviews, on Bonk & Hedz
"This book sucks ... in a most delightful way. Don't miss this gem.." ~ Shane Gericke, national bestselling author
"LOL funny" (Publisher's Weekly), on the Adventures of Guy
"No topic is safe from Cowie's incredible wit and entertaining turn-of-phrase." ~ Pop Syndicate (named one of Pop Syndicate's Top Ten Books of 2007)
"Hilarious, witty and oozing with snappy sarcasm..." ~3Rs Bits, Bites & Books
"Everything in the book is so true, you can't help but laugh." ~ Roundtable Reviews
** The Next Adventures of Guy, winner "Best Sci-Fi Fantasy" - Preditors and Editors Readers Choice Award.
www.normcowie.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Amanda Richards HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on August 24, 2007
Format: Paperback
A funny book about a guy
And Guy's also his name
Your standard goof-off slacker-dude
Without a claim to fame

And then one day a phone call came
That sent him on a quest
He's forced to leave his dirty home
(More like his filthy nest)

There's something wrong with little Seth
At least he's not himself
In no time flat, Guy's pals become
A sor-cer-er and elf

It seems your quest is not complete
Without a certain mix
So they recruit a warrior
Stacked like a house of bricks

There's something evil chasing them
And monsters everywhere
Look out for buzzing little flies
And plumber's derriere

The truth of telemarketing
The huge attorney plot
All made as simple as the choice
To supersize, or not?

It's just as crazy as it sounds
With potty jokes and worse
A madcap world of fantasy
Reviewed by me in verse

A warning to you, friends of mine
And you, my dear consumer
Don't bother picking up this one
If you've no sense of humor

Amanda Richards, August 25, 2007
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Lance Carbuncle on December 18, 2008
Format: Paperback
Why is it that Norm Cowie can write about boobs, poop and butt cracks and come off kind of cute, but when I do it, people tell me that I made them vomit (in a good way, of course)? It's just not fair. Maybe it's because Norm has a knack for wordplay. Maybe it's because I lack the ability to determine or care about when something is in bad taste. Who cares? This review shouldn't be about me and my scatological humor. It should be about Norm Cowie and the crazy adventure he sends his characters on to retrieve the brain of the protagonist's little brother. Cowie's unique sense of humor and quirky observations make for a thoroughly entertaining read. I will definitely be picking up More Adventures of Guy in the near future. The adventures of Guy is a creative, strange, humorous adventure worth checking out. Fans of Douglas Adams and Dave Barry will enjoy Norm Cowie's work.

Lance Carbuncle, author of Smashed, Squashed, Splattered, Chewed, Chunked and Spewed
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Pop Bop TOP 500 REVIEWER on October 6, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book is very clever, a little silly, and a bit light weight, but I think that's because this is a very accomplished author and that's what he wanted. As I glance through the other reviews I see references to Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Dave Barry, and so on. While they each write in different styles what they do have in common with Mr. Cowie is a certain delicate touch and cheerful off-centeredness, as well as a way with throwaway lines and sneaky deadpan humor. And while this book is silly, it isn't stupid. There may be slapstick, but it isn't just frantic manic humorless business. You don't have to be dead earnest to make a point, and sometimes crafty "juvenile" humor is the most direct path to grown-up laughs. And I always like a vaguely befuddled slacker narrator with a gift for the telling phrase or observation.

So, I happened to find this book while cruising around Kindle freebies. I'm surprised that the reviews are so old, and hope that this book is starting to be noticed again. (For what it's worth, the Amazon "Click to Look Inside" sample is very generous, so you can get a good idea of what's what in this book by checking that sample out.)

As I say, please note that I found this book while browsing Amazon Kindle freebies. I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on January 9, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Pretty sophomoric, with lots of bathroom & sexual humor. Funny & twisted look at telemarketers & lawyers, but a bit juvenile.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Nancheska on March 4, 2009
Format: Paperback
I have just finished reading the second book by Norm Cowie. He wrote The Adventures of Guy and The Next Adventure of Guy. He also has other published works, and one or two other books slated to come out within the next year. Look him up - great sense of humor and a wonderful smile!
I found both books to be very funny. I would even go so far as to say "Laugh Out-Loud Funny". Not necessarily, snort-laugh... Although there was that chapter where they... Wait. It starts like this...
The `Guy' in these books.... Um... he's a guy, but he's also Guy... So, Guy and his friends go on a couple of Quests. Traveling along with this group of misfits was a heck of a ride! They are all so crazy, whacky and likeable. I would recommend these books as a good read to most anyone that has a funny bone. Even if you DON'T have a funny bone, maybe it would help you get one. Or find out where you left your other one. If you ever had one. Maybe you didn't. Maybe you were born without one. Boy, that would suck. (which brings me to Mr. Cowie's next book - about a vampire! hahahaha)
Anyway, I am gonna try to get the anthologies with two other stories about that guy, Guy. One is titled Missing and the other is... um, let me look it up. Snap! I thought there was another one! No, wait - it is called The Heat Of The Moment.
Keep writing, Norm - and I will keep reading!!! Thanks for the assortment of words. You are now, unofficially, one of my fav authors.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kayla Jelen on July 7, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This dorky book was just perfect for my strange cravings of adventure. I instantly fell in love with the characters, and the plot. It was definitely a fun little book to read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in