Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on December 15, 2012
As a huge fan of horror movies, I have to say, this has to be one of the most boring and uninteresting I've ever seen. It's clear WB reached for ANY haunted house script laying around and produced it in an attempt to cash in on the "paranormal activity" craze. The film isn't even remotely scary, the writing is awful, the storyline is thin, the acting is weak, it takes nearly half the movie for something even remotely exciting to happen...I could go on, but what's the point? Save yourself the time and money. I was literally checking the time until it was over.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on December 11, 2012
I cannot remember a time recently when I finished a movie and found it to be as poorly thought out and executed as this one. The character motivations are incomprehensible, the dialog terrible, the setting boring and the directing stale and unimaginative. I was excited to watch it based on the premise (scientists summon ghost) and that the director is attached to adapting a Joe Hill work for the screen. Now all I can think is poor Joe Hill, he's destined to have as poor luck with the movies as his dad did. Avoid this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2012
This is a good simple ghost story that the teens can watch. The film starts out with a seance in 1973. It then abruptly switches to the present where a "scientific seance experiment" is going to be performed. The crew wires up their heads in order to intensify the energy field for the entity to pass through. Things don't go that well for Patrick (Tom Felton, Draco from "Harry Potter") and his crew as something has happened.

The film jumps again to Ben (Sebastian Stan) who was part of the experiment and Kelly (Ashley Greene, Alice from "Twilight" ) one of the world's worse house sitters. Their house number is "2812" which flashes for a moment. It adds up to 13, although we really don't need a premonition of things to come. Like a good ghost story the odd events in the home build up slow until they reach a boiling point at which time my cat jumps on me.

I enjoyed the build up. I also liked the way they integrated the "found footage" into the film and didn't rely strictly on it. Thank you Todd Lincoln. Ashley Kelly, who was allowed to act in "Twilight" gives us a good performance in this one in spite of Sebastian Stan being unconvincing in his part. As the lead actor in this film, his character was written rather shallow, which was the downfall of the film. I didn't like the repeated narration near the end of the film and the ending needed to be tweaked.

Makes for a decent film for the sleepover, especially if they are sleeping outside in a tent.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Ashley Greene in bra, panties and a shoulder up shower scene. Minor swearing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 8, 2014
The Apparition starts off with a flashback to May 21st, 1973 where a group of people conduct The Charles Experiment, a seance where they stare at the picture of a dead man by the name of Charles Reamer, hoping to summon his spirit and communicate with him. Many years later in modern times, college students Lydia, Patrick, Greg, and Ben try their hand at The Charles Experiment but with more modern and advanced technology. However something goes terribly wrong during the experiment and Lydia is attacked by an unseen force and supposedly pulled through the ceiling and is never seen from again.

The film jumps to more current times where Ben (Sebastian Green) and his beautiful girlfriend, Kelly (Ashley Greene) are living together in a quiet suburban neighborhood. Things don't stay quiet for long however when a multitude of horrible, supernatural happenings begin taking place inside of the house. After Kelly is nearly killed one night by this apparition, they contact paranormal specialist, Patrick, who was also one of the ones that partook in the Charles Experiment with Ben. After Patrick reveals to Ben and Kelly that the house itself is not the problem, but rather that this apparition studies humans and feeds on their fears no matter where they run; Ben and Kelly come to the realization that no matter where they run or hide, there is no possible escape from this supernatural force

Overall: When I first picked up the Apparition, I was expecting it to be a pretty good film but it was quite the opposite. While the plot of the movie seems slightly different from other horror movies these days, the story-telling behind the plot is very slow, which is bound to turn away the viewer's interest and attention from the movie in a hurry. Because of that, The Apparition doesn't really come off as being scary either. I suppose if you watch this alone, in the dark, and with surround sound, you may get a little scared. The overall meaning of the movie can get you thinking about things though if you're the one who believes in spirits and such. Overall, The Apparition is okay for a watch maybe once or twice but that's probably it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 21, 2013
The Apparition (2012). Rated "PG-13". Running Time: One hour, 22 mins.
Directed by Todd Lincoln.

We are shown a millimeter film from 1973 of a seance taking place. With six paranormal psychologists sitting around the table, a drawing of a Charles Reamer is placed on the table. Charles was a former colleague who recently passed away. The table begins to jump wildly. They now call it "The Charles Experiment".
In 2012, College students, Patrick (Tom Felton) along with Greg (Luke Pasqualino) and Lydia (Juliana Guill) are conducting "The Charles Experiment" of their own in the lab. Lydia has made a small 3-D statue of Charles she made in engineering. Patrick believes this experiment is going to work. As they concentrate, something happens. It was a thud from under the table. Then the table moves wildly. Then another thud. They hear creaking in the ventilation ducts. Then a crash. Greg and Lydia are scared. Lydia is breathing heavily. A camera knocks over. More creaking and banging. What is it? You will have to see the movie to find out.

Kelly (Ashley Greene) and Ben (Sebastian Stan) are a couple. They have just moved in to a new house in Palmdale, California. Strange things begins to happen.

Filmed in Palmdale, Santa Clarita and Los Angeles, California.

Costco gets a mention.

Option of Language in English, Spanish. Option of Subtitles in English, French, Spanish.

Bonus Features are on the Blu-Ray version. The Apparition (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViolet Digital Copy Combo Pack).

I thought it was so neat to have a horror movie set in Palmdale and actually filmed in Palmdale, California.

