Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$16.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2011
This book is really well done. It goes without saying that it can't include more than a fraction of the facts and figures of a written biography, but it makes up for this with its style and wit. It also manages to address sensitive issues with real feeling.

It is OK as an introduction to the author of Tintin, but for those who already know a bit about Herge this book is full of nods and winks to real-life events, anecdotes and well-known photos and images. It's a lot of fun!

The French artist, Stanislas, is an established comic strip author. His art style is quite contemporary and is somewhat reminiscent of the work of Dutch comic artist and graphic designer Joost Swarte, who actually coined the term 'clear line', when referring to the general style of comic strip art that Herge pioneered.

Highly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2012
This is a biography of Herge, the creator of Tintin, in a comic book format that he essentially founded. I am really impressed by the artwork, as it is so much in the style of Herge himself. Much of the elements of Tintin books are in here: the style Herge uses to portray people, the detailed backgrounds featuring real places and recognizable buildings, the use of color and the conversation. The book highlights the key periods of Herge's life, and the events, people, and places that inspired different Tintin stories. It is true that the comic book format does not lend itself to any in-depth view of Herge's life, but then I found it less heavy-handed, and hence a more enjoyable read, than most "real" biographies. It is an adorable tribute for the great artist, in the very medium that he used. Tintin fans will cherish it almost as one of the Tintin books themselves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2012
This project -- a sort of pictorial biography of the creator of TINTIN, drawn in a style at least faintly resembling Herge's famed "clear line" and formatted in the manner of a classic TINTIN album, right down to the page count -- is frankly a bit mystifying. People familiar with Herge's life and work will not learn very much that is new. At the same time, despite the presence of a helpful "cast of characters" (complete with headshots) at the back of the book, TINTIN neophytes will probably be quite confused the first time that they read it. So who is most likely to mine enjoyment out of this? Two groups come to mind: (1) the longtime "true TINTIN believers" who simply must own any and all Herge-related products and will thoroughly recognize and appreciate the various visual references to Herge's stories that crop up from time to time; (2) people who were intrigued by the recent feature film but aren't necessarily committed enough in their interest in TINTIN to essay a full-scale Herge bio, or even to read the albums. For the latter group, THE ADVENTURES OF HERGE is a convenient, and highly enjoyable, "two-for-one" experience: a good place to learn a little something about Herge's life and get an idea as to what a TINTIN album is "supposed" to look like.

Artist Stanislas Barthelemy wisely doesn't essay a full-blown swipe of Herge's style. His somewhat sketchy interpretation of same looks more like a cross between Herge's earliest work and the highly stylized approach of a John Held Jr. This puts some useful artistic "distance" between the "hard-PG" narrative, with its scenes of nude portraiture, occasional use of harsh language, and depictions of marital infidelity, and a typical TINTIN narrative, which Herge famously said was created for everyone from ages 7 to 77. The distinction is especially effective when Stanislas consciously parodies famous scenes from TINTIN albums. Nowhere is it more so than in the scene in which Herge is freed from the jail where he had been held as a supposed collaborationist. Even as Herge leaves to literally start his life over again, his cellmate, who'd also been imprisoned by the Resistance, is placed before a firing squad. Several panels in this sequence bring to mind the scene in THE BROKEN EAR in which Tintin is about to be shot in the same manner. Tintin famously got out of that one by getting drunk (!), with the tone of the scene strongly resembling that of the climax of DUCKTALES' "Allowance Day." Suffice it to say that the denouement here is rather more sober. The final two pages, depicting Herge's death, also make memorable use of props from Herge's stories and the opening scenes of THE SHOOTING STAR.

