Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bagels and Cream Cheese? No Way!
Dr. Greer offers tastey tidbits to tempt your palate. And better still, she helps you fight off the Big C. She's no Emeril ("Bam!"...thank heavens) but she does offer many helpful suggestions that can really be beneficial to your lifespan.
This is not the usual lots-of-butter-and cream richness found in some quarters, nor is it the ascetic "bean-sprouts-and-hope"...
Published on October 17, 2008 by Coco Pazzo

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't jive with the research.
This book is very outdated even though published in 2008. Makes me think the author really didn't know that much to begin with. Now, there is alot of useful basic information about various cancers and the smartest foods to be consumming. However, when it comes to the recipes, she ignores the research. But this may be for you, if: you want to saute everything in oil,...
Published 19 months ago by RS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bagels and Cream Cheese? No Way!, October 17, 2008
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
Dr. Greer offers tastey tidbits to tempt your palate. And better still, she helps you fight off the Big C. She's no Emeril ("Bam!"...thank heavens) but she does offer many helpful suggestions that can really be beneficial to your lifespan.
This is not the usual lots-of-butter-and cream richness found in some quarters, nor is it the ascetic "bean-sprouts-and-hope" offered by others. Instead, it is sensible, research-based suggestions and recipes that can help save your life. While helping make your life at the table worth living.
My only reservation is that I keep recalling the old saying, "Never trust a skinny chef," but since the intent is to keep you healthy, rather than provide cutting edge haute cuisine, I'll give her the benefit of the doubt.
I'd dine happily with Dr. Julia Greer any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than 200 specific recipes featuring ingredients that have a particular relevance for fighting various forms of cancer, December 11, 2008
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
It has long been known and clinically demonstrated that food has a direct link to health, and that some foods are not only nutritious for the human body, they are also medical and remedial. In "The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How To Cut Your Risk With the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods", Dr. Julia B. Greer has compiled more than 200 specific recipes featuring ingredients that have a particular relevance for fighting various forms of cancer. The step-by-step instructions for each individual recipe are in accordance with cooking methods that protect the anti-cancer properties of the ingredients. Of special note is the cogent, practical, 'real-world' advice for making healthy menu choices when dining out. From Chilled Apple Oatmeal; Red Pepper Hummus; Maple-Pecan Broccoli; and Newport Beach Turkey Pasta Salad; to Portobello Tofu Tacos; Mahi Mahi with Citrus Sauces and Black Beans; Spice-Rubbed Filet Mignon with Grilled Tomatoes; and Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Zucchini Brownies, "The Anti-Cancer Cookbook" is a veritable cornucopia of dishes suitable for every dining occasion and highly recommended for anyone having to prepare meals with cancer prevention and treatment in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect perfect perfect!, April 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
I bought this as a way to better support my husband battle a recurrence of cancer. But it's turning into a Food Bible where I can find Yummy dishes that are just GOOD WHOLE FOOD without being kooky, hippy and with ingredients that you can only find at the corner organic grocery in Soho...I live in North Carolina. Easy recipies and tons of them! Many of them I use for my own HIGH cholesterol (I;m one of those people who are not overweight and healthy but have family genetic high cholesterol). So, I could write a 20,000 word essay on this book, but here's the bottom line: BUY IT, you'll use it and love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Note from the publisher, August 17, 2009
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
I just wanted to point out that this book was originally published in 2008, not in the 1970s as one reviewer here had suggested. If there are other books out there with similar titles from the 1970s, they are not related to this book in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent use of spices, September 3, 2009
By 
B. Brown (Pittsburgh Pa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
This is a clever book that educates you on foods that are helpful for cancer prevention while giving you recipes that are delicious at the same time. I think this author's use of spices is unusual and I have been able to take her combinations of spices and apply them to new recipes of my own. This book would make a wonderful gift for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These all taste great., February 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
I am not one to follow recipes, however, I am swimming in uncharted waters these days and so, with this cookbook, for the first time in my life, I am following the recipes item for item, measurement for measurement AND everything I've made tastes awesome AND my kids eat it AND it is healthy. This book makes the dietary approach to fighting cancer much more enjoyable than I ever imagined it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't jive with the research., February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
This book is very outdated even though published in 2008. Makes me think the author really didn't know that much to begin with. Now, there is alot of useful basic information about various cancers and the smartest foods to be consumming. However, when it comes to the recipes, she ignores the research. But this may be for you, if: you want to saute everything in oil, you want to consume red meat and pork, you want to consume dairy and eggs, you like lots of sugar, you want to use white flour and other refined carbohydrates, you want to grill, you want to oven bake potato fries and other starchy vegetables, you want to use Splenda. And, no mention of turmeric.
Enough said! There are many much more savvy cookbooks out there, and most don't even tout being "anti-cancer."
As a cookbook for general healthy eating, it is just okay. I tried one recipe -the Lentil Rice Casserole. It was average for this type of casserole, but topped with a layer of cheddar cheese. Go figure.
For anyone taking a pro-active stance in either surviving or warding off cancer, I definitely do not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and healthy at the same time, October 15, 2008
By 
Nancy F. B. (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
Dr. Julia Greer's Anti-Cancer Cookbook is filled with new, great recipes. My husband loved the salads, new dressings (at last) and of course, the desserts! With these new healthy recipes I plan to keep him longer! Nancy F.B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the most comprehensive, August 7, 2012
By 
Bonnie (Ft. Lauderdale, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
I bought this due to a pre-cancerous scare. Although it is helpful---it's vague. Each recipe only gives you about three examples of cancers that the recipes can help you fight. I also think this book is maybe better used as a first step for anyone going through the need to change their diet, but I don't think pork chops with cherry sauce or salads with bacon are really healthier options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Cookbook, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods (Paperback)
It is nice to know that I can cook meals that are not only good for me but easy to follow. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Anti-Cancer Cookbook: How to Cut Your Risk with the Most Powerful, Cancer-Fighting Foods
$19.95 $13.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.