Start reading The Adventures of Guy on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Adventures of Guy [Kindle Edition]

Norm Cowie
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $15.00
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $12.01 (80%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 600,000 titles. Learn More

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $2.99  
Paperback $13.50  
Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

Somebody stole Seth's brain, not that he was using it anyway. To recover it, his brother Guy and college roommates Knob and Thurman must take on sinister forces using only their wits, knowledge of beer and an Amazon Warrior, whose breasts, like the Big Gulp, are too big for the cup holder.

"Humorous Fantasy at its best..." - Armchair Interviews (Amazon top 100 reviewer).

"...persistently entertaining read from first page to last" - Midwest Book Review.

"Everything in the book is so true, you can't help but laugh in agreement." - Roundtable Reviews

"... a ridiculous comedy..." - Bryon Merritt, FWOMP Reviews.

"...hilarious mishaps..." - Joliet Herald News

Named a 'Top Ten Novel of the Year' by Pop Syndicate.

See why reviewers compare THE ADVENTURES OF GUY to The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.


Editorial Reviews

Review


"... humorous fantasy at its best..."  ~ Armchair Interviews



"No topic is safe from Cowie's incredible wit and entertaining turn-of-phrase." ~ Pop Syndicate (named one of Pop Syndicate's Top Ten Books of 2007)



"Hilarious, witty and oozing with snappy sarcasm..." ~3Rs Bits, Bites & Books

"Persistently entertaining read from first page to last." Midwest Book Review

"Everything in the book is so true, you can't help but laugh in agreement." Roundtable Reviews

About the Author

Norm writes funny stuff ... on walls, in the snow, to his attorney ... and in at least six books. Check them out.

Product Details

  • File Size: 371 KB
  • Print Length: 310 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1456590618
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004PLNORQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #122,108 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guyquest August 24, 2007
Format:Paperback
A funny book about a guy
And Guy's also his name
Your standard goof-off slacker-dude
Without a claim to fame

And then one day a phone call came
That sent him on a quest
He's forced to leave his dirty home
(More like his filthy nest)

There's something wrong with little Seth
At least he's not himself
In no time flat, Guy's pals become
A sor-cer-er and elf

It seems your quest is not complete
Without a certain mix
So they recruit a warrior
Stacked like a house of bricks

There's something evil chasing them
And monsters everywhere
Look out for buzzing little flies
And plumber's derriere

The truth of telemarketing
The huge attorney plot
All made as simple as the choice
To supersize, or not?

It's just as crazy as it sounds
With potty jokes and worse
A madcap world of fantasy
Reviewed by me in verse

A warning to you, friends of mine
And you, my dear consumer
Don't bother picking up this one
If you've no sense of humor

Amanda Richards, August 25, 2007
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guy's review December 18, 2008
Format:Paperback
Why is it that Norm Cowie can write about boobs, poop and butt cracks and come off kind of cute, but when I do it, people tell me that I made them vomit (in a good way, of course)? It's just not fair. Maybe it's because Norm has a knack for wordplay. Maybe it's because I lack the ability to determine or care about when something is in bad taste. Who cares? This review shouldn't be about me and my scatological humor. It should be about Norm Cowie and the crazy adventure he sends his characters on to retrieve the brain of the protagonist's little brother. Cowie's unique sense of humor and quirky observations make for a thoroughly entertaining read. I will definitely be picking up More Adventures of Guy in the near future. The adventures of Guy is a creative, strange, humorous adventure worth checking out. Fans of Douglas Adams and Dave Barry will enjoy Norm Cowie's work.

Lance Carbuncle, author of Smashed, Squashed, Splattered, Chewed, Chunked and Spewed
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever, Silly and Very Engaging October 6, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is very clever, a little silly, and a bit light weight, but I think that's because this is a very accomplished author and that's what he wanted. As I glance through the other reviews I see references to Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Dave Barry, and so on. While they each write in different styles what they do have in common with Mr. Cowie is a certain delicate touch and cheerful off-centeredness, as well as a way with throwaway lines and sneaky deadpan humor. And while this book is silly, it isn't stupid. There may be slapstick, but it isn't just frantic manic humorless business. You don't have to be dead earnest to make a point, and sometimes crafty "juvenile" humor is the most direct path to grown-up laughs. And I always like a vaguely befuddled slacker narrator with a gift for the telling phrase or observation.

So, I happened to find this book while cruising around Kindle freebies. I'm surprised that the reviews are so old, and hope that this book is starting to be noticed again. (For what it's worth, the Amazon "Click to Look Inside" sample is very generous, so you can get a good idea of what's what in this book by checking that sample out.)

As I say, please note that I found this book while browsing Amazon Kindle freebies. I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dorky Fun July 7, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This dorky book was just perfect for my strange cravings of adventure. I instantly fell in love with the characters, and the plot. It was definitely a fun little book to read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It had some funny moments January 9, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Pretty sophomoric, with lots of bathroom & sexual humor. Funny & twisted look at telemarketers & lawyers, but a bit juvenile.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
Norm Cowie's debut novel, The Adventures Of Guy: Written By A Guy (Probably), is the creative and hilarious story of Guy and his roommates Thurman and Knob (as well as Amazon), who in their quest to save Guy's little brother from his evil captors think they will find great worth in the mind of a small boy. Satirical and endlessly hilarious, The Adventures Of Guy introduces readers to a creatively positioned philosophy and analytical metaphor of human nature. Norm Cowie is a truly skilled and engaging storyteller whose novel, The Adventures Of Guy, is very strongly recommended as a profound, funny, and persistently entertaining read from first page to last.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars An Earthly Pratchett January 12, 2012
Format:Paperback
Norm Cowie has written a humorous adventure against the telemarketers and other malign influences. I was laughing out loud in several places, something that not many authors can make me do. The overall style reminded me of Terry Pratchett with plenty of interesting word play but maintaining an interesting storyline. It should appeal to wide audience: I gave it to my Dad to read and he loved it too. I'll be seeking out The Further Adventures of Guy and other books by Norm in the future.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Norm is founder of the Humor Writers of America and an award-winning business columnist. His fiction is most often compared with The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and stuff by Christopher Moore. Here's what they say:

"... humorous fantasy at its best ..." (Armchair Interviews, a top Amazon reviewer), on The Adventures of Guy
"I loved this book, fangs and all." ~ Best selling author James Rollins, about Fang Face
"... you can't help but laugh..." (Roundtable Reviews)
Fang Face five starred review by Harriet Klausner, Amazon's Top Reviewer.
"... fantastically funny." ~ BookLoons
"...wicked sense of humor!" Readers Favorite Book Reviews, on Bonk & Hedz
"This book sucks ... in a most delightful way. Don't miss this gem.." ~ Shane Gericke, national bestselling author
"LOL funny" (Publisher's Weekly), on the Adventures of Guy
"No topic is safe from Cowie's incredible wit and entertaining turn-of-phrase." ~ Pop Syndicate (named one of Pop Syndicate's Top Ten Books of 2007)
"Hilarious, witty and oozing with snappy sarcasm..." ~3Rs Bits, Bites & Books
"Everything in the book is so true, you can't help but laugh." ~ Roundtable Reviews
** The Next Adventures of Guy, winner "Best Sci-Fi Fantasy" - Preditors and Editors Readers Choice Award.
www.normcowie.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category