Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing a Few Classics But Still Rates 5 Stars
An excellent live concert release from one of the original jam bands. Here The Allman Brothers Band present an uncut 2 Hour and 48 minute concert recorded in March 2003 at The Beacon Theater in New York. Although a few Allman Brothers classics like Ramblin Man, Jessica, In Memory of Elizabeth Reed, and Revival are not here they are included on other video releases and...
Published on September 23, 2003 by William F. Thompson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad "VIEWING" Experience for "ME"
The full impact of this great performance by the band at the illustrious Beacon, is obstructed by the way this
DVD is edited. There is excessive Camera activity, which prohibits the viewer from connecting with the performance. Screen shot changes EVERY 4 beats (8 if you're lucky), otherwise it's every 2 beats or every accent. And if it's not a Close Up, it's flying...
Published 16 months ago by MoreMusicPlease


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing a Few Classics But Still Rates 5 Stars, September 23, 2003
By 
William F. Thompson "Bill Thompson" (Altamonte Springs, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
An excellent live concert release from one of the original jam bands. Here The Allman Brothers Band present an uncut 2 Hour and 48 minute concert recorded in March 2003 at The Beacon Theater in New York. Although a few Allman Brothers classics like Ramblin Man, Jessica, In Memory of Elizabeth Reed, and Revival are not here they are included on other video releases and what is included here is excellent and worthy of 5 stars. The 5.1 sound and video quality are excellent and the band is as tight as they have ever been. This version of the Allman Brothers Band (Founding members Gregg Allman, Jaimoe, and Butch Trucks, along with longtime band members Warren Haynes, Marc Quinones, and Oteil Burbridge, and more recent addition Derek Trucks doing a good job filling Dickie Betts' shoes) seem to be really enjoying themselves on stage and it comes through in the quality of the music.
Besides the concert, the double DVD release also includes approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes of interviews and behind the scenes footage. There is a also a very good dressing room performance of Old Friend by Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks along with a photo gallery and discography.
Here is the Track Listing:
1. Ain't Wastin' Time No More
2. Black Hearted Woman
3. Statesboro Blues
4. Woman Across The River
5. A Change Is Gonna Come
6. Maydell
7. Come & Go Blues
8. Rockin' Horse
9. Desdemona
10. Don't Keep Me Wondering
11. Midnight Rider
12. Soulshine
13. High Cost Of Low Living
14. Leave My Blues At Home
15. Old Before My Time
16. The Same Thing
17. Melissa
18. Instrumental Illness
19. Worried Down With The Blues
20. Dreams
21. Whippin' Post
22. One Way Out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If "Live At The Fillmore" is one of your favorite albums, October 23, 2003
By 
Richard Smith "student and servant" (Knoxville, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
Then you've got to buy this DVD. I grew up listening to the Fillmore album for years, and actually owned it initially in 8 track format (that shows my age). I've followed the Allman Brothers through the years and I've never felt that they returned to the magic they had after Duane tragically died. However after watching the DVD I have no doubt that the magic is back.
I always cringe when people refer the Brothers as a "jam band" because most of the modern so called "jam bands" seem to mindlessly riff and wear out the same pentatonic scale in different keys. Duane Allman was a genius and I never thought I would hear a player that could match him in this format. With this lineup the band has returned to form with a skill and mastery of the blues that is phenominal.
From the start it's clear that Derek Trucks and Warren Haynes are a spectacular pair of guitar players. Trucks seems to prefer slide and plays with a reckless abandon that stunned me. Haynes is a more traditional lead player but has an absolute mastery of the techniques and skills necessay to be a great player. The band weaves in and out of songs from their early albums in the 70's to material from their most recent CD "Hittin The Note". Quite frankly I think this band is even better than the original lineup.
I would say I was slightly disappointed with the video, but I enjoyed the audio mix, especially the way they brought Greg's keyboard into the sound.
These guys can play, and for an old fan like me this was an absolutely wonderful experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Allman Brothers Band " Live at the Beacon Theatre", September 19, 2008
This is modern day Allman Brothers Band performing at their very best. The entire concert is outstanding, the filming, the sound, the "vibe" the atmosphere, etc. are all great. The set list consists of 21 songs plus an encore performance. This is excellenct "Jam Band","improvication" "blues, rock and roll" at its very best. The entire concert including the encore and bonus material is on two disc. It consists of over 3 hours of music!