When I first heard of this project, I was worried that we might be getting a sort of deconstructionist deboning or ideological hijacking of Herge, in the manner of Frederic Tuten's novel TINTIN IN THE NEW WORLD, or the anarchist rip-off TINTIN IN BREAKING FREE. Thankfully, Jose-Louis Bocquet, who's written biographies of other European comics figures, avoids the pitfalls and pretty much tells the straight story, albeit with some exaggerations to accommodate the requirements of storytelling and the uses of Herge characters and scenes. If you're a comics fan unfamiliar with the world of Herge, this isn't the worst place in the world to start finding out about the man, his times, and his works.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 13, 2011
The Adventures of Herge is a brief autobiographical comic of Herge's (or Georges Prosper Remi to give his real name) life and, at 60 pages, it's a whistle-stop tour of the highlights of the Tintin creator's life. From childhood, where there were rumours of him being a descendant of the Belgian Royal Family, and where we meet his twin uncles who would later serve as inspiration for the Thompson/Thomson twins, to success with Tintin in the Land of the Soviets when he was in his twenties.

It continues from there, revealing Herge's sexual promiscuousness, to his pride that excluded any other artist as being credited on the front of the Tintin books, to his futile efforts to break free of Tintin's shadow, and eventual acceptance of his legacy as being the creator of one of the 20th century's best loved cartoon characters.

The book is drawn in the style of Herge's clear line and the events in his life mirror events Tintin himself would undertake in the books. While the art is wonderful, the limited number of pages makes for only the briefest of acquaintances with the important people in Herge's life as well as many important events only being mentioned in passing.

The Adventures of Herge is an interesting book for those wishing to know more about TIntin's creator and not wanting to spend too long finding out, but anyone expecting a more in-depth look into his life should try elsewhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 8, 2014
I appreciate the fact that they decided to copy the general style of the original Tintin comics with its clear lines and detailed backgrounds. But at at the same time the art remains fairly distinct from the Tintin comics, and thus it doesn't risk dancing on the wrong side of insult (at least in the eyes of Hergé purists). Regardless of which style is emulate, the comic is quite beautiful and the character styles and the rich coloring really makes you think of the classic comics.

At the very end of the book is a complete guide to the major characters in Hergé's life, which is just as well since not everyone is formally introduced over the course of the book. Thus there's a need to flip back and fort sometimes to remember who is who. But at the same time, it's great that the characters still looked so distinct from one another - again more credit to the artist.

Definitely one of the greatest moments in the story involves Hergé and his search for his dear friend Chang, the same person who inspired the Tintin character of the same name, It was wonderful to see how the Tintin comics paralleled his friendship with Chang and how the pair were eventually reunited.

The Adventures of Hergé is a lovely homage to a great man and an interesting retelling of the major events of his life. It does act as a great introduction to his history and one that certainly encourages you to dig deeper.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2013
I eagerly waited to read this book but I was very disappointed when I did. The story line is disjointed, jumps from one event to another without a clear flow, and it seems like a “rush job” just to get something out. I have loved Tintin and have a couple of books on the life of Herge. I was hoping to find out more about the man and the artist. This book was definitely not it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 29, 2013
I ordered it for my Grandson, but in reading through the book, I found it to be for adults and not for young teenagers. I will give it to him when he is older as some of the drawings were racy - too racy for me to give to him now. Good introduction for when he goes to Belgium.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2012
I bought this book for my kids, and was rather shocked to find it is not a kids book. It is an adults book, covering adult issues and containing occasional cartoons of nudity. Gritty and thorough, if that's what you're expecting, but definitely not suitable for the younger ones.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
This book is an easy way to learn about the life of a man who has brought adventure into the homes and lives of millions around the world. It gives us alook into the good and not so good sides of a man we would otherwise know little about. His love of women and art. His political influences through the comics are evident also even from the first works
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I bought this for my son, but he will come to like it when he gets older. It is more for adults, but a nice addition about Herge. We love Tintin and this is fun to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Valley of Cobras
Valley of Cobras by Herge (Paperback - 2003)

Tintin: Herge's Masterpiece
Tintin: Herge's Masterpiece by Pierre Sterckx (Hardcover - September 29, 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.