Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost awesome-ness volume 2
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:13 Mins
I love the first film and its art book. This second art book is almost awesome-ness volume 2. If you're unable to get the first art book for whatever reasons, you should definitely get the second art book while it's still in stock.

It's a hardcover 156-page art book. The concept art is fantastic. It consists of character designs,...
Published on May 10, 2011 by Parka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hubby is a fanatic for KFP
Got this for him and hoped it would have been as good as the first book. It's not. It is good and well illustrated. It's just no where as good as the first book was. If you love Kung Fu Panda and all the swag you can get your hands on (granted there's just not much out there). This book is a great buy. It's still wonderful for the artwork but I think the first was more...
Published 13 months ago by Xenophobia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost awesome-ness volume 2, May 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:13 Mins

I love the first film and its art book. This second art book is almost awesome-ness volume 2. If you're unable to get the first art book for whatever reasons, you should definitely get the second art book while it's still in stock.

It's a hardcover 156-page art book. The concept art is fantastic. It consists of character designs, background paintings and storyboards. Everything's printed big. The commentary are on the story and characters so that's always interesting.

Nicolas Marlet is still the character designer. There are additional character designs here, those that didn't make it the first film, and those created for the second film. The new gang of characters are mainly the bad guys. There are lots of sketches of expressions and characters in their kung fu stance. Mr Ping, Po's dad, is also given coverage as the history of Po is uncovered.

The background art is inspired by Chinese towns, architecture and paintings. The set design is wonderful. It's really cool to see old Chinese buildings designed and used in animated films, to great effect I must add.

Now for the disappointing thing about the book, the binding is bad. After reading for a while, the pages came off the spine and now hanging by the threads that hold them together. I was hoping this would not happen because the Rango art book I bought also came with a bad binding, also published by Insights edition. Again, maybe I received a copy from a bad printing batch - I said that in the other review too.

Anyway, if you're getting this book in UK or Europe, it's distributed by Titan Books. The prices are slightly different. Not sure about the binding quality for that.

Overall, it's awesome-ness with a bit of letdown. Sounds strange? Yes, unfortunately. -1 star for the binding.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to see Lord Shen in action, May 15, 2011
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
As the other reviewers have mentioned, the layout and printing are as good as the first Art of KFP title. The sketches are all reminiscent of the first title also, and I am particularly excited to see Lord Shen in action. I'm much more pumped to see the movie now that I have looked through the book. I am giving it 5 stars because I have not had the binding issue that Parka mentioned, and my copy does not show signs of irregular cutting as another reviewer mentioned. I'm not sure why there are variations from one copy to the next. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Dreamworks best art books to date!, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
Definitely five stars to the content of this book! Artistically, it's impressive and fresh. From a design point of view, it is quite unique in it's character designs (of course, Nico Marlet!). From an animators point of view it's been really awesome to analyze the gesture drawings and storyboards included in the art book. The paintings, which most are digital instead of traditional like it used to be, are simply amazing. Before this art book, the Art of How To Train Your Dragon used to be my Dreamwork's favorite art book, but now this one has come so close, so close that in fact I can say that this is my new personal favorite pretty much along with HTTYD, actually now that I think of it I can't really decide which I like the most. Both are fantastic!

(Note: before purchasing this art book I read several customer comments about the binding quality and it's issues, from my experience the binding is still good, but I have noticed it feels like if it's starting to give the issue mentioned on other comments, I don't know, maybe I'm just being too much of a paranoid.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing artwork, July 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
A very good art book, a good in site to the concept behind the film. Awesome artwork, great concepts... not bad to use as a reference for a fellow artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting images....!, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
One of the best things about a book that goes into the developement of an animated movie is seeing how the artist's concepts are realized. Such thought and care goes into creating this world of fantasy it is really educational how the artists need to have a real appreciation of the actual world of China and it's arts to create this gem. I love seeing the "bones" of ideas, the preliminary sketches of charactors as they go through their transformations. A book like this gives me the chance to linger on the background art, also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
If you owned the first KFP art book, you will not be disappointed. TAOKFP2 just a beautiful and detailed as its predecessor, and worth every cent. If you're an animation fanatic like me, it's a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A keeper!, May 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
Despite the few pages that are larger than the rest, my copy is well earned and a great addition to my collection!
From the concept art of character designs, most of which are illustrated by the magnificient Nico Marlet, to the locations/landscapes that embarks the story's setting in China, this is a must buy for artist alike and dreamwork fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is really really cool!, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
This book is really really cool! Not joking. This is worth the money if you're and artist. The art is fantastic and it's a great window into the development of animated film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
The look of Kung Fu Panda is gorgeous, looking at all the work towards that design in this book is an absolute joy for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hubby is a fanatic for KFP, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 (Hardcover)
Got this for him and hoped it would have been as good as the first book. It's not. It is good and well illustrated. It's just no where as good as the first book was. If you love Kung Fu Panda and all the swag you can get your hands on (granted there's just not much out there). This book is a great buy. It's still wonderful for the artwork but I think the first was more comprehensive and gave many more illustrations!

It's still a great book. It just gets 3 stars for not being as jam packed as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2
The Art of Kung Fu Panda 2 by Tracey Miller-Zarneke (Hardcover - May 2, 2011)
$39.95 $29.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.