It was filmed at the Beacon Theatre on Broadway in New York City, before a packed crowd. It was filmed March 25,and 26, 2003. This Allman Brothers Band line-up is outstanding, it consists of: Gregg Allman on Hammond B3 organ,piano and lead vocals; Jaimoe on drums; Butch Trucks on drums; Warren Haynes on Lead and slide guitar, and lead and backup vocals; Marc Quinones on congas,Percussion and background vocals; Oteil Burbridge on bass; and Derek Trucks on lead and slide guitar.

The background video big screen contains some psychodelic artistry, including mushrooms (the Allman's "mascot"), and it contains southern cypress bayou sceens, and just general psychodelic sceens. It flows with the music and adds to the "vibe" and atmosphere.

The entire concert is great, but some highlights I liked included: "Statesboro Blues" which consists of excellent slide guitar work; "Rocking Horse" this sung by Warren Haynes; "Desdemona" refers to a sleepy southern town; "Midnight Rider" this is a classic; "Soulshine" this is sung by Warren Haynes; "High Cost of Low Living" this is real "Gem" and contains great guitar work; "Melissa" this is another classic; "instrumental illness" this is great "jam" "improvicational" band music; "Worried Down with the Blues" sung by Warren Haynes; "Dreams" this is another classic; "Whipping Post" this is an exceptional classic well performed; and for the encore there is "One Way Out" another classic.

The Bonus material consists of a bonus track of "Old Friend" (dressing room rehersal, my bonus track worked perfect) extensive interviews of band members and behind the scenes footage, and a photo gallery.

This is an outstanding 5 star classic concert dvd well worth having. I highly recommend it.

P.S. Based on a comment I received, I failed to mention the sound quality. On my DVD, of this great concert, the sound quality is listed as: Audio Options: 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround, Dolby Digital Stereo, & 5.1 DTS Surround. This information about the sound quality is also mentioned in the Amazon Product Descprition. I hope this makes this review more helpful. Thanks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Being There, September 28, 2003
By 
Craig Pinson (Scottsdale, Az.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
Having recently seen ABB at the Dodge Theatre in Phoenix I can attest to the fact that this is as close to an actual show you can find without being there. As for the setlist, it is indicative of the sets they have played on their entire tour. The mixture of their older songs, along with the newest additions prove that the Brothers are as vital and strong as ever. If you need proof of who is the greatest white blues singer ever, just listen to Gregg singing Old Before My Time or High Cost of Low Living. The interplay by the two guitarists show where the energy and inspiration the band has found has come from. From the young in years but mature in talent slide playing of Derek Trucks, to the incredible song writing and playing of Warren Haynes shows why he was the person that the band brought in to replace Dickie Betts. But all of this, along with Gregg's soulful keyboards, is anchored by two drummers and a percussionist who lay down a thunderous wall of sound you could walk on. With their latest CD providing a fertile field of new ABB classics, plus the classic ABB songs on this DVD you can immerse yourself in an incredible musical experience. So if couldn't make any shows on this tour this DVD will give you a sample of the beauty and power of the Brothers live, and if did see them you can relive the experience. This one rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best concert DVDs ever recorded, March 23, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD is a must have if you have even a remote interest in concert DVDs or the Allman Brothers. It's out of print so scoop it up if you see it, you won't be disappointed. The lineup is obviously not the original but fret not, Derek Trucks and Warren Haynes trading licks is AS GOOD as it gets. A very small negative detail is that the footage is not all taken from the same show but the DVD is edited so well that it flows incredibly. If it wasn't for Warren Haynes wearing a different bowling shirt on some different tracks I would not have been able to tell. Buy it. Watch it. Repeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dickey was great but..., March 13, 2004
By 
Dennis Hancq (East Moline, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
After reading some of the negative reviews about this DVD,
it only shows me how shallow those people are. The band was about to go defunct. It was either Dickey goes or the band breaks up.
A do or die situtation if you will. Now as fate has it, the band has taken another turn in the pages of history and has become full again. The current lineup is as good as it gets, period.
Everyone is having a good time and enjoying playing again.
Dickey was just dragging them into the ground. His attitude was making it tasking to play. It just wasn't fun anymore.
With that said, This DVD is simply amazing. The audio and video quality is superb. Three full hours of brilliant music and a most interesting candid interview with the band. This makes this package a must for old and new ABB fans alike. I own countless concert DVD's and this is the one I always go back to and watch over and over again. Don't hesitate to buy this truly classic DVD. You'll be mighty glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved them before, try this out, February 28, 2004
By 
Phil Cummings (Memphis, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
The reviews I've read have mostly been dead on, this DVD rocks. Whether you saw them in the late '60's (lucky you) or just started listening, you MUST see this DVD. I've seen this band countless times since 1990, and this is their best lineup. I hate Dickey isn't there anymore, but those things have passed. One thing you can say, they don't sound like an old band hanging on to the old days. Derek Trucks is probably as good as or even better than Duane (and I've been in fist fights over Duane's abilities vs. other guitarists), Warren Haynes should be cloned and put in about 10 other "jam" bands. The rest of the band is as solid as it gets: Oteil, Jaimoe, Butch & Mr. Quinones and of course, one of the greatest singers in rock 'n roll - Gregg Allman. He sounds clean, refreshed and even looks like he is really enjoying himself for the first time in a while.
If the Allman Brothers band on this DVD changed their name and put out some new albums and toured under that new name, they would be a top 10-20 attraction, but they have the stigma of an old band it hurts them now, too many people think of "Ramblin' Man". Their sound is out of sight now, very jazzy and bluesy on each song's requirements, with a sound that is so crisp and clear, it is just pure dynamite.
I recently took 5 friends to their first show, though they have seen WSP, DMB and others, very established and talented bands, etc 100's of times, they were flat blown away. Their quotes were "you know exactly what is going on because they are so clear and precise", "why aren't there more people here to witness this?".
I've heard every song on here several times (especially the old ones) and this lineup gives an energy that puts this band in a category all alone. PLEASE buy this and PLEASE go see them next time they're in your neck of the woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it for the guitar work - especially warren haynes, February 8, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
i own only two albums of the allman bros - eat a peach and live at filmore. so i cannot say that i knew too many songs from this set.

