Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art of Marvel Studios
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:03 Mins
This is a set of four art books from Marvel movies. Each of the books was sold separately, although you'll find that it probably cheapest to buy them together in this bundle. Also, the thick outer slip box is exclusive to this set, as is a folded poster that's included as well. I own the Hardcover Editions, and would recommend that version -...
Published 8 months ago by JMM

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the Paperback Editions!
The quality of the paperback editions is terrible. The printing quality is fine, but the paper weight is horrendous. It is thin and flimsy (both the covers and interior pages) and the books collapse under their own weight because of this. You can't hold the books up to read without them flopping and curling over. I'm afraid to handle them because I fear I will tear the...
Published 14 months ago by Christian Luis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the Paperback Editions!, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art of Marvel Studios (Paperback)
The quality of the paperback editions is terrible. The printing quality is fine, but the paper weight is horrendous. It is thin and flimsy (both the covers and interior pages) and the books collapse under their own weight because of this. You can't hold the books up to read without them flopping and curling over. I'm afraid to handle them because I fear I will tear the tissue-thin pages! I've had plenty of paperback how-to books that are about the same size (Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull Photographic Journal, the Making of the Indiana Jones Movies are the most recent ones I got) and bigger, and they are much more sturdy as they are made with a heavier cover and interior pages stock.

My advice is to spring for the hardcover editions even though they are much more expensive. The paperbacks are very disappointing since they are practically impossible to handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art of Marvel Studios, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:03 Mins

This is a set of four art books from Marvel movies. Each of the books was sold separately, although you'll find that it probably cheapest to buy them together in this bundle. Also, the thick outer slip box is exclusive to this set, as is a folded poster that's included as well. I own the Hardcover Editions, and would recommend that version - although a bit more expensive, it's higher quality and will be easier to control.

These books are big and heavy, and the pages are full of vibrant colors. Photos are mostly high quality. The images used in the books includes conceptual artwork, paintings, and CG models. You will also find plenty of set photos and stills from the movies. There are also marketing/promotional materials, such as movie posters. One of the great things about these books is that there are a lot of alternate designs/art that did not make it into the movie - so you can see how the production design progressed over time.

*****

Below is a detailed list of the imagery you'll find in the books:

IRON MAN - Iron Man: The Art of Iron Man the Movie (Graphic Novel Pb)
- Iron Man suit concept art
- Photos of the Iron Man helmet and other pieces of armor
- Iron Monger concept art
- Jarvis/HUD
- Tony's Workshop & Malibu Home
- Stark's cars/jet
- Storyboards from various sequences in the movie

IRON MAN 2 - Iron Man: The Art of Iron Man 2
- Stark's Hall of Armor
- The suitcase suit progression
- Stark Expo concept art/logo designs
- Whiplash concept art
- Hammer Industries weapons - Army, Navy, Marine drones
- Black Widow & Nick Fury costume designs
- Storyboards of Stark Expo drone attack sequence
- Stark's Monaco car and racing suit.

THOR - Thor: The Art of Thor the Movie
- Thor comic book to screen comparisons
- Costume designs for Thor, Loki, Odin, etc.
- Dozens of various designs for Thor's hammer
- Asgard city and technology concept artwork
- The Destroyer design
- Jotunheim landscapes and creatures
- Frost Giants and their weapons
- Theatrical Movie Poster designs

CAPTAIN AMERICA - Captain America: The Art of Captain America - The First Avenger
- Captain America comic book art
- Costume sketches for Cap, Peggy Carter, Howard Stark, etc.
- Dozens of various designs for Cap's Shield
- Details of Steve Rogers transformation
- Red Skull design concepts
- Hydra weapons, including cosmic cube
- Hydra vehicles - tanks, train, airship, etc.
- Theatrical movie poster designs

