Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!!
You don't have to be a nurse to enjoy reading this book. Anyone who knows a nurse, has been cared for by a nurse, or is a nurse will love these nurses telling their stories of why they do what they do. I laughed and cried and wanted to read more. I am a nurse and have read many books and seen many tv shows and movies portraying nurses in many ways. This book finally...
Published 21 months ago by Michelle08

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting book but not as exciting as i thought it would be
the stories weren't as interesting as i thought they would be. I think that narratives could have been a little more intimate/personal.
Published 8 months ago by Nena Castro


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!!, October 31, 2012
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
You don't have to be a nurse to enjoy reading this book. Anyone who knows a nurse, has been cared for by a nurse, or is a nurse will love these nurses telling their stories of why they do what they do. I laughed and cried and wanted to read more. I am a nurse and have read many books and seen many tv shows and movies portraying nurses in many ways. This book finally captures the nurse as who they are and what they do everyday. It's just an uplifting and validating read. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Book!!!, November 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
The American Nurse is a special portrayal of the Nursing profession in America. The photographs and stories give a unique perspective of the varying roles of Nurses across the country. Their stories are heart warming and the photographs are beautiful. The book is a great gift whether you are a nurse or not. It's a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical, November 6, 2012
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
This book will leap from the coffee table into your heart! Compelling and poetic, the stories within captivate and transport you to the communities these nurses support. Jones' artful Hasselblad portraits add amazing depth to the narrative, in a way digital photography cannot begin to capture. All in all, an inspiring addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appreciate our Nurses, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
I saw an article about this book in USA Today and ordered it for my wife for Christmas. It is a wonderful commemorative because it honors my wife's career and her profession. She is now retired. During her nursing career, she was a Navy Nurse, a teacher of nursing at a university, a psychiatric nurse, a head nurse on an orthopedic ward and on a post-partum OBGYN ward. She was a float nurse, taking calls for nursing care anywhere in a large metropolitan area. She ran a pain control program. She was a hospice nurse, and ran a hospice program. She worked all shifts. She cared for the rich and famous as well as the poor and forgotten. If you think she flitted around, she did, because she followed me all over the world as I pursued a military career. Her nursing was rich in loving care, human experience, and sacrifice. Except for the details, you can read about her career and her experiences in 'The American Nurse'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
Fantastic book..... If you are a nurse, nursing student... Or know someone who is... This book is amazing.. Awe inspiring.. And will bring a tear to your eye. It's a must have for all nurses, or those aspiring to join the ranks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American Nurse rocks., January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
Wife/mother of our 8 children was and is this kind person/nurse. May there be more honors like this and attention to the 'trenches' to balance entrenched, entitled patriarchy in health care and other organizations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lifestyle Choice I Value, January 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
The perfect gift for my daughter who at age 53 just graduated with an Associate Degree in Nursing. She found this a comprehensive look at the world she has been part of for the last two years and a wider look at those who provide health care in many places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Compassion & Caring of the Nursing Profession Reflected Here, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
Every story and image in this wonderful book highlights the contributions professional nurses make every day. It renews the pride and is at the same time humbling to be in a profession that partners and cares for those entrusted to us. Thank-you for this heartfelt and deeply moving tribute to such an honorable group of healthcare professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!!, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
It was so great to see so many nurses practicing in so many areas!!!! I was especially impressed because the editors took time to talk to a school nurse and usually we are not even considered as a part of nursing. Thanks again for including my specialty!!!! Jane Ann Sykes,RN Dewey International School Nurse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for a nurse!, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The American Nurse (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas gift for a good friend. We are both nurses-I'm retired now, she is teaching. It's wonderful to see that although a nurses roles have changed and expanded over the years, the vocation and dedication remains the same. Although large (and heavy) this is no ordinary cocktail table book. I must admit I read it cover to cover before sending it off! A must read for every nurse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The American Nurse
The American Nurse by Carolyn Jones (Hardcover - October 30, 2012)
$60.00 $41.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.