but the guitar work on this dvd is something else. especially warren haynes who alternates between his gibson les paul and gibson es-335 - he plays such inspired solos. very bluesy.

derek trucks who pretty much sticks to his gibson sg 61 reissue, is highly talented, plays a wicked slide and clearly inspired more by jazz than the blues - but imo is a step below haynes.

but their chemistry and jams/duels doesn't in anyway shame the original famed twin guitar attack of duane allman and dicky betts.

loved this show!

but the audio quality of my dvd is poor. wonder if it is a lone manufacturing flaw as others dont seem to suffer from the same problem.

if you like the allmans, the blues or the electric guitar, get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blues for everyone, April 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great performance including Derek Trucks- the sound in 5.1 Dolby is awesome and picture quality is great. Any interested in the blues and may only know the Allman Brothers from Ramblin'Man will take away a new appreciation of this long established band. Warren Haynes has never been better and Derek Trucks,( the nephew of Butch Trucks the drummer) is a force to contend with. His slide work is smooth and a great tribute to Dwayne Allman. He is one of the best slide guitarist of his generation. I recommended this Dvd to everyone interested in the blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND PERFECTION !, May 24, 2006
By 
ol' nuff n' den sum (the Virginia coast, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre (DVD)
It doesn't get any better than this for a long time ABB fan like myself (since 1970). Sure, I was one of those "purists" who gave up on the band when they fired original member Dickey Betts, but not after viewing "The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theater". This is the most cohesive lineup they've had since their leader and architect of their original sound, Duane Allman, was tragically killed in a motorcycle accident in 1971. What stands out here is the good natured, sober professionalism displayed by ALL of the members of the band. They smile at each other when one of the band reaches the heights of a particularly well done solo. Gregg Allman asks the audience, "How we doing, huh?" and they answer with a loud, positive roar. The new songs sound great and the fire still burns hot on older numbers like "Don't Keep Me Wondering" and "Black Hearted Woman". The sound and picture quality are excellent, and I have never seen a concert film so well produced. Great care is taken to show the right musician at the right time. A good time is had by all. Don't forget to check out the companion CD "The Allman Brothers Band - One Way Out". Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre
The Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Beacon Theatre by Allman Brothers Band (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: $8.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.