Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for the Equine Student
I found that the book was very well written and was jamed packed with need to know information. It provided me with the information that I need in my Equine Science class. It had alot of stuff that the text book did not have. I would recommend this book to student that is taking an Equine related class.
Published on June 25, 2000

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought
This is an interesting book and the drawings are lovely. However, you don't know what you are looking at since the explanation plates are way way too tiny to read. You'd have to take the pages and blow them up to read what is drawn. Instead of 4 plates to a page how about each plate to a page. Don't buy if you are trying learn about the horse because you can't read the...
Published on February 3, 2007 by paint horse lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for the Equine Student, June 25, 2000
By A Customer
I found that the book was very well written and was jamed packed with need to know information. It provided me with the information that I need in my Equine Science class. It had alot of stuff that the text book did not have. I would recommend this book to student that is taking an Equine related class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought, February 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Anatomy of the Horse (Paperback)
This is an interesting book and the drawings are lovely. However, you don't know what you are looking at since the explanation plates are way way too tiny to read. You'd have to take the pages and blow them up to read what is drawn. Instead of 4 plates to a page how about each plate to a page. Don't buy if you are trying learn about the horse because you can't read the tiny tiny print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great horse artists, January 23, 2007
By 
Gayle P. Nastasi "gayze" (Middleburgh, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anatomy of the Horse (Paperback)
George Stubbs is considered one of the all time great sports artists. Although he focused predominantly on horses, study of his work reveals that his talents were diverse and impressive. It was fairly unique in his time to do detailed anatomical studies, and George Stubbs was somewhat of a pioneer in that field. He even rigged up a special apparatus to hold the horse carcass in life-like poses as he dissected and sketched. I have an older edition of this book, and it's so used and loved that the pages are falling out!

I've been a student and follower of George Stubbs since childhood ... partly because I've always been a "horse-crazy kid", and partly because I'm actually a descendant of the artist. I had the honor of viewing a marvelous display of his original works at Yale University's art museum many years ago. Seeing the artwork in person made me appreciate his talents even more.

By purchasing and studying this book, you are not only reviewing a very accurate rendering of the anatomy of the horse, you are holding a significant piece of both art and biological history in your hands.

Don't hesitate if you're considering a purchase. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not pleased, July 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of the Horse (Paperback)
Besides the introduction, the book is primarily detailed pictures with no labels or information on the horse anatomy. There are tiny numbers within the pictures that correspnd to information in the back of the book (very very small print), so to get any info you have to flip back and forth all the time. I was very unpleased with the overall layout and contents of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Candy, December 22, 2009
Stunning artwork and HIGHLY detailed. This book is a must have for anyone who takes a serious interest in equine anatomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horse, December 25, 2007
This review is from: The Anatomy of the Horse (Paperback)
this is a good book except that the written explanations on the back pages have wrtiting so small I can't read it at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must!, February 7, 2012
People need to remember that this book was originally published in 1766. Maybe it's not the easiest layout or what we are used to today but the story of how these drawings came to being is far more interesting that being inconvenienced by small type. Stubbs dissected these horses in a farmhouse in 1758 and hand drew each of these plates from that ordeal. Thanks to him, I don't have to do the same to get the information I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not pleased at all with this purchase, January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of the Horse (Paperback)
This book is basically poorly copied, difficult to view images and then a pile of text at the back that is even harder to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anatomy of the Horse - for Advanced Art Students, May 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of the Horse (Paperback)
I would definitely recommend this book to any art student or Equine enthusiast wanting to know more than just the outside beauty of the horse.

While George Stubbs is known for his famous paintings of horses, most remarkably the Brood Mares and Foals which recently sold at Sothebys for a record $15.9 million dollars, this book enlightens the reader on the inner workings of the horse.

For those of you that wonder, "what makes them tick", wonder no more. George Stubbs dissects the horse in stages from the muscular to the skeletal.

If you a lover of the man's works then this is a must have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic for horse anatomy, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very detailed anatomy of all bones, and muscles. Artist was extremely precise, methodical. Descriptions are on separate pages because that amount of text on the picture plates would obscure the drawings. The only improvement I would make is to put the corresponding text keys pages opposite the matching picture. Overall... Awesome reference. This is my second copy. The first is on "permanent loan".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Anatomy of the Horse
The Anatomy of the Horse by George Stubbs (Paperback - July 1, 2005)
$19.95 $15.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.