Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$16.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

You hear it once - okay. You hear it twice - you listen; you hear and read it many, many times from the mouths of not only right-leaners, but from his old Chicago buddies, Rev. Wright, members of his own team, members of Congress on both sides of the aisle - how many times do we have to hear and read it enunciated before we believe it?? The president gives a good speech and is a master campaigner - but he does not know how to really connect with the people and convince them that he honestly cares about all of us and how his programs impact our lives. We've got a president who cannot "own" his mistakes (of which there are many) - and his view of how our country should work is way off the path of our guiding principles of individual freedom and personal responsibility. I very much fear how big a hole this man can dig for our country if he has four more years to work on it.

The 200 plus folks who were interviewed by Klein for this book used the same phrases over and over: Haughty, arrogant, aloof, personally disconnected, only interested in listening to his own voice, only interested in hearing from those who agree with him, etc. He doesn't know how to lead, he doesn't know how to manage - he's had no experience running a large company and employees, etc. The sheer volume of consistent observations should give cause for concern.

One thing was very upsetting - his aversion to using the phone to call people - just to chat, for advice, to console, to assure, etc., etc. All the past presidents have called each other - reached out for counsel and advice - or just called to acknowledge that being president is one tough job. Not Obama - he doesn't need anybody's help - so he blunders his way through, very rarely admitting that he botched something. And, what kind of a friend asks for help when he's trying to climb the ladder, and then doesn't take the time to thank those who made his success possible?

I know this book is being dismissed as "cyber-babble" - but I think that everyone who is mature enough to believe that there are two sides to every story should read this book. Don't be content to just "drink the koolade" of one side or the other. This election coming up is too important to just join one camp because you've always voted one way or the other. This book will add information you need to make an educated decision about what is important to you and your family - and who is the man who most clearly represents your views.

This is a quick read -it moves right along and makes you think!
2929 comments176 of 201 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
Bravo Mr Klein,

The title of the book, and former President Clinton's comment, say it all.

Judging from the shallow comments of those who have rated the book with one star, it is clear that they: 1) have not read the book, and 2) are extreme left wing birthers, e.g. those who believe Obama, the anointed one, was born in a manger in Bethlehem.

Thank you for your courage in writing this valuable book, and for the great service you have done the country. It is truly shameful that the majority of your colleagues in the media can no longer be counted on to perform the 4th estate's previous function of vetting those who would aspire to be our leaders. This
derelection of duty on their part is unprecedented in US history.
1919 comments217 of 249 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
I read this book after reading The Roots of Obama,s Rage and listening to the audio of Dreams of my Father. All of them convey an image of the anointed one not too pleasant. Well researched and pleasant to read, it brings to mind what somebody said after he was given the Nobel Prize: "It is not surprising he was given the Nobel based on no credentials to his name, because the American people has given him the presidency based on the same credentials.". Like in the Wizard of Oz, the curtain is slowly opening to show a Complete fabrication, crafted with grandiose speeches and Greek columns.
If you voted Obama to show you are not a racist, vote against him to prove you are sane." "Why Obama now has a battle on his hands for the 2012 election"
This, from THE TELEGRAPH-LONDON.
Because an incompetent narcissist, not to mention a socialist. Because he has squandered the goodwill the the American people invested in him when they elected him. Because he was nakedly partisan when he promised to be otherwise. Because he rammed Obamacare down the throats of the people without a single Republican vote. Because he has presided over the shrinking of the number and percentage of Americans employed while touting lowering the unemployment rate through manipulating the numbers. Because he has vowed to drive up energy costs and done so in order to cater to the Watermelon ( Green on the outside, Red on the inside) faction of the Democrat party. Because his "stimulus" plan was a corrupt deal to reward supporters with hundreds of billions, the same as his green energy boondoogles.

