Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Open World Spiderman Game? Yes.
While not perfect, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 on PS4 is a very good, freedom to choose your path and explore styled super hero game that is fun to play; imagining you're Spider Man with good controls.

Controls:
L2 WebSwing Left Hand, Wall Run when close, Boost swing hold
L1; Web Pull
R2 Opposite of L2. Tapping either R2 or L2 swings faster...
Published 3 months ago by QuickSilverSeven

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh the cutscenes and boring fighting.
Totally was looking forward to this game.
I love open world Spider-Man games: the last Amazing, Web of Spider-Man, etc...
This one though is bleah. The controls are okay, but the fighting is BORING.
Even Spider-Man says the fights are boring and the cutscenes to get to the fights ruin the immersion.

You spot some thugs hurting someone. You...
Published 3 months ago by sixthecat


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Open World Spiderman Game? Yes., April 29, 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
While not perfect, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 on PS4 is a very good, freedom to choose your path and explore styled super hero game that is fun to play; imagining you're Spider Man with good controls.

Controls:
L2 WebSwing Left Hand, Wall Run when close, Boost swing hold
L1; Web Pull
R2 Opposite of L2. Tapping either R2 or L2 swings faster.
R1: Web Rush Target mode, FPV, Tap is quick rush
Pad: Pause, Cellphone Menu hold.
Right Analog: Camera. R3: Photo mode to take pictures
Left Analog: Move where you want, L3 descend/perch like Batman from Arkham Games.
X Jump, Propel Upwards while in air.
Circle: Web Shoot, Seismic Blast (hold)
Square: Attack moves and combos/timing.
Triangle: Interact with objects, or dodge/roll.

Pros of the game include:
+Open City free to explore that nicely recreates most of Manhattan Island, NYC. Reach the tallest skyscraper and hop off any time you want as a super hero, Spider Man.
+Controls are responsive and most of the time, easy to get the hang of.
+Lots of Classic Villains to battle.
+Fun fighting gameplay similar to Arkham's multi enemy fights.
+The new Left or Right webslinging is more realistic and believable compared to ASM1.
+Cool new abilities for SpiderMan including the cool web slingshot and new fight moves like the Seismic Blast. Upgrade from the weak character you start off with to create a super Spider Man later on.
+The City's details have improved a lot, and the city feels more like NYC, having visited there myself a number of times. Even the Museum of Natural History is present this time. Very colorful game and the time of day variations are really nicely done this time.
+The great camera set up of the first game returns, making you feel more like you're in the game and playing as Spiderman thanks to the closer, over the shoulder view, which backs off a bit while webslinging.
+More comics to collect through the city, to unlock actual comics to read in Stan Lee's Comic Shop. His shop also includes collectible figurines of characters, a Spider Man arcade that lets you brush up on your fighting moves, a poster gallery, bonuses, etc. 14 comics to unlock and read in all of actual Spiderman Comics.
+Stan Lee appears in the game and does voice acting which is a nice addition considering the great history of characters and stories he has originated with Marvel way back when.
+Explore freely on foot your apartment and the comic store, among other interiors.
+Great ambient sounds of the city that captures the sense of being there.
+Time of day varies based on the missions for the first playthrough so far.
+Graphic sharpness looks great on the PS4. 1080p.
+auto save system.
+The awesome webrush move returns, allowing you to target your next place to sling to for more precise controls through the city.
+Lots to see and do in the city, and more interesting with the Hero Meter, which depends on whether you want to fight bad guys committing crimes in the city or not. If you help the city, you get more rewards. If not, some minor penalties begin.
+Great soundtrack and good voice acting most times.
+Nice animations most of the time.
+15 or so suits to unlock and wear each with unique bonuses.

Negatives that could use refinement include:
-First off, the game begins on the title screen with literally a PS3 movie playing of scenes in the city, which had me very nervous at first. Thankfully, that was only a movie and the actually PS4 game looks much better than the PS3 version shown there. But...
-This game was clearly made with the PS3 as the foundation. Textures are sometimes pixelated and polygons are often squared off at the edges. Not a big deal most of the time, but with the PS4, I was hoping they'd increase the quality as with other games, but they may have been pressed for time.
-The first Shocker boss was a bit frustrating, since the game suggest doing certain moves, but you're better off just jumping away from him instead of trying to pull off the suggested moves, which more often than not get you hurt from my first playthrough.
-Some of the fights lose sight of the enemies, resulting in cheap hits offscreen from bullets. Targeting enemies takes more getting used to this time than the first game's set up.

-+While the webslinging update is nice with more control of the left and right swing, it's also more realistic and takes a learning curve to adapt to, compared to the ease and fun of the first game's web slinging. Some may enjoy this, but I keep looking for places to attach my webs while falling, and if there isn't a building close by, find one before you lose momentum. I think I will appreciate it more after a few more days of play.
-+ When you hit a building, you don't automatically stick to it this time, so be sure to press the triangle button quickly, which can be a bit cumbersome when both fingers are on the analogs controlling SpiderMan. Not a big deal though, and offers more control, so that's good.

I was expecting PS4 textures as Ghost Games accomplished with Need For Speed Rivals compared to the PS3 version, but other than that, the game does look like a super high res and much more detailed PS3 game running on a PS4. Good, but they really could have done more with the graphical power of the PS4.

Even so, I do recommend any fan of super hero games to play The Amazing Spider Man 2 for some classic game play and open city action.

