Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 18, 1998
I thought this was a wonderful book. If you are interested in mythology, this is an exellent book to read. It is based on the classic "Odyssey", but retold in a format suitable for young adults. Every chapter contains a new, exciting adventure. Some of these include stories about Calypso, Circe, and Syclla & Charybdis. It is not hard to get in to, as the adventure starts on the very first page. So, if you are interested in mythology, give "The Adventures of Ulysses", a try!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2004
I used this book as part of my 7th grade Language Arts class. The story is exciting and entertaining. My students enjoyed the book especially during read alouds. The story also provides ample opportunities for writing topics, prediction, question & answer, and art. I follow up the book with the video/DVD The Odyssey with Armand Asanti but edit parts out. I obtained the Kurt Douglas version and will be comparing them. This is a must for any classroom library. Enjoy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 1999
The adventures of Ulysses is a excellent book. It was fun, exciting and filled with irony. It always keeps you wondering what is going to happen, and keeps you at the egde of your chair. There was no best part of the story, the whole adventure was thrilling. He was faced with many challanges and was able to over come them all! For examle when Ulysses was in the cave with the Cyclops he was very clever; he tricked the Cyclops and got him drunk by drinking unwatered wine. Then he stabbed him in his one and only eye, which left him blinded and Ulysses escaped the cave by the help of rams. Ulysses was faced with many enemys, Poseidon was his greatest. Poseidon put a curse on Ulysses which made his voyage home very difficult. Like Circe said, Ulysses was sly like a fox; he got home to Ithaca in "the Return."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
Some of you may have seen movies about Ulysses exploits, but I implore you to read the book anyway. You can't help but feel sorry for him, as all he wants to do is get back home to his wife and family. But Poseidon has other ideas and Ulysses has to use all his cunning and skills as a fighter to survive. Does he get home? You probably already know the answer to this question, but if not you'll have to read the book. Again you'll find words that are used in our language today. Eg. Morphius, the Greek God of sleep. Do you remember your Mother telling you that the sandman is on his way; and Doctors today use the drug called Morphine. It seems the past is still very much with us today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing amazing book amazing Unigue unique uique unique pie p
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
I read this book in the 3rd or 4th grade and absolutely loved it. It sparked a lifelong interest in history, religions, politics, literature, you name it. It successfully takes The Odyssey, one of the classic works of Western literature, and turns into an extremely readable adventure story. For a teacher or a parent, this is a good way to introduce your kid to history and ancient Greek mythology and culture. This is a must read for all upper elementary school and middle school students.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
I LOVE Greek Mythology, so I loved this book. I had to read it for summer reading and I really enjoyed it. It is an inspiring myth that teaches you to never give up, no matter how bad the circumstances are. It is a story of adventure, courage, loyalty, and bravery. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a great adventure read and anyone who absolutely loves mythology, like me!!!!

It was a GREAT BOOK!!!!! 😃😃😃😃😃😃
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2003
There are a lot of books that can get very boring to me, but this book never did. Whenever one exciting part was over, another one started. That is what I liked about this book. I also liked the history part in it, and that it wasn't very modern at all. I thought that made it good too. No wonder the Odyssey is so famous. It's a great adventure, and one that I would reccomend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2006
This is the young reader's version of the Odyssey, with every chapter a new adventure, most in 6-8 pages. In each chapter there is a terrific line such as "Heroes are made when retreat is cut off," or "Bad luck makes good stories." As a middle school teacher I use those key lines as focal points for each day's reading. This is one of my all-time favorite books for young adoescents.

As a read-aloud, when Circe confronts Ulysses, the boys are all but paralyzed in trying to not to look at each other or anywhere else - I think they all think they're the only one "thinking it." Yes, mythology is hot.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
In the Adventures of Ulysses, Ulysses was fighting the Trojan war and had to go through Twenty- years of trials before he was able to go home. When Ulysses offended one of the most powerful gods, he made Ulysses and his crew go through the scariest things they have ever faced. They also had to face the scariest creatures ever known to man, meet some of the most powerful sorceresses, and even had to go through the TarTarus (Under World). He and his crew landed on an island they thought was safe. They needed food and saw some sheep and they ran to the sheep. When they got to the sheep a huge cyclop came out. Polyphemus came out capturing the men and taking them in the cave. In there he took two of Ulysses men and put them high up in the cave as captives. Ulysses had to think fast and took some undiluted wine, and gave it to Polyphemus making him really tired and he fell asleep right away. Ulysses told his men to get up and to go over by the sheep. Ulysses took his sword and stabbed Polyphemus in his eye. Polyphemus woke up angry and swept the men from the high cliff in the cave and ate them alive, right in front of Ulysses. He hurried his men to hold onto the underside of the sheep. When Polyphemus was looking for them he decided he had to move the sheep outside. He moved the big rock in front of the opening, only when he was searching the sheep to see if they were on the sheep he didn't check under. Ulysses' men got to the ship where they boarded and hurried away. As they were sailing away Ulysses yelled to Polyphemus "Poor fool! Poor blinded, drunken, gluttonous fool- if anyone else asks you, it is not nobody, but Ulysses who has done this to you". Polyphemus later that day prayed to his father, Poseidon saying" God of the sea, I beg you, punish Ulysses for this". "Visit him with storm and shipwreck and sorceries. "Let him wander many years before he reaches home, and when he gets there, let him find himself forgotten, unwanted, a stranger." Poseidon heard this prayer and made it all happen this way. He and his crew also had to go through a narrow strait with two ugly creatures on both sides. On one side there is Scylla, a lady with twelve legs and six heads. If he sails too close to her she will sweep six of his men from the deck to feed her six mouths. On the other side is Charybdis, she drinks up the water like a huge whirl pool, with such force that any ship that gets drunk up from her will be wrecked. Ulysses had been doing great until Scylla swept some oars from the men forcing the ship to her side. Six of Ulysses men got swept from the desk and taken to Scylla's cave and eaten alive. Ulysses found when he returned home his crew was dead. and he was the only one still alive, from his crew. He also found that the kingdom he had ruled so long ago has been taken over by the suitors trying to marry his wife Penelope. He helped his son who had stayed true to him and tried to fight off the suitors without Ulysses. Ulysses and his son fought to get their wife, mother and kingdom back. This book is an easy fun read. You will not want to put the book down once you have started. I could not put this book down. It is such a fun book with so many cool adventures, that you won't expect to happen. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves adventures or anyone who would like to read an amazing book. If you love learning about the Greek gods and goddesses, and all the magical creatures connected to them, you will love this book just like I did. I would say this book is for ages 12-adult. I highly reccomend you to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.87

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.