*****

This set includes every art book from Marvel's Phase One, except for "The Avengers". You can purchase that separately here: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers.
Unfortunately, there was never an art book made for "The Incredible Hulk" (although I'd love to see one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcovers of all four Marvel "Art of " books, October 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
That's right! Don't pay those inflated secondary market prices for the Art of Iron-man books. Both original hardcovers for "The Art of Iron-Man" and "The Art of Iron-man 2" are included in this set! Note that the individual slip covers for the Thor and Captain America art books are not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARVELOUS: A Great Collection of Art Books, November 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
MARVELOUS. That's what this collection of MARVELS movie art books should have been titled. It is truly GREAT. Iron Man I & II, Captain America, Thor; If you liked those movies and you enjoy movie art books then this a collection for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality Art & Design, October 24, 2011
By 
Thanos of Titan (Hamburg, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
The Marvel Cinematic Universe is great! It is the way these Marvel comic movies should have been made all along. I wish so bad that Marvel would get the film rights back for X-Men, Spiderman and Fantastic Four and reboot them. Fox has done ok with some of these films but they are very inconsistent and often times horribly miscast or horrible written...with a few exceptions.

The reason Iron Man, Incredible Hulk, Thor and Captain America work so well is the great casting (Anthony Hopkins as Odin, Hugo Weaving as Red Skull, Edward Norton Bruce Banner....on and on), Awesome Sci-Fi Effects and top quality graphics, great stories, adapt comics to film well, and the great sense of humor.

These films aren't like the Christopher Nolan Batman series. You can't take that angle with these films. They are a different kind of story, to grand to be brought down to our level, so why not embrace the sci-fi element and make them more fantastical. That's why I think these films are so successful. What these books display is how great the art and design are, which is one of the things I love most about these films. This set is a must have! It collects all these great books in hardcover editions in one beautiful set. This is the best way to get all these books in one shot for a great price...this will no doubt be a collectors set that will be highly valued when out of print...so get two!

I collect "art of" books for films and this set is at the top of my collection for quality. Great concept art, writing, all the behind the scenes stuff artists like to look at...Don't miss out on this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Marvel Studios aka The Arrival of the Avengers, October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
Right now, Marvel Studios is on a roll. Iron Man, Thor, and Captain America are three of the best comic book movies ever. Iron Man 2 has its problems but it is still a strong sequel in many ways. The Art of Marvel Studios gives insight into the world and production of these movies. There are reviews of the books individually so I won't go into details. What isn't mentioned in the book's description is that it includes an almost movie sized "bonus" poster of the slipcase artwork that is approximately 36" x 22". As the Art of Iron Man and the Art of Iron Man 2 are out of print and very expensive. This collection is a really good deal at the price Amazon is now offering. The books are basically must haves for fans of the films and the lead up to The Avengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful set, August 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
After ordering The Marvel Phase 1 DVD set, Amazon popped up Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers as a recommendation. I don't usually buy art books, but I truly loved the film and wanted more of the Marvel experience. I loved it. It was a gorgeous, well-done book with brilliant photos and artwork, and a good bit of background information. So, I decided to look for other Marvel art books. Thankfully, this was available for pre-order, so I didn't have to worry about missing out on the now out-of-print Iron Man books. This set includes: The Art of Iron Man, the Art of Iron Man 2, The Art of Thor and the Art of Captain America. All four hardcover books come in a slipcase, without dust jackets. It also includes a limited edition poster of the slipcase cover art. Please see my pictures of the actual set I received.

THE ART OF IRON MAN. I think this is easily the best book of the set (though none are as good as the Avengers book). It goes seriously in depth into the design of the suit, including CGI modeling, testing the physics of how it would work, and more. There is also a lot of attention spent on Tony's mansion and workshop. The best part is how the book clearly shows the evolution of the film from the artists' renderings/designs, to models, to fully realized props. There is a lot of concept design, but also many photos & screen shots to act as counterpoint to them. The forward and background information on the character is brilliant, and Jon Favreau's enthusiasