Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in Art books!! A leader in the field!
"The Art Book" is one of my favorite books of all time. It was the first (that I know of) to use the new format of placing artists' names alphabetically rather than chronologically or in historical periods, or according to "art movements." In the old format, you would see similar works of art all together. In this new format (now being copied in various books), the...
Published on October 22, 2012 by Mary Wylie

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the book...but annoyed with cover
Grrr....just got this beautiful book and some idiot has stuck a giant yellow sticker across the front cover "New Edition, the awarding winning, best selling, etc." which does not peel off. As a coffee table book it looks like hell, and considering it's about ART, people should have known better!!

Update: Amazon advised that they do not sticker these books, so...
Published 9 months ago by Gayle Grace


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in Art books!! A leader in the field!, October 22, 2012
By 
Mary Wylie (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
"The Art Book" is one of my favorite books of all time. It was the first (that I know of) to use the new format of placing artists' names alphabetically rather than chronologically or in historical periods, or according to "art movements." In the old format, you would see similar works of art all together. In this new format (now being copied in various books), the alphabetical listing of artists' names gives an almost "shocking", or even better, more enlightening effect where you might see a Medieval or Renaissance work on one page, then on the facing page would be a dazzling 1930's German Expressionist work. (I just made up that example, but it's close to the reality of what you will experience.) This is NOT just a "coffee table" book. It is, rather, a book that you will return to over the years and love, and loan to friends. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tour of the visual arts, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
A collection of seminal art ordered alphabetically by artist, with selections from diverse eras of history and schools of art. Each artist gets one page with a single representative work depicted along with some explanatory text. There are over 500 artists included in this way. There is also a glossary explaining different art movements and schools. Excellent for simply flipping through at random to discover someone new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
This book was a Christmas gift for my uncle, who is a painter, and he absolutely love it. The book is huge, and really heavy. It's a book most people who are interested in art should have. Definitely one of the best gifts I have ever given. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, June 5, 2014
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
I give these books to the younger crowd in my family for Christmas. Yes I am that annoying. But I want them to learn about art and i know they're not doing it in school. This is a fun and easy way to get them to learn and to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Art, February 13, 2014
By 
Landers68 (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
This book is massive, and I love flipping through it now and then just to browse... I am awed by some of the works done, and by artists who aren't as well known... It's a real treat for art lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darn good introduction to ART., January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
I have several dozen ART books, many devoted to individual artists, but this is a great book for anyone that wants to get to know the different aspects of art. Not everyone knows every artist so this is a good guide to look up an artist whose name you hear but do not know him/her. It only gives a page to each but it does show a major representative work by the artist. It is not perfect as many artists start out in one genre and migrate to another so you have to settle for a more "famous" work as representative. Still it is an asset for hard copy information. Some might find it arcane in this age of internet accessibility to a bounty of information easily obtainable on any artist but I am an old fart and I like paper books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great primer, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
with several hundred artists and their works discussed, this book gives one an excellent overview...in alphabetical order, the book gives you a page per artist with a quick discussion on the piece, the movement it relates to and a brief 2 line discussion about the artist...very much like the 20th century art book but it covers artists over a span of close to 1,000 years...what I've enjoyed is picking out those artist I want to know more about and have done so...great book for the money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
I got this both for my own and two teens who are interested, in teenish way, in art. Every bit helps. It is a good large compendium of works of art. The book is organized alphapatically , artists are listed in the manner of a telephone directory and then under each entry, name, there is a picture of the artists most representative or famous work. It is not analysis nor history nor commentary, just a directory of artists and their most, or more famous and known work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Art Book!, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
I love the way this book is set up; contemporary art next to impressionistic, realism next to abstract, modern side-by-side classics. Alphabetically by artist name, a breif description of the artisit and the artisits work. A must have for any artist's library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for quick flippers, June 17, 2014
This review is from: The Art Book: New Edition (Hardcover)
Don't think you can sit with this tome on your lap and zip through it. The paper is first-rate; heavy, glossy to do the artwork justice. You will be sucked in on every page by the sheer detail. Each work is given a page to itself, with a small, unobtrusive blurb above regarding the individual work and its artist.

Three glaring omissions from this book: artists Judy Chicago, Käthe Kollwitz, and Charles Demuth ("I Saw the Figure 5 in Gold.") Considering that's one of my favorite works, I was disappointed by its absence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art Book: New Edition
The Art Book: New Edition by Editors of Phaidon (Hardcover - September 10, 2012)
$59.95 $41.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.