Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Aluminum Hatch Hardcover – May, 1998


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$137.66 $8.11
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"

"Last One Home" by Debbie Macomber
A wonderful novel of perseverance, and an exciting journey through life’s challenges. This is Debbie Macomber at the height of her talents. See more
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 207 pages
  • Publisher: Write Way Pub; No Edition Stated edition (May 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1885173482
  • ISBN-13: 978-1885173485
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 5.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,701,100 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

During a stakeout on upper Michigan's Borchard River, conservation officer Mercy Virdon witnesses a canoe livery owner's decapitation by a wire strung across the water. Mercy and her boyfriend Fitzgerald, an avid angler and Thoreau devotee, believe the prime suspect, a rival lodge owner, is being framed and start investigating. Drawing its title from a term used to describe the phenomenon of quiet country rivers being swarmed over by weekend canoers, the novel offers a strong mystery, realistic dialogue, well-timed wit, vivid descriptions of outdoor life, and best of all, two beguiling stars in Mercy and Fitzgerald. Even villains and the sheriff are believable and intelligent. This agile mystery will appeal to readers who like Gregory Bean, Bill Tapply, or Dana Stabenow; to anglers, canoeists, and Thoreau fans; and to anyone who likes Calvin Trillin's affectionate views of small towns. John Rowen

From Kirkus Reviews

Ossning, a little town on the Borchard River in the upper half of Michigan's lower peninsula, is a quiet enough place except for the usual petty irregularities among neighbors: the rivalry between Link Pickett's canoe livery and Verlyn Kelso's Kabin Kamp; the sharp-eyed regard Verlyn's ex-wife Mercy Virdon, of the Department of Natural Resources, pays to Verlyn's wife Jan; the natural anxiety of Link's wife Laurel and her lover, Calvin McCann; the constant complaints of local residents about the way Link inundates the Borchard with rented canoes and clears the way for them by cutting whatever wood he finds floating in the river. Then Link himself gets cut, by a well-placed wire that nearly takes his head off as Mercy and her boss are lying in wait for him to come canoeing past them on a chargeably naughty errandand suddenly all those little irregularities start to look a lot less petty. When Verlyn and Mercy's son Kit announces that he saw somebody carrying something along the bank just before Link's last ride, Mercy's live-in, exDetroit Free Press reporter Donal Fitzgerald, hustles him out of town to the safety of the big city. But Kit, bored and restless in Detroit, hitchhikes back to Ossning just in time to walk into trouble. The offbeat scenery is the star in this otherwise modest whodunit by Weber (Troubleshooter, 1988, etc.). -- Copyright ©1998, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By N. Smith on January 20, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a good story and set in Michigan, a great state with so much to offer. It's well written and the plot progresses in such a way, you are caught up before you know it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Sherman Shultz on February 12, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The story takes place around Grayling Michigan and features the famous Au Sable River. Being very familiar with the setting made this good read even better.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?