In 2008 he was an empty vessel that voters poured their hopes and dreams into. Now more and more see that he is an incompetent narcissicist. It is just a matter if enough see that to overcome the large number of leftists, statists and useful idiots that will vote for him regardless of his incompetence.
3535 comments140 of 160 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
The Amateur is a book that fills a void, a vacuum created by the media. The media has done such a bad job of vetting Obama, of researching his background, his relationships and his failures that The Amateur has a significance that is disproportionate to its actual content. In reading this book I realized just how little I knew about the president and the people he surrounds himself with. Why? because the press and TV news glorifies any success no matter how minor, repeats any boast no matter how false and hides any and all mistakes and flaws. The fact that this book has not been discussed on any news show I have watched with the exception of Fox is an indication of the presses bias. The book about Sarah Palin was treated like a great lost Harry Potter book but there is hardly a mention of The Amateur.
The book is a page turner, a fascinating read that was not written by some hack but by an author who was a NY Times editor for apx 10 years. As I read the book I felt like I was made privy to some of the underlying stories behind the news of the past few years. Read this before the next election, it may change the way you vote, it certainly will help you understand the news of the day.
44 comments71 of 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2012
If, like me, you've never been a fan of Obama and have always had the feeling he was not at all what he is presented to be, this book will certainly serve to confirm that opinion. If you are an Obama acolyte...you are likely to distrust it very much. However.....if merely 1/8 of what is presented her is actually factual then we are in even more trouble than I ever imagined.
11 comment141 of 161 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
An excellent read - not at all what I expected after reading the fluffier excerpts regarding Michelle's feud with Oprah, etc. A book of substance and many points of view, ultimately providing much greater clarity about the issues with Obama's effectiveness, (or lack thereof).

Forget the Birthers, the belief that Obama is a secret Muslim etc. The real issue is he simply doesn't have the temperment or experience to perform effectively as President, as you will see over and over in this book, from supporters and detractors alike. A very eye opening book, about issues that really matter. A must read!
0Comment143 of 164 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2012
I finished this book the day that I recieved it from Amazon. Amateur is very informative, and reeks of a professional journalist's technique. I recommend Amateur as either; solid confirmation of what you already suspect, or as a place to begin your understanding of the man in the White House. Having read Mr. Obama's two books, and carefully watched the president since he took office, I must congratulate Mr. Klein for providing insight to the character of our President, First Lady, and other key administration actors. This book gets weak in a couple places-not because the information is untrustworthy, but because the course of Klein's narrative occassionally becomes tangential to the subject. These brief (yet still informative) lapses are excused by the quality of Mr. Klein's writing.
0Comment69 of 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2012
This extremely well written and well sourced book presents a very clear picture of Obama as the second coming of...Jimmy Carter. It is telling that the best rebuttal Obama supporters can come up with is along the lines of "hold on, there are a lot of us still living out our liberal fantasy and you really should have talked to some of us for balanced sourcing". It comes across so credibly because most of the sources are close to the administration in some way and all of the information is completely consistent with leaks that have come out over the past few years. Although Klein is clearly not an Obama supporter this book is much more an expression of liberal frustration at deceit, incompetence and betrayal than it is a conservative takedown. That I fear is a serious flaw. Despite Obama's obvious serious shortcomings as an executive, it is really his deeply flawed progressive policies that are the problem. Liberals eat their own when they fail them. That appears to be what is happening here. It would be a true shame if when Obama goes down to defeat it is attributed to his personal failings rather than his fundamentally bad ideas.
8080 comments358 of 420 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
Just started reading this book and I must tell you I cannot put it down. Right at the beginning it opens with something I thought all along and still believe could happen (though a long shot) - Hillary Clinton challenges Obama for the nomination.

Really shows that Obama is a clown pure and simple, great talker, but when the teleprompter is working he has nothing useful to say. Liberals like to think themselves as exclusive members of the intelligentsia by virtue of listening to NPR but I have to laugh how they all got scammed so easily - just because they hated George W. Bush sooooo much they would have voted for anybody...and they got a nobody.

It will take years for America to dig itself out of the ruin this fool has caused. I used to think Jimmy Carter (another standard bearer for Liberalism gone amok) was absolutely THE WORST PRESIDENT WE HAVE EVER HAD - not anymore - Barack takes the cake on that title now.

If you were one of those doey eyed people that teared-up that night when Barack became the 1st Black President according to you lot - even though he is half-white - remember...You will not like this book stick with your NPR.
33 comments87 of 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
I just heard taped responses by several sources in this book - namely Rev Wright who, in his own words, confirmed that an Obama heavyweight Eric Whittiker emailed offered $180K to fade off into the distance during campaign...private meetings in a secure place is Obama's reqest to meet with Rev Wright to tell him "the trouble with you (Rev Wright) is that you have to tell the truth" - stunning. Obama team will try to submarine this book or even Klein. read the book before it vanishes... Michelle Obama/Valerie Jarret's cold shoulder toward the "fat" Oprah is shocking... Regardless of what you think of the author, the materal in tis book appears to be "on the record" and reveals the true character of Barrack Obama!
2424 comments118 of 136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse