Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


140 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You people are living in another world"---Mr. Tucker
Looking at the episodes in season three, I was astounded at how many of my all-time TAGS favorites are from this season (Convicts-at-Large, Man in a Hurry, The Mayberry Band, The Cow Thief, Aunt Bee's Medicine Man, Barney's First Car, A Wife for Andy, and Barney and the Governor). Man in a Hurry is consistently voted as the best TAGS episode by fans. This season also...
Published on July 18, 2005 by mwreview

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed some episodes are edited!
I'm very displeased that Paramount chose to edit some of the episodes on the Season 3 set. The box should read - "The Incomplete Third Season".

My jaw hit the floor when I realized that some episodes were incomplete. I had to pull out a VHS copy recorded from TVLand of "Barney Mends A Broken Heart" to confirm that they axed the entire epilogue. Sad...
Published on September 17, 2005 by roamer101


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

140 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You people are living in another world"---Mr. Tucker, July 18, 2005
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Looking at the episodes in season three, I was astounded at how many of my all-time TAGS favorites are from this season (Convicts-at-Large, Man in a Hurry, The Mayberry Band, The Cow Thief, Aunt Bee's Medicine Man, Barney's First Car, A Wife for Andy, and Barney and the Governor). Man in a Hurry is consistently voted as the best TAGS episode by fans. This season also introduced audiences to: Helen Crump, Mayor Roy Stoner, the Darlings, Ernest T. Bass, Malcolm Merrieweather, and the Fun Girls. Here's all you get:

Opie's Rival: Opie is jealous of his father's courtship with a local nurse.

Andy and Opie-Bachelors: While Aunt Bee is away, Andy and Opie are looked after by Andy's girlfriend.

Mr. McBeevee: Andy is convinced that Opie's new friend is only imaginary. I never cared for this episode but it is usually ranked highly with TAGS fans. It shows Andy's faith in his son in that he believed him without the proof of seeing the man who lives in the trees and wears a shiny hat.

Andy's Rich Girlfriend: Barney gets Andy thinking that his rich girlfriend is out of his league.

Barney Mends a Broken Heart: After Andy has a fight with Peggy, Barney arranges a date for Andy and himself with the 'fun girls' from Mt. Pilot.

Andy and the New Mayor: Andy is being closely watched by Mayberry's new mayor Roy Stoner.

The Cow Thief: The mayor doesn't have faith in Andy and Barney to catch a cattle rustler. One of my favorite episodes. One of my favorite lines is when Andy teases Barney about the plaster casts: "I like to put a little eggwhite in mine."

Floyd, the Gay Deceiver: Floyd poses as a wealthy man to impress his pen pal.

The Mayberry Band: The mayor does not approve of the town marching band playing at the state capitol because they are so bad. Andy recruits Freddy Fleet and His Band With a Beat. One of my favorites. The Mayberry Band trying to rehearse "Stars and Stripes Forever" is one of the funniest moments in T.V. history!

Lawman Barney: Two farmers who are illegally selling vegetables in town show little respect for Barney or the law.

Convicts-at-Large: One of the best TAGS episodes of all time! Barney and Floyd are held hostage by three escaped female convicts. Has the best Floyd line: "Maude, Al, if those hamburgers are ruined, I won't be responsible."

The Bed Jacket: Aunt Bee has her heart set on Andy buying her a bed jacket for her birthday. Andy thinks his aunt would appreciate something more practical.

Barney and the Governor: Another favorite of mine. Barney tickets the governor's car and is afraid he will lose his job. Otis spikes the spring water and its soon "Happy New Year" for Barney and the Mayor. Great lines: "put that in his smike and poke it," "bless his heart."

Man in a Hurry: Consistently ranked number 1 by TAGS fans. Mayberry is seen through the eyes of a frustrated businessman whose car breaks down on a Sunday.

The Bank Job: Barney shows the local bank is far from burglar-proof.

One-Punch Opie: Opie's friends are influenced by a tough new kid..

High Noon in Mayberry: Andy is visited by a man he put behind bars. Barney is sure the man is out for revenge.

The Loaded Goat: A local goat has eaten some dynamite.

Class Reunion: At Barney and Andy's class reunion, Andy looks for his old girlfriend.

Rafe Hollister Sings: Farmer Rafe Hollister has the best voice to represent Mayberry in a singing contest but the mayor and his wife think he's too shabby for public display.

Opie and the Spoiled Kid: Opie is taught how to get a bigger allowance but finds out temper tantrums and breath-holding has no effect on Andy.

The Great Filling Station Robbery: Andy plays detective when Wally's garage is robbed.

Andy Discovers America: Andy criticizes Helen Crump's history teaching requirements.

Aunt Bee's Medicine Man: A traveling medicine man comes to Mayberry. Soon Aunt Bee is "feelin' no pain' and singing "China Town." One of the funniest episodes.

The Darlings Are Coming: First appearance of the Dillards. A betrothed mountain girl develops a crush on Andy.

Andy's English Valet: Englishman Malcolm Merrieweather works off a fine at Andy's house.

Barney's First Car: Barney buys a lemon from a sweet little old lady. Another favorite of mine.

The Rivals: Thelma Lou makes Barney jealous when she trues to help Opie get over a crush who is not interested in him.

A Wife for Andy: Barney plays matchmaker for Andy but disapproves of Helen Crump because she cannot cook "Andy's favorite dish."

Dogs, Dogs, Dogs: Dogs accumulate at the courthouse just when an inspector is supposed to arrive.

Mountain Wedding: Ernest T. Bass makes his intentions known to Charlene Darling.

The Big House: Barney's prisoners escape from "the rock."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'May be edited' message, August 16, 2005
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Concerning the "may be edited" message on the back of the box, for those who are worried, which is probably most everyone who loves the show-- from research, it appears that all episodes are full-length except "The Darlings are Coming," which is missing the epilogue. Sources say this was left out because of poor quality video. However, this footage is available on a public domain release, called "Best of the Andy Griffith Show," but of course the quality is considerably less.

*UPDATE* As others have pointed out, unfortunately a few of the other episodes are indeed missing footage. Here are the running times of each episode, if it helps anyone to decipher exactly which are uncut or not:

Mr. McBeevee - 25:24
Andy's Rich Girlfriend - 24:36
Andy and the New Mayor - 25:46
Andy and Opie, Bachelors - 25:41
The Cow Thief - 25:39
Barney Mends a Broken Heart - 24:34
Lawman Barney - 25:34
The Mayberry Band - 25:19
Floyd, The Gay Deceiver - 24:58
Opie's Rival - 25:15
Convicts-At-Large - 24:57
The Bed Jacket - 25:12
The Bank Job - 25:31
One-Punch Opie - 25:11
Barney and the Governor - 25:30
Man in a Hurry - 25:06
High Noon in Mayberry - 25:30
The Loaded Goat - 25:45
Class Reunion - 25:40
Rafe Hollister Sings - 25:35
Opie and the Spoiled Kid - 25:12
The Great Filling Station Robbery - 25:29
Andy Discovers America - 25:43
Aunt Bee's Medicine Man - 25:40
The Darlings Are Coming - 22:22
Andy's English Valet - 24:46
Barney's First Car - 25:49
The Rivals - 25:21
A Wife for Andy - 25:35
Dogs, Dogs, Dogs - 25:21
Mountain Wedding - 25:41
The Big House - 24:40

By the way, video/audio quality is excellent, as in previous sets, and the original sponsor ads are a nice bonus, as they were in Season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: The Darlings Are Coming is cut/not complete, October 18, 2005
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Andy Griffith Complete 3rd Season is a great collection. However, be warned The Darlings Are Coming is cut. In the jail cell scene the Darlings and Andy perform two songs. What is cut here is the second song, Salty Dog, which is sung by Charlene.
This is the song that made the episode, why is this cut? Also cut is the epilogue where Andy marries Charlene and Dud. Next The Darlings and Andy perform Cindy which is cut. There is a disclaimer on the box stating "some episodes may be edited from their original network versions" but if a season package is said to be complete why cut scenes? Note: The episode The Darlings are Coming can be found on the Platinum dvd release intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "GO TAKE A NAP! GO TO THELMA LOU'S FOR T.V.! JUST DO IT! DO IT!" :-), August 20, 2005
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
.....And then, on your way home from Thelma Lou's, stop by Weaver's Department Store and pick up a copy of this "Andy Griffith Show" DVD set! Just do it! (Weaver's probably sells DVDs nowadays, wouldn't ya think?) :-)

Paramount's TV-On-DVD division has delivered yet another excellent full-season TV-show boxed set with the August 16, 2005, arrival of "The Andy Griffith Show: The Complete Third Season". There are a few minutes of footage missing from a very few episodes, but I would not let that setback stop you from enjoying the greatness that is "Andy Season #3" -- because this is truly an outstanding season of programming in the history of this beloved TV series.

This handsome-looking 5-Disc DVD collection gathers together all 32 "T.A.G.S." episodes from the series' third (of eight) CBS-TV campaigns. Episodes 64 through 95 are here, which aired during the 1962-1963 television season.

Like the earlier Paramount "Andy" DVD seasonal releases, this third-season installment sports excellent video quality; and very good audio quality as well. For TV shows in this elderly age bracket, I don't see how these episodes could possibly look or sound any better. I couldn't be more pleased with these DVD transfers.

The third season of "Andy" introduces several new, recurring characters into the cast -- including "Gomer Pyle" (played by Jim Nabors) and two new girlfriends for Sheriff Andy Taylor -- "Peggy McMillan" (portrayed by the ultra-fetching Joanna Moore) and "Helen Crump" (Aneta Corsaut).

"Helen" first appeared in Episode 86 ("Andy Discovers America"; first aired on March 4, 1963), and she would remain a major part of the show's cast for the rest of the series' 5-plus years on the air.

Some of my favorite shows from this third "TAGS" season include .... "Floyd, The Gay Deceiver", "Convicts-At-Large", "The Bed Jacket", "Barney's First Car", "High Noon In Mayberry", "The Big House", "Lawman Barney", and "Mr. McBeevee".

Plus, there's "Man In A Hurry" (Episode #79; aired on January 14, 1963), which is one of the very best installments in the entire series, and is the episode which spawned the humorous dialogue I've used as my title for this review (one of many hilarious moments in that ep.).

"Man In A Hurry" features all the easy-going, low-key, carefree elements that made Mayberry, North Carolina, such a great place to visit each and every week.

"Hurry" has "Malcolm Tucker" (played wonderfully by Robert Emhardt) being forced to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon and evening in the sleepy little village of Mayberry after his car breaks down just outside of town. This does not please the enterprising Mr. Tucker in the least. You see, Mr. Tucker is definitely a "man in a hurry" when he comes across the kind folks of Mayberry. He has no time for homemade ice cream, or Sunday afternoon naps, or unbroken apple peelings.

But -- after spending a day with Andy, Opie, Barney, and Aunt Bee -- Mr. Tucker, too, discovers that Mayberry's laid-back way of life can be very appealing. This episode's very touching and poignant "epilogue" (which is often cut out of syndicated TV prints of the show) really drives home the program's message. The musical score that accompanies this epilogue also enhances the mood and tender feeling of this scene. It's been a 'classic' episode since it first aired in early 1963; and it shall continue to be one of my personal favorites for all time.

"Man In A Hurry" offers up a fabulous mix of laugh-out-loud scenes as well as bittersweet moments. Mr. Tucker's excited exasperation provides a fall-down-funny moment when he discovers there's simply no way on this Earth that he's going to be able to get a telephone call through Mayberry's solitary (and perpetually-tied-up) party-line switchboard........

Mr. Tucker (after he slams the phone down in frustration) -- "Outrageous! Sheer idiocy! I can't believe this is happening to me! A public utility being tied up like this! You people are living in another world! This is the 20th century, don't you realize that?! The whole world is living in a desperate space age! Men are orbiting the Earth, international television has been developed -- and here, a whole town is standing still because two old women's feet fall asleep!!"

Barney Fife (completely unfazed by the 'Tucker tirade' he's just witnessed) -- "I wonder what causes that?"

~Big ol' LOL!~

This third "Andy Griffith Show" campaign is a black-and-white season (like the first two years), and features many of the widely-circulated "public domain" episodes that have popped up on a wide variety of other VHS and DVD releases of "The Andy Griffith Show" over the years. But this Paramount boxed set tops all of those "P.D." versions of these episodes (by a mile)! These restored prints look just fantastic on these DVDs.

Plus, unlike many of the far-inferior "public domain" video releases of some of these eps., this Paramount complete-season set contains the originally-aired opening and closing "Fishin' Hole" theme music, which has been been restored and utilized for all of the shows within this DVD collection. This set also contains (for the most part) full-length, uncut shows (approx. 24 to 26 minutes per episode).*

* = Regarding "Full-Length" episodes --- Unfortunately, there are two episodes in this 32-show DVD set that are missing the closing epilogue scenes ("The Darlings Are Coming" and "Barney Mends A Broken Heart"). The "Darlings" show has a DVD run time of a little less than 22.5 minutes. So it's been cut here by about three minutes. "Barney Mends" runs 24:34. Besides the epilogue on "Darlings", some other bits and pieces of the episode are absent too (particularly during the scene in the jail cell).

I'm pretty sure that the epilogue is the only portion missing on "Barney Mends" (when Barney's big mouth gets him in trouble again when he says in front of Peggy -- "Andy really didn't care nothin' about that girl").

I also noticed that the video quality of the "Darlings" episode is not quite as good as the other shows in this set. It's considerably "darker" than the other episodes; although it still IS a fairly-good DVD transfer of this ep. overall, quite "clean"-looking with very little grain or other video distractions, which I was pleased to note (since this show was obviously taken from a different source than other programs in this collection). But the very dark video does become quite noticeable during the nighttime "shinnying down the rope" scene.

So, it would appear (for some reason) that Paramount was unable to locate a full-length, 25-minute print of that episode to place on this DVD set. Although, oddly enough, that particular program IS intact, sporting a run time of 25-plus minutes, on some of the lesser-quality "public domain" DVDs that have been marketed in recent years; which begs the question -- why didn't Paramount tap one of those prints for this seasonal boxed set?

~shrugs unknowingly~

But, anyway, at least the folks at Paramount Home Video give buyers a warning about the edits on this set, with these words printed in four different places on the packaging .... "Some episodes may be edited from their original network versions". (Although, since it's obvious that some shows have been edited, I'm curious as to why Paramount has utilized the words "may be", instead of the more appropriate "have been" in this instance.)

~additional shrug~

Even though the "Darlings" episode has been trimmed, I'm glad to see that two of the most humorous scenes remain intact on the DVD. Those being:

Briscoe's admonition to "the boys" -- "Now let's try 'Slimy River Bottom', and this time make it per-ty!"

And the exchange between Andy and hotel clerk John Masters --

ANDY -- "I warned them earlier today on a '907'."
JOHN (fully aware immediately of what Official Mayberry Police Code "#907" indicated) -- "Dippin' a hat in a horse trough."
ANDY -- "Right."

~ LOL! ~

While I hate edited, chopped-up TV shows as much as the next "Andy" fan, I for one am more than willing to give Paramount the benefit of the "editing" doubt with regard to this TAGS set. Based on past reputation for releasing full-length programs (with excellent PQ) whenever humanly possible, I'm confident that Paramount has done all it can do to provide DVD buyers with the best product that could be obtained. And "unedited" whenever practicable.

I also am most certainly not of the "Throw The Baby Out With The Bathwater" mindset when it comes to purchasing TV-On-DVD products that contain a very few minutes cut out of them -- meaning: I'm certainly not willing to deprive myself of the 808 minutes of superb programming that reside on the five Digital Discs in this "TAGS" Season-Three set (not even counting the approx. 28 minutes of "Sponsor Spots") -- just because the total 32-episode running time is supposed to be approx. 813 minutes.

Now, if a whole bunch of these shows were taken from inferior syndicated (and truncated) versions (which is definitely not the case with this TAGS set), then I'd be upset indeed. But when only about 0.6% (or even less) of the original network content is absent, and the episodes look THIS sensational overall (as is the case with this Andy #3 set from Paramount), then IMO those missing 5 minutes of footage (out of 813) are literally akin to a drop in the proverbial bucket, and just flat-out not worth the mental torture that would most assuredly be brought on by NOT purchasing this boxed set just because 0.6% of the original content has been omitted (and the angst of knowing I decided to intentionally forego the pleasure of owning these many, many terrific "Andy" entries simply due to two missing epilogues and/or a missing line of dialogue in one or two shows).**

** = That's just my own opinion, of course. But, at the same time, I can also certainly respect another person's decision to stand by his/her "Edited Episodes = No Sale!" principles.

DVD BONUS FEATURES -- Just like the second-season Andy Griffith Show set, this third-season set includes many "Original Sponsor Spots", each of which lasts about one minute. These are vintage commercial advertisements featuring the show's cast members plugging various products, like Sanka Coffee, Post brand breakfast cereals, and a new product for Season 3 -- Jell-O Puddings.

There are 29 "Sponsor Spots" scattered throughout the five discs, with only three episodes lacking a unique commercial ad (one of which is "The Darlings Are Coming", giving another indication that Paramount just could not unearth the original film print of that episode).

Picture quality is very good, too, for these ads. These very clever and well-written commercial spots are really fun to watch, as Andy, Opie, et al, stay in "character" to pitch the different sponsor's products. It's just exactly the type of vintage, hard-to-find, rarely-seen stuff that I love to see included on DVD sets like this. Hats off to Paramount for making these ads available here.

One especially funny commercial spot is the one that's attached to the episode "Lawman Barney", which features Deputy Fife having his pistol confiscated yet again by Sheriff Taylor after Barney shoots up the Taylor's kitchen, resulting in some leaky pipes.

Another humorous "Jell-O Pudding" ad (for the "McBeevee" episode) has Opie's make-believe horse sticking his (real) head in through Andy's kitchen window. That one had me tickled too.

Even "Mr. Tucker" and the "Mendlebright Sisters" (the gabby, telephone-happy old ladies who have all that trouble with their feet) from the "Man In A Hurry" episode get in on the act in one of the commercials for Sanka Coffee (in the "nice-to-hold new jar", too!). "Out-stand-ingly good coffee". :-)

To watch any of the 29 "Sponsor Spots", a Sub-Menu must be accessed, where each of that disc's "Spots" can be played. Each ad can be watched individually, or you can view all of them consecutively via a handy "Play All" option that is also available.

Some additional info about this DVD set.............

VIDEO -- Standard TV Ratio (Full Frame; 1.33:1). B&W.

AUDIO -- Dolby Digital (2.0 Mono). English only.

MENUS -- Non-animated. Without music. No Episode Sub-Menus are included; the Main Menu also serves as an "Episode Selection" Menu. .... There is one Sub-Menu (for each disc's "Sponsor Spots"). ... Six Paramount DVD ads come up automatically when you load up Disc #1 (only). To bypass these ads, press "Forward Chapter Advance" (or "Skip") on your remote six times consecutively.

Oddly enough, these very same Paramount ads also can be accessed from Disc One's Main Menu, via a separate Menu choice (marked "Previews"). This redundancy regarding these DVD Previews sort of makes me wonder if Paramount, at some point during the creation of these DVDs, had the idea of eliminating the semi-annoying "automatic load-up ads" on Disc 1 for this boxed set, and just have the customer browse the ads at their leisure via the Main Menu (which, of course, I'm sure is the preferred method if you were to ask virtually any DVD buyer).

But, for some reason, Paramount placed the ads on the Main Menu AND decided to stick them onto the front of Disc 1 as part of the load-up procedure, too. This repetition will probably serve to tick off even more people who can't stand such "forced" material on any DVD product, because by placing the very same advertisements on the Menu itself, it makes having them also a part of the initial disc load-up seem completely unnecessary.

The six TV DVD Previews, btw, last a tad more than six minutes total, and are the exact same ads that are also on the second-season DVD boxed set of "TAGS" (except they're shown in a slightly-different order than on the Season-Two set).