Gameplay: 9/10
Controls: 8/10. Not always easy to adapt to, but very good.
Graphics: 7/10. Nice detail but PS3 textures on PS4.
Story: 8/10. Interesting.
Action: 9/10. Lots of action.
Freedom: 9/10. Choose to explore or play missions.
Sound: 9/10. Great music and sound.
Fun: 9/10. Mostly fun.
Replay Value: 9/10. With an open city, lots to do and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh the cutscenes and boring fighting., May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
Totally was looking forward to this game.
I love open world Spider-Man games: the last Amazing, Web of Spider-Man, etc...
This one though is bleah. The controls are okay, but the fighting is BORING.
Even Spider-Man says the fights are boring and the cutscenes to get to the fights ruin the immersion.

You spot some thugs hurting someone. You arrive.
Cutscene #1
No longer where you were. You are warped to standing on the ground somewhere predetermined.
Boring pointless fight that is no threat.
Cutscene #2 Thugs tied up with webbing.
Cutscene #3 Reporter girl talks about Spidey beating up thugs.

Back to web-swinging...
Cutscene #1
No longer where you were. You are warped to standing on the ground somewhere predetermined.
Boring fight.
Cutscene #2 Thugs tied up with webbing.
Cutscene #3 Reporter girl...

Every single time and Spidey says the same things over and over. He even admits it is boring. After an hour of playing I already heard him say the same things 10 TIMES! Then there are these indoor excursions where the controls and the camera are a complete mess.

Also the swinging breaks a lot of the time. You'll swing into a building and Spider-Man will get stuck all buggy in his swing. After a couple hours, this game saddened me immensely, I got rid of it. Not the finest Spidey effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but extremely short and graphics fall short on next gen console, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
This game is fun to play, pretty similar all together to the previous spider-man games. It's biggest downfall is the length of the game which looks like it could be beat in 3-4 hours and the graphics. The graphics do not look like next generation on the PS4, which is very disappointing. This game had a lot of potential especially having its landscape be New York City, but it looks like a PS3 game. All in all a pretty fun game but I would either rent or wait for price to go down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
Bad controls, bad overall gameplay. Waste of $60. I absolutely loathe this game. I'm ashamed to call it a spiderman game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great seller, but man was this game bad, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
I should have read the reviews first . this game is a huge step back from the previous titles. this game is like a ported ps3 game where it seems like the developers didn't care. feels really rushed. I know they had to meet a deadline but they should have pushed the game back to make it good because this really hurt the franchise. this game gave me spider cancer instead of powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Spider Man game so far, but........., April 29, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
If you liked the first game, then you will love this one. The swinging in the open city takes a little bit to get used to, but IMO overall has a better system in place as opposed to the previous title. On the PS4 the visuals are great, but with this being a cross-platform title, don't expect "next-gen" graphics. "MY ONLY" complaint about this game so far (It may not bother you at all) that made me give the game a 4 star rating is the hand holding. The hand holding in this game is way to over used. It almost ruins the experience of the game entirely. I have tried and tried to find a way to turn the tutorials off, but I have not found it yet. They are useful in the first 10-15 minutes of gameplay, but after an hour, I don't need to know that I can push R3 every time I want to repel. I hope they add a patch in the game later that will allow you to disable this. The screen is too cluttered at times and takes away from the experience...especially in the stealthy missions. The voice acting is done well, but nothing to brag about and the controls are just like they are in the first game. The touch pad on the PS4 acts as a map navigator mostly and that's about it The game is a lot more cinematic than the first one was and the combat is presented very well too. The combat system has improved since the last game, but does not feel as fluid as the Batman games. Overall, I think this is a good game to add to your library of PS4 games, but for now the tutorials and the aim reticule that is constantly on the screen is disturbing and distracting. If this is patched, it will increase my rating for the game. A long time ago this would not have bothered me, but now we are in an era of basically HUDless games and I like that. If someone finds a way to turn the hand holding off, please comment. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure if it was meant to be Next Gen, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
this game has load screens. Why when harnessing the power of the Ps4 would you incorporate an almost 10 second load screen every time Spiderman does something like enter a building or start a new type of mission or dies. That aside, the graphics are not satisfying for a new system. And the mechanics of swinging from building to building are fine with me actually.

Overall tho I rate it at 3 stars since I wish for more than what they delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty fun but I was expecting even better., May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
The Amazing Spider Man 2 game greatly improves from the first one. A better manhattan, realistic swinging, each boss fight has its unique way of defeating them (unlike the 1st one which was the same thing for all), more variety in crimes and a lot more suits. The only reason I didn't give a full 5 star rating its because the graphics are not what I expected. Even though I was playing it on PS4, it felt like I was playing an early PS3 game (Like SpiderMan 3 on PS3 which came out 7 years ago) plus there were some glitches that feels as if the game was rushed out. Other than that its still a pretty fun game but I feel its not worth the $60. Maybe in a few months or a year when its down to $30 or $20 then it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Keeper!, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
Excellent Game play. A little easier than I thought. The ability to swing everywhere is awesome. Re-play after you've beat the game is ok. Overall worth keeping in the collection and not trading it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just a whole lot of boring, May 19, 2014
By 
Reznorfan (WI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - PlayStation 4 (Video Game)
I haven't been impressed with a spider man game since the old Spider Man 2 for the PS2. I thought maybe that game being a "2" and this game being a "2", it was some sort of omen...but no.

With spidey it's all about controls, and in this game they suck. When swinging, there is always a slight hesitation between when you hit the button, and when the line comes out...extremely frustrating. During fights, you're spamming the attack button and the dodge button...that's it.

Graphics are less than inspiring, voice acting is almost dreadful, things just aren't as they should be. I'd rather play the ps2 spider man2 than this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.