Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:35 Mins

The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service is a charming art book companion for the movie.

Even though Miyazaki's the director, screenwriter and producer for this film, his art is surprisingly missing in this book. This time round, the main contributing artists are Shinji Otsuka, Yoshifumi Kondo and Katsuya Kondo.

The art is still created using watercolours and they are very beautiful. The character designs by Katsuya Kondo are really cool. You can see the different variations of Kiki, her hairstyle, flying poses, expressions and the little mannerisms all captured. His lines and colours are very simple be he can create a really appealing cast of characters. Together with the two other artists Shinji Otsuka and Yoshifumi Kondo, they contribute the majority of the concept art in this book. And they all seem to draw in similar style for the storyboards.

The background paintings for Corico are also marvelous. I love the idyllic setting. Much of the designs are actually inspired from Visby, a city on the Swedish island of Gotland. Looking at the paintings instantly triggers holiday mood. Unfortunately, these unsung heroes of background art aren't credited directly to their work, although a list of names are included at the back of the book.

Most of the art have interesting comments by Miyazaki and the other artists. At the back, there's a section on basic camera techniques and how they are used in the film. And finally, there's the complete screenplay.

Highly recommended for all fans of the film and Studio Ghibli.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for artists, May 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
I'm an artist, and I bought this book because I like to see how other artists work. This book has lots of sketches by Miyazaki, who is tremendously facile at sketching. He also adds loose watercolor washes to some pictures. I'd like to see him at work, because it all looks so effortless. There are also pictures from the actual movie, of course, and work by other artists who prepared the film, as well as a complete plot synopsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful art book, January 3, 2007
By 
Remo Williams (Bloomfield, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service is a wonderful art book for fans of Miyazaki's film who also happen to be artists. The background paintings are phenomenal and the quality of the printing brings them out so very clearly. If you're an artist, you'll drool over the artwork.

It is a collector's item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geat, June 19, 2014
By 
Debra Young (Chebanse, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
Bigger than I thought , A very nice book. A very nice table top Book. Has beautiful illustrations inside, and the screen play for the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of KiKi's Delivery Service, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
The book is large and coated so the pages are protected as I know my granddaughter will be looking and drwaing pictures from it. The print is good and pictures absolutely beautiful. For anyone loving Miyasaki's movies, these books show the drawing to finished product for the movies. Definitely collectors items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiki's art book is fun and energetic like the film, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
The Studio Ghibli art book series is marvelous. The images are well laid out with great infomation about the film and the film process. If you are a Miyazaki fan I would highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic artwork, July 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
I love this book. it adds a further appreciation to a movie I love so much. It's worth the buy, if not only because it's so cheap on amazon, but also if you enjoy the movie. It really helps you see deeper into the film than one would usually care to think about any movie!
Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great title for the Studio Ghibli Library, June 28, 2011
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
The format for this book is very similar to Porco Rosso (i.e. same page number length, screenplay at back, hardback with no dust cover).

The book is divided into the following parts:

In the Beginning
Art of the Animated Film
Animation Technique
Screenplay of the Film

The Animation Technique section is a nice bonus which is missing from the Porco Rosso title. After reading many of these titles you start recognizing many of the artist's names who work for Studio Ghibli.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful but I wanted more!, February 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
I liked this book very much. The illustrations are superb and the comments and character design sketches are very inspiring. The only complaint is that there are not enough of them compared to the vast majority of film stills, which are gorgeous, by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures and quality. I bought this as a gift for my granddaughter and she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki
The Art of Kiki's Delivery Service: A Film by Hayao Miyazaki by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover - May 9, 2006)
$34.99 $25.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.