"PLAY ALL EPISODES" OPTION? -- Yes.

CHAPTER BREAKS INCLUDED? -- Yes; Five Chapter Stops per program.

PACKAGING -- The five discs come packaged inside three individual "Slim" clear plastic cases, with Discs 1 and 2 being held in the first case; Discs 3 and 4 go into the second case; and the third case houses just a single disc (#5). .... Each disc is single-sided, with artwork. There's an outer cardboard slipcase box that comfortably holds the three slim disc cases. The slipcase is identical in design (and lettering on the box) to the two previously-released Andy Griffith sets. I like the uniformity of this packaging that Paramount has maintained here. Season Three looks right at home next to Seasons 1 and 2.

A common "Wally's Filling Station" theme has been used for the inner packaging here, with a reasonable facsimile of an automobile tire adorning each of the discs, plus images of wrenches and other tools printed on the inside and back of the three slim cases.

Episode information is included on the back of each of the three slim cases (in the guise of a "Wally's Filling Station" invoice), with more detailed summaries available on the inside of the cases (underneath each disc itself). There are either 6 or 7 episodes on each disc.

Something new that I like very much about this Season-Three set is the fact that there is a complete episode list on the back of the outer box. This handy at-a-glance program listing also tells you what episodes are located on what discs.

------------------

A final closing "gush".......

Season 3 of "The Andy Griffith Show" is yet another winning season in the eight-year history of this charming rural sitcom. "T.A.G.S." is truly a one-of-a-kind TV series that we'll almost certainly never see the likes of ever again.

And via these superior-quality DVDs, it seems as though these 32 third-season shows are all brand-new once again. This is a great season of a treasured TV show ... a great DVD set (despite the five minutes or so of edits) ... and a great bargain, to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed some episodes are edited!, September 17, 2005
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I'm very displeased that Paramount chose to edit some of the episodes on the Season 3 set. The box should read - "The Incomplete Third Season".

My jaw hit the floor when I realized that some episodes were incomplete. I had to pull out a VHS copy recorded from TVLand of "Barney Mends A Broken Heart" to confirm that they axed the entire epilogue. Sad.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's more than one episode edited!!!!, August 20, 2005
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Someone on the TAGSRWC bulletin board jogged my meory. There WAS an epilogue to "Barney Mends a Broken Heart" where Miss Peggy was tending Andy's black eye! And that epilogue IS SHOWN ON TV LAND!!!!

And the reviewer who said there's a brief dialogue exchange missing with Otis where he says he's celebrating the anniversary of his first drink in "Barney and the Governor" is correct.

So there's no excuse for this. I'm torn between enjoying having the set (this was a GREAT season) and siding with the reviewer who says that if you buy this set in edited form you're telling Paramount that you don't care and they don't have to bother with complete episodes. I think at the very least every fan should write a STRONG letter saying that we won't buy FUTURE edited sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, August 22, 2005
By 
R. Crawford "Blinking12" (Salisbury, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Having bought the first two sets and being a big Andy Griffith Show fan, I was really looking forward to this, the third season DVD set. But Paramount has really let TAGS fans down with this release. Several episodes have been edited and some scenes are inexcusably missing. There is no explanation for this, and hardly any warning. (In tiny tiny print on the back of the cardstock sleeve that houses the DVDs there is one brief note "Some episodes may be edited from their original network versions.") I don't see how Paramount can get away with calling this the "complete" third season, since it is quite evident to fans of the show that it is, in fact, incomplete. Another gripe: the disc space Paramount squandered on an endless succession of stupid previews of other releases would have more than accommodated the missing scenes from the show I paid to watch.

Picture and sound is generally good, considering the age of the original film. However, there are times when the transfer editing appears sloppy -- for example, some DVD chapters seem to cut off prematurely. All in all, there doesn't seem to be much dedication to quality control and customer satisfaction with this product on the part of Paramount.

Casual fans of the show may not find much to complain about, because it may not be immediately obvious to them that some things are missing. On the other hand, my assumption is that "casual" fans don't buy the DVD sets; they simply watch the show as it is aired in reruns on cable TV.

It is unfortunate for fans of The Andy Griffith Show that Paramount has saddled them with only two options -- this flawed collection or none at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the show ***** minus 5 for paramount, August 25, 2005
By 
Ol' Sam (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Season 3 of the Andy Griffith show may very well be the funniest and best loved season of them all and all of us life long fans of the show were most looking forward to this release. What a disappointment to find some episodes have been edited as others have reviewed. I'm assuming that some young person is in charge of this project at paramount who could care less if the episodes are complete as long as their 21st century technology looks good. Let's throw all of Buster Keaton and Fatty Arbuckle's pictures in the trash because their quality is not up to 21st century standards. These people should be fired from paramount before the next season of the Andy Griffith show is released and the third season should be re-released complete and unedited. I would even be for Andy, Don, and any of the writers and directors who are still alive and able to stand over the people putting the dvds together with a cattle prod and let them have it if they try to edit the show!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDITED EPISODES, December 30, 2005
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Upon study of the TAGS "complete" season 3 I have found that only one episode is missing any footage, "The Darlings Are Coming". It is missing the entire epilogue and all the footage as mentioned here in reviews previously.

I've read here and elsewhere about the episode "Barney Mends A Broken Heart" is missing the epilogue. The epilogue is included on the Parnmount disc that I have for this episode. Peggy comes into the courthouse and discovers Andy's black eye, but does not "doctor it". She only shows concern for Andy's injury and they apologize and make up with each other. If you watch the episode you will see that it is there. Perhaps some may confuse this epilogue with the epilogue from "Opie and the Bully", where Opie gets a black eye from fighting with another boy over his milk money. In this epilogue, Barney brings a steak into the courthouse for Andy to apply to Opie's eye, but he doesn't do so. He allows Opie to keep the black eye as a "medal" to show off for a week or two. I also wonder if possibly there was a batch of DVDs produced without this epilogue because several reviewers have mentioned this.

As for the episode of "Barney and the Governor", the previous reveiwer that states there is missing dialogue/scene is absolutely incorrect.
The dialogue mentioned previously as missing is not supposed to be in this episode. The scene with this dialogue is found in "Citizen's Arrest". There is some dialogue in "Barney and the Governor" when Otis says something about his wedding anniversary and being a holiday. In "Citizen's Arrest", Otis says, "It's my anniversary, it's been 27 years today since I took my first drink and I've been in love with it ever since." Again some may confuse the dialogue between these two episodes.

A previous reviewer also states that the episode "Andy and Opie, Bachelors" is missing some footage. This is incorrect. The episode is complete including the epilogue. The scene of Andy and Peggy singing on the porch is in this episode. They sing "Down In The Valley" not "Cindy" while Opie listens. The song "Cindy" is included in the epilogue of "Opie's Rival" sung by Peggy, Andy, and Opie at the lake after they've been fishing, not in the episode "The Rivals" as stated by a reviewer previously. "Cindy is also performed by Andy and the Darlings in the epilogue to "The Darlings Are Coming" episode after Andy marries Charlene and Dud, which is missing from this DVD set as mentioned previously.
The epilogue for "Andy and Opie, Bachelors" takes place in Floyd's Barber Shop, with Andy, Floyd, and Peggy. Again I'm sure the scenes in these episodes are just being mixed up by the reviewers.

After reading all the reviews of missing footage and/or epilogues for TAGS season 3 here and on other websites, and then conducting my own investigation, I find that the only edited episode on the entire box set is "The Darlings Are Coming", which is, of course, a tragedy for all TAGS fans. But these discs are definitely still worth the money considering that only one episode is edited. I think true fans will still purchase this box set and I recommend them to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why not uncut season three, September 6, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
This is my first review and I'm completely shocked to see that they would cut anything from these episodes. Feel like I've been cheated. Why would they cut from this season when the first 2 seasons were completely uncut as far as I could see. Not sure I'll buy season 4 or not. Complete uncut episodes are at the top of my wish list. Could they try this again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Andy Griffith Show - The Complete Third Season
$22.98 $14.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.