The Age We Live In

June 14, 2011 | Format: MP3

Also available in CD Format
Song Title

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: June 14, 2011
  • Label: Mythology Records
  • Copyright: 2011 John Escreet
  • Total Length: 54:05
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00537DIH2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #221,165 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Jonathan Guarriello on October 4, 2011
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
Here we have the newest release from British expatriate pianist John Escreet. John is a young firebrand that has been on the NYC jazz scene since around 2006 with the release of his first solo album Consequences which placed Escreet in the serious company of players such as the veteran alto sax player David Binney, trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire & drummer Nasheet Waits. He then followed up with Don't Fight the Inevitable an eclectic album featuring Binney & Akinmusire as the frontline that straddles free Ornette Coleman type compositions with a melange of other influences shining thru.

That brings us to this latest release "The Age We Live In". In my opinion this high energy music falls somewhere in between Frank Zappa & Weather Report. John brings the energy level up several notches since last years Don't Fight The Inevitable. In my opinion you have two main reasons for this, one is the awesome presence of guitar hero Wayne Krantz who's powerful chops are in full flight. Two is the awesome drumming by the young Marcus Gilmore grandson of jazz drum legend Roy Haynes, Gilmore is emerging as one of the best and brightest of the new young drummers on the jazz scene who are able to subdivide beats like mathematicians while keeping the grooves from feeling like musical math hence "natural". David Binney a veteran of the "Downtown" scene on alto sax & electronics provides the sparks as a perfect foil to Krantz's guitar.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By monyouk on October 24, 2011
Format: Audio CD
This predominantly quartet record can be compared to tenor saxophonist Chris Potter's Underground project for at least two reasons: no acoustic or electric bass is employed; it is heavy on fender rhodes and guitar. The young British keyboardman has concocted an intriguing blend of adventurous music for his third album, laden with idiosyncratic contribution from guitarist Wayne Krantz (percussive comping, intricate lines and accentuation) and alto saxist/composer David Binney (strikes a balance, as usual, b/w his trademark pyrotechnics and melodic exploration).
The best part of the set, of course (?), is constituted of the longest tunes: the tense #2 'domino effect' where Escreet's rather abstract piano improv. is a perfect match for the rock-suffused guitar follow-up; the starkly ambitious, deconstructive title track #4 is meant to be a steep climb, which is interspersed w/ brass (Brad Mason: trumpet, Max Seigel: trombone - also audible #6) arrangement; piece #6 'a day in music' by Binney has an exquisite theme and finds Tim Lefebvre on bass guitar; and finally, the solemn, hymn-like #11 'another life' where the listener is treated to expressive, heartfelt solos from Escreet and Binney only to be elevated by Krantz's take being played over the restated theme of the song.
The guitarist has brought to the project the groove-driven track #3 'half baked' that in its dynamism and structure somewhat belongs in the same category as the terse yet relentlessly energetic #5 'kickback' and #10 'stand clear'. In addition, we also have the ambient, repetitive #8 'hidden beauty' and a piano-synth. (reminds me of Prophet5's sound from the '80s) chat on #9 'as the moon disappears'. The momentary fillers #1, 7, 12 ('intro', 'interlude' and 'outro') serve, as one jazz critique described them, as "thematic arc", featuring Escreet strumming piano strings and Marcus Gilmore's pulsating beats. Total time: 54.12 min.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


Look for Similar Items by Category