The bad thing about this movie is the movie preview and the front cover of the DVD totally ruins the ending of the movie for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 1, 2015
Nicely done mix of sci-fi and horror; OK now we've moved into the 21st century and a brilliant scientist has invented a device that will open a door to "the other side". No more messy EV setups, splintery old ouija boards and all those other old fashioned dust collectors, we're goin' hi tech baby.

order now and get a we'll send you another one free so you and the whole family can experience a paranormal vacation like no other, double the trouble, double the fun.

Intelligent and fun, suspenseful and eerie right up to the end. no ridiculous air heads running about screaming to break the sound barrier, no dreary boyfriend, girlfriend subplots.

these folks are in deep poo, not only with the malevolent spirits but mom and dad ain't gonna be too happy about their investment property being turned into another poltergeist sequel while their daughter was supposed to be looking after it.
Unfortunately, missy has her hands full and boyfriend conveniently neglected to tell her that the spook machine unleashed spirits with anti-social tendencies and have attached themselves to him.
so essentially he's like a supernatural Typhoid Mary spreading spiritual malevolence wherever he goes.
I will watch this again.

how to depreciate your home equity in one easy step. wonderful entertainment. no chance of living off a reverse mortgage with this house.

where's Zelda Rubinstein when you need her.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2014
I was mildly surprised by this film, I watched the trailer and thought it would be fun, but it's been getting some bad reviews so I wasn't expecting much. It actually turned out to be a decent horror film, not the greatest film but certainly worth a watch.

The story starts with some students attempting to prove that supernatural phenomena is caused by belief, the experiment succeeds but they have to abort when things go crazy. The film then skips a few years to a young couple moving into a new house and sinister events plague them in their new home.

While the overall story isn't anything special it does have some interesting developments (I liked the explanation of the entity's existence) and it is paced well. It's other downside is the reliance on shock (sudden movements and so forth) to generate its horror (a failing of many modern horror films), however there are some good takes on the usual take.

The performances are also good and despite the reliance of shock it does build enough of an atmosphere to carry the film. Overall I enjoyed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2013
The acting was solid and special effects were really good. The movie held our interest the entire time and was worth watching. My sister downloaded the digital copy since she liked it so much. It does not focus on gore and slashing at all, which I preferred as the acting and direction really has to be solid for a movie to deliver.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on November 27, 2012
I'm always interested in a good ghost story which takes a unique look at the subject of the supernatural. Although I wouldn't necessarily call "The Apparition" completely original, it's an interesting enough blend of different ideas that makes it engrossing. There's a little Asian horror ala "The Grudge" and "Pulse," a very small pinch (thankfully) of "Paranormal Activity," and a bit of "Poltergeist" to top it off.

The movie is stemmed in the idea that not only are there ghosts of actual dead people who haunt the living, but also evil entities that feed off people's beliefs. The more someone believes in a supernatural force, the stronger it gets. If it gets a foothold into someone, it can gain a greater entry into our physical world.

The students in "The Apparition" use scientific equipment to amplify their beliefs by 400 times. This unleashes a hellish force into our realm that wants to stay here permanently. One of the students (Sebastian Stan) chooses to leave his research behind and move on with his life. He soon finds this to be more difficult than he imagined when the entity starts wreaking havoc on his girlfriend (Ashley Greene) and new house.

I wholeheartedly agree with the idea of spirits being attached to people and not places. That's one thing that really fascinated me about this movie. It's not the typical film where a presence is affixed to the house and the tenants have to get away. These people try to escape by leaving the house and find the entity follows them no matter where they go.

One concept in the film I had a problem with is if you believe in the spirits they become stronger. Demons or evil entities have power whether we admit their existence or not. Kevin Spacey said it best in "The Usual Suspects:" "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing everyone he doesn't exist."

The cast of "The Apparition" is an interesting mix of different talents. Ashley Green ("The Twilight Saga") takes on the role of Girlfriend Kelly. Sebastian Stan (Bucky in "Captain America: The First Avenger") plays her boyfriend, Ben, with a sinister past. Tom Felton (Draco Malfoy in the "Harry Potter" movies) portrays the scientist trying to find a way to capture the spirit and keep it from entering the human world.

The audio and video quality of the Blu-ray release looks wonderful. The picture is clean and, although most of the movie is dark, it's visually easy on the eyes. The 5.1 surround sound mix helps all the creepy bangs and bumps in the night to be well-distributed throughout a home theater setting.

The extra features have very little to do with the actual movie. They're mostly made up of featurettes in which real life ghost hunter Joshua P. Warren investigates a couple of haunted spots and then tries to re-create the experiment that goes wrong in the film. "'The Apparition:' A Cinematic Specter" is a short behind-the-scenes look at what the cast thought about the experiment that serves as the catalyst for the entire film.

"The Apparition" on Blu-ray isn't the greatest supernatural thriller you'll ever see. However, it gets extra points for blending together some different takes on the haunted house genre we haven't seen mashed together yet. It will definitely keep some viewers on edge if you hear strange noises in your house when you go to bed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 7, 2013
This was one of those flicks we had to buy instead of rent. Had I known I would have told my wife not to bother. My mother recommended it, second mistake. The movie itself was predictable and didn't raise a single hair on the back of my neck, no goosebumps, no chills down my spine.Young couple, new house, bad things ensue, bla, bla, bla. None of the stuff horror movie buffs crave! The last movie that actually disturbed me was The Grudge. If someone can recommend something along those lines let me know. Don't waste your money on this one!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.