Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent incite into creating cocktillian style drinks
A must have for home bartenders that want to maintain a consummate menu in their bar. The book discusses unique ingredients, their uses, and even gives the recipes for various drinks served at the Absinthe Brasserie and Bar in San Francisco.

Why use Maraschino cherries in your bar when you can make homemade Brandied Cherries? Need to sweeten things up a...
Published on November 2, 2007 by D. Hamp

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures.
This is a neat book for the coffee table, and to look at casually. The photos are great, but it's not sized right to be behind a bar.
Published 5 months ago by Jim vinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent incite into creating cocktillian style drinks, November 2, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
A must have for home bartenders that want to maintain a consummate menu in their bar. The book discusses unique ingredients, their uses, and even gives the recipes for various drinks served at the Absinthe Brasserie and Bar in San Francisco.

Why use Maraschino cherries in your bar when you can make homemade Brandied Cherries? Need to sweeten things up a little there are multiple syrups such as the simple syrup or even a balsamic syrup.

Don't be mistaken, this is neither a long read or an in-depth study of Mixology. At the same time, it is not just a recipe book without a soul. The gentlemen that wrote the book provided a perfect balance of ingredients to come up with a cocktail that they have proudly named "The Art of the Bar".

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take Bartending to the Next Level, January 13, 2013
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
The Art of the Bar is a solid book of how to make classic cocktails. The two bartenders that wrote this book describe cocktails from start to finish, using experience from their many years of tending bar. There is a wonderful change in style for cocktails, long gone is Tom Cruise in Cocktail doing a floor show while mixing drinks. Instead this is a book of fine nuanced drinks, carefully prepared one at a time.

This is a large pretty book; many cocktails are presented with a color picture to show the best way to complete the drink. The authors cover a lot of ground with their recipes, from absinthe to whiskies (they even include Vodka, avoided by some of the cocktail snobs). On purpose they avoided the sweet blender drinks, not denigrating them simply saying that their bar is not at a beach or a cruise ship. There are two pages at the front of the book that list all the cocktails with ingredients. I like these two pages because I find myself with specific ingredients and scan those pages to find cocktails I can make at that moment.

A book of recipes is nice. The authors took things to another level with the text. They include the history of some of the major cocktails. This is a good book for somebody that wants to take making drinks to another level. There is excellent advice on all the important things, ingredients (ice, spirits, garnish, etc.), equipment to mix drinks, glassware, and presentation. The majority of the text is about why certain drinks have those ingredients and how to make the best darn cocktail possible. The one criticism I have with the book, the authors mention their bar and restaurant a bit too much. After the 50th mention, I began to think this was an advertisement for their bar. It is a small issue with the book - given the fine recipes and excellent advice, I can ignore the advertisement.

If somebody tried to make all the cocktails in the book, they would go broke at the liquor store. Some of the ingredients are a bit harder to find and are expensive for just a dash or two in a drink. As they describe, it is important to use good ingredients. Cheap liquor that tastes bad requires other ingredients to mask those bad flavors, instead of blending and making something that tastes wonderful. Their drinks are built based on particular ingredients, a substitution may or may not taste great, but it isn't the same drink. Those two pages of all their drinks is the best place to figure out if it is worth buying a bottle of Crème de Violette, or Averna. I've discovered some amazing flavors buying spirits I never had a clue would be good (Aperol, Cynar, Dolin Vermouth, and Averna to name a few).

Most of the drinks in this book are classics (some are not well known classics, but classics all the same). There isn't much revolutionary in here. That's a good thing; the recipes work well and taste great.

The book is a coffee table book. This is a good thing and a bad thing. Good because the book is easy to read and looks beautiful. That is bad because it is not easy to use while mixing drinks. For my bar I prefer a book I can put on the counter and read the recipes while I mix the drinks.

For the home bartender looking to step up their game, this is an excellent book. If only recipes are the goal, there is an outstanding free app, Speakeasy Drinks, that is easier to use (the ability to search for certain ingredients is huge). If the authors had left out the bar advertisement, I would love the text much more. Those two pages of cocktails with ingredients are worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cocktail book!, February 7, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
Very professional mixologists who have an honest and organic approach to cocktails. There is a real discussion of the principals of ingredients and blending. IMHO this is as enjoyable in its own way as Degroff's "The Craft of the Cocktail."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting when you don't want an intellectual read, January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
this is just fun
it's like your talking with your favorite bartender and learning about different/hard-to-find liquors and different cocktails

no, it's not an intellectual book by any means, which is why i got it
it's one of those things you pick up every once and a while and think, 'oh, interesting' after reading a short passage about an obscure liquor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking Cocktails to New Heights, February 6, 2009
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
The San Francisco restaurant Absinthe is revered for its bartenders, and here we get a sneak peak into the way their minds work. It's a book that includes some philosophy, a lot of recipes, and even more opinions on things that really make a difference. Like ice, or glassware.

We have a few cocktail books we swear by, including Dale DeGroff's classic Craft of the Cocktail. While there are some overlapping recipes and so forth, this book is a must-have for us. We find the recipes easy to use and tempting, and the text inspirational and educational.

Makes us miss San Francisco a lot, but very glad we can have little Absinthe bar time right in our own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbound by mixology, December 11, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
When a close friend took us to Absinthe on our last visit to San Francisco we had no idea what a wonderful treat awaited us. Knowing nothing about the bar, the staff, or this book we ordered a vodka tonic! It was hard not to be stunned by the authors of this amazing and beautifully illustrated book as they mixed, stirred and shook their way around a great bar and restaurant. They mixed cocktails drinks with panache, style and class. They were memorizing!

As is this book; which I have already purchased as a gift for several friends. It contains solid facts and information on cocktail essentials; from building your liquor collection to picking the right glasses and equipment. It it full of both classic and original recipes, together with ideas for how to develop your own original cocktail. A coffee table book that should be on every bar!

If you know someone who really enjoys a sophisticated and elegant bar and already has both sweet and dry vermouth in their collection of liquor - buy it for them immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars library of libations, August 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
The Art of the Bar: Cocktails inspired by the Classics, is a great book! If your a serious cocktail drinker this book is for you, great history on some of the most basic cocktails that all aspiring mixologists should know, as well as great recommendations on how to change, spice up and make some of the great mixers used in differrent libations. Although not strictly a recipe book this would be a great addition to any home bar library or on your coffee table. The photography and quality of this book really is great. Having been to their bar in San Francisco these guys definatly know their stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
I love the book, nice pictures. I've been to that bar in SF and it's great. The only drawback is you can't really make any of the cocktails yourself because most of the ingredients are pretty obscure/rare alcohols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book..., July 12, 2009
By 
C. Mathews (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
If you like classic cocktails and are looking for something new, like the 201 of cocktails. This book provides an entertaining read, fantastic photographs and some great recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Absinthe., December 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics (Hardcover)
My wife and I had a tradition of going to Absinthe in San Francisco before any major trip, or when one of us returned from a trip. We love their cocktails! This book gives the recipes for all their best. And a very well written, pretty book. Great gift. Now we live in Paris where they don't make a decent cocktail, so this is a lifesaver. Trust me, you will love their cocktails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics
The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics by Jeff Hollinger (Hardcover - October 5, 2006)
$29.95 $20.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.