Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Felt
This is an incredible book. Not for everyone though. It examines the art of felting in great depth (emphasis on art) but is not a pattern book. There are many pages of photographs of clouds and other examples of nature to inspire the artist.
Published on July 12, 2008 by Susan Schiffer

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hope you like pictures of sky!
If you like endless pictures of sky and clouds, this book is for you. If you would like some techniques, look elsewhere. This book is just repetitive photos of clouds and sky, and some felted/embellished samples imitating those photos. There is no technique explanation or instruction that I could find...but then, I almost got lulled to sleep reading through it. If you...
Published on July 24, 2008 by Anne Voss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hope you like pictures of sky!, July 24, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
If you like endless pictures of sky and clouds, this book is for you. If you would like some techniques, look elsewhere. This book is just repetitive photos of clouds and sky, and some felted/embellished samples imitating those photos. There is no technique explanation or instruction that I could find...but then, I almost got lulled to sleep reading through it. If you want instruction on these techniques of felting and embellishing, don't waste your money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Felt: Inspirational Stitches, Textures,and Surfaces, July 27, 2008
By 
D. J. McGowan "Jane" (Christchurch New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
The Art of Embroidery: Inspirational Stitches, Textures, and Surfaces

Having loved "The Art of Embroidery", I saw this book in a store and instantly knew I had to have it. I am exploring many fiber arts including dyeing and felting and like to follow my own ideas and designs, so this book is ideal for me. The book gives a small amount of info on how the look was achieved but this is not a step by step "How To" book. It is a starting point to jump from, so you can develop work from an idea and ask "what if"?. It starts the creative process by inspiration and encourages you to develop your own pieces using the techinques shown. Photos are amazing and the colours are awesome. An essential for my library.

The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Felt, July 12, 2008
By 
Susan Schiffer "fiber poet" (Charlottesville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
This is an incredible book. Not for everyone though. It examines the art of felting in great depth (emphasis on art) but is not a pattern book. There are many pages of photographs of clouds and other examples of nature to inspire the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - waste of money, December 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
The first many many pages were nothing but sky and clouds and closeups of the felted piece imitating it. The idea to inspire felters by looking at everything around you probably could have been done in much fewer pages and with a much more interesting variety of subjects than page after page after page of clouds and sky. If you want to "just read" about inspiration and can't sleep, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiration, June 25, 2008
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
I too, have the other 2 books by this author, and love her work. Not for the traditionalist, this book I would recommend for those who have a more artistic bent to their work. Inspirational photos and close-ups of the felt work, it almost reads as an artistic photo album, rather than something with patterns and diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not disapointed, June 23, 2008
By 
Florentina Popescu (Cincinnati, OH, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
I have previously bought The Art of Knitting and The Art of Embroidery, by the same author, and I have been very impressed with both. I was in doubt whether to buy yet another book in this series, but I could not resist the temptation. I was not disappointed. As the subtitle indicates, The Art of Felt is primarily an inspirational book. There are plenty of page size photographs to jumpstart your creativity, but the technical excerpts are not to be ignored either. I recommend this book for both the textile artist and the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INspirational designs, November 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
For the very serious landscape quilter to advance knowledge on shading, ect. Lots of reading-would like to have seem more pix in color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely an inspirational book, not instructional, April 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
A beautiful book that encourages the reader to design with felt using the sky as inspiration. If your preference is for abstract work in felt, you'll appreciate the ideas and suggestions offered. This is not a "how to" book.
I gave it a high rating because it is different and unique from so many other felting books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This books looks wonderful, July 30, 2008
This review is from: The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces (Paperback)
by Francoise Tellier-Loumagne

This book "Art of Felt "appears to be for those who want to take a different path in the art of felting. I do not own this book but thought it was different and more artistic than some of the other books I have reviewed here. The following is taken off the site "BookFinder.com". Maybe it is a book that may interest you artistic felters. This is all inspiring, all-color survey of designs and patterns for this popular craft.
Felt is often thought of as a practical material but can be surprisingly versatile and even poetic.. With handmade felted fabrics, subtle variations in color, texture, and volume can be achieved: threads and fibers merge almost magically to form new motifs that can then be enlivened by embroidered or crocheted details.Available at Amazon.com.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces
The Art of Felt: Inspirational Designs, Textures, and Surfaces by Françoise Tellier-Loumagne (Paperback - June 23, 2008)
$39.95 $34.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.