Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, easy to read and full of concrete info
I've been in the advertising field for nearly 20 years, and it was a pleasure to find this solid, useful book. It's clearly written, straightforward, and approaches the subject in a direct way. Anyone considering their own agency should read this book cover-to-cover, and then do the math, well before they go out on their own.
Published on October 12, 1998

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not For Everyone
This book was not written recently and many parts of it reflect that fact. It's pretty dated. It speaks mostly of the big agency world. If your already in that world, you might find the attention to accounting details helpful, as the author is clearly experienced and pays attention to dollar details. If your planning to start a small agency, (bootstrapping) you could do...
Published on November 19, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, easy to read and full of concrete info, October 12, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
I've been in the advertising field for nearly 20 years, and it was a pleasure to find this solid, useful book. It's clearly written, straightforward, and approaches the subject in a direct way. Anyone considering their own agency should read this book cover-to-cover, and then do the math, well before they go out on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not For Everyone, November 19, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
This book was not written recently and many parts of it reflect that fact. It's pretty dated. It speaks mostly of the big agency world. If your already in that world, you might find the attention to accounting details helpful, as the author is clearly experienced and pays attention to dollar details. If your planning to start a small agency, (bootstrapping) you could do better than this book. If you're ready to seek funding then hire a big staff and go after Johnson and Johnson, this might have some info you could use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Advertising Agency Business:, July 29, 2001
By 
Sarah Holley (Northern CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
"The Advertising Agency Business" was an extremly insightful and logical read. The author focus on the basics of the industry but elaborates very well with examples. This book is a must read if you own, managage or operate an ad agency. I wish I had read this book before I started my agency!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, August 11, 2002
By 
Jean-Marc Demers (Montréal, Québec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
If you're looking for ways to make a profit out of an existing operation, this book might interest you. But don't look for pointers on creative and production management, or on client-agency relationships, for example. It's a slick business book, with number crunching and capitalist views. Helpful, yes, in a limited way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Advertising Agency Business, May 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
I am in my 3rd of starting an interactive advertising agency, and this book was just what I needed. Some of the things I learned will help me grow my agency in big way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Check, January 17, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
I read this and thought: what a reality check! Tons of people filter through agencies on their way to some other gig. But some people are staying in the agency world for good, in some capacity or another. They should all read this book.
There's not always one right answer as to how to run your agency, but there are, thankfully, some standard business practices and parameters, which are plainly described in this book.
I think it makes for a more balanced and effective agency.
The price is right. There's a lot of truly useful information you can share. It helps to demystify and guide. Even if you're not in a position to control the business side of your company, having this book sitting on your desk is kind of empowering. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for financials, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have owned an advertising agency for a few years, a small shop. This gives good insight (and shows clear understanding on the author's part) on the costs, income and allocations. There were some real takeaways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars filled with good info in the most unreadable way, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
Picking up this book is a chore, but then again it was written in 1995. This was before bullet lists and visual examples, right?
If you could bear through the language, the antiquated theories, the lack of any reason for someone would want to put themselves through reading another page, there are chunks of information that will be valuable to the reader, especially in client/ agency relationships, billing, and financing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dry, Couldn't get through it., October 6, 2012
This review is from: The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation (Hardcover)
Formulas. Dryness. Ugly design.
There are rare ad agencies that inspire me.
Maybe their Operations people know this book
and use it. But the creative partners I feel would
emphasize different things perhaps. I want to stay
small so I don't have to read this but if you're big
and struggling, it might help. I'd suggest David C Baker's
books though above this. He's better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good foundation, but needs updating, April 8, 2012
Helpful, but very dated. I suspect it covers the foundational 80% of the advertising business, but advertising has changed substantially since this book was written. Technology has driven new tactics. It needs to be updated.

It's worth a read if you really desire to know about the innards of an ad shop, but you'll need to find what's current elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation
The Advertising Agency Business: The Complete Manual for Management & Operation by Eugene J. Hameroff (Hardcover - February 11, 1998)
$43.00 $26.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.