Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book at a fabulous price
This book contains the essential antiquities of ancient learning that fostered the development of the philosophies in the west in a clear, easy to read format.
I was amply impressed by the organization and translation, and doubly impressed by the fantastic price. I would highly recommend for anyone just curious about philosophy, or for anyone doing scholarly...
Published on July 18, 2000 by sabrina777

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No fault with the original text, just the translation.
In contrast with some of the free translations found online, this book's translation was somewhat odd. Certain Chinese words cannot be translated into English, or have different meanings depending on how you read it. Thus certain sentences could be translated differently. The free online translations acknowledged this problem and provided explanations to why such a word...
Published on July 3, 2006 by Abdulmajed Dakkak


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book at a fabulous price, July 18, 2000
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This book contains the essential antiquities of ancient learning that fostered the development of the philosophies in the west in a clear, easy to read format.
I was amply impressed by the organization and translation, and doubly impressed by the fantastic price. I would highly recommend for anyone just curious about philosophy, or for anyone doing scholarly research on this subject. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good overview of Confucius thoughts and philosophy., July 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
One of the most famous philosophers in history is Confucius. This text covers various quotes and conversations with Confucius and his 36 disciples. Since many of the sayings are spoken in mystical parables and some of the thoughts might be lost in translation, it is not always clear what the message may be in many of these conversations. Nevertheless, this is an important text for anyone who is interested in the many wise sayings of Confucius. This book is broken down into what it calls ten volumes.

Volume one covers fundamental principles and government. The second volume discusses manners, morals and virtue. The third volume deals with certain disciples and other subjects. The master himself is covered in volume four. The sage in his daily life is discussed in volume five. The disciples, virtue, nobility and politics is explained in volume six. The government and certain rulers are covered in volume seven. Volume eight explains the maintenance of principles and character. The final two volumes cover recording unsuitable calls and ancient worthies, recorded saying of some disciplines and concerning the right government.

In summary, this text would be of interest to anyone seeking knowledge about the sayings and philosophy of Confucius.

Rating: 4 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Haiku Moments: How to read, write and enjoy Haiku)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
i was inspired by a college class to get this for further reading, and i enjoyed this edition very much. it had an excellent translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No fault with the original text, just the translation., July 3, 2006
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
In contrast with some of the free translations found online, this book's translation was somewhat odd. Certain Chinese words cannot be translated into English, or have different meanings depending on how you read it. Thus certain sentences could be translated differently. The free online translations acknowledged this problem and provided explanations to why such a word or a sentence was translated; this is missing in this book. As an example, the book uses the phrase "the nobler type of a man", while other translations refer to the concept of "nobler" as the "Tao". The other translations provide justifications for the translation, while this book does not.

I would have also loved a discussion of the text and how they would be interpreted in different situations.

The book lacks a proper introduction. First there is no detailed explanation on who Confucius was, what he became, and what contributed to the writing of the Analects. Similarly, there is no explanation on China, and how Confucius's work contributes in today's Chinese society. The book even fails to explain what credentials the translator has, and what sets this book apart from the thousand other translations of the Analects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some are good some are not, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found most translations are correct but the following one seems very strange to me. When I read it I doubt I was reading French!
Now let's look this: (Chapter XII, Volume I)

The philosopher Yu said, "In the usage of decorum it is naturalness that is of value. In the regulations of the ancient kings this was the admirable figure, both great and small deriving therefrom. 2. But there is a naturalness that is not permissible; for to know to be natural, and yet to be so beyond the restrains of decorum is also not permissible."

From other resource I found this same chapter so translated:

The philosopher You said, "In carrying out the rules of propriety (19), harmony is a most valued pursuit. It is nice that the ancient sage kings governed in this way. But applying harmony to anything, trivial or great, is sometimes inapplicable. Harmony for harmony's sake without the regulating of the rules of propriety will not do (20)."

Notes:
19. "The rules of propriety" were a set of rules and regulations to guide members of the upper class in conducting themselves or associating with each other courteously, appropriately and, above all, in accordance with each one's social status.
20. The ancient kings had already attached great importance to family and social harmony, and managed to rule their dominions harmoniously. Philosopher You highly appreciated them for pursuing harmony in their ruling, and at the same time pointed out that harmony should not be overused or misused. For instance, it would be wrong for a father to allow his son to be rude to him simply for the sake of harmony. The rules of propriety required the father to be kind to the son and the son to be respectful and obedient to the father. The father and son could only seek to establish harmonious relationship under the guidance of the rules of propriety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Small and cheap, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The book arrived in perfect condition and is exactly what I thought I was buying. Just ensure you want this particular version of this famous piece and you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
short yet precise. very informative and helpful. had to read the whole thing though to answer the prompt for my essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars College, September 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
My nephew has gone off to college this year and some of his books were so expensive we were lucky to find some of them here on Amazon and at a way better price than a retailer Very pleased with the books we were able to find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain Boring, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I only bought this because it was required reading in a class, and it was painfully boring to read. I'm sure there's someone who would like it, but I don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The brilliance of humility., November 23, 2000
This review is from: The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
If, when you think of "eastern philosophy," yourheart goes pitter-patter for esoteric revelations from AscendedMasters, stories of Jesus practicing magic in Tibet as a youngster, oreven the mind-expanding wit of Zhuang Zi, you may find Confuciusboringly prosaic. His wisdom lies in a different direction, and ismore subtle. The Analects is like a bowl of Chinese dumplings, or attheir most flavorful dim sum, that you pick out one at a time andlearn the taste and value of. Few of his sayings are brilliant, butrather the kind of mundane and kindly profundity that the war-wearyChina of the late Zhou found so filling. In modern China, too, I havefound that Confucius is very popular, probably more popular than thewitty Lao Zi.
Confucius said his teachings were connected by asingle thread. While a disciple gave a slightly different solution,the thread I suggest you follow through this otherwise ratherdisjointed collection of teachings and observations is humility. Bythat I don't mean self-abnegation or loss of individuality in thecollective, but an ability to see clearly in all directions -- above,towards superiors (ultimately God), below, compassion for the needy,within, ("To know what you know, and know what you don't know,this is knowledge") and without, to take an interest in the worldaround you. (Confucius became China's "first teacher"because he himself was "eager to learn.") To me, this kindof integrated humility is the starting point for any worthwhilephilosophy of life.
The Analects can also be of value to peopleinterested in the critical study of the New Testament, by the way.This book greatly resembles the Gospels in terms of genre. Bothconsist of sayings and actions of a teacher who traveled with a bandof disciples, as recorded by the early community of followers. Fewscholars doubt the historical character of the Analects, whilecontroversy about the Gospels makes headlines on a regular basis. Itis interesting to me that the same internal arguments scholars likeCreel and Lau use to prove the Analects, apply even more strongly tothe Gospels. If you do read the two sets of documents together, youmight try the further experiment of comparing Confucius' ideal person,sage or "Savior" as Confucian scholar Chen Jingpan describeshim, to the central character of the Gospels. Remember that Menciussaid a sage would appear once every 500 years, and Confucius lived in500 B.C. As a Christian I respect Confucius not only as a great moralteacher, but also sometimes think he might have been a kind ofprophet.
Five stars for Confucius; one lost in translation.Soothill seems accurate, as far as I can tell, and the price is right,but his language is a bit archaic at times. Also, be sure to get aversion with notes.
Author, True Son of Heaven: How Jesus Fulfillsthe Chinese Culture ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Analects (Dover Thrift Editions) by Confucius (Paperback - April 12, 1995)
$3.50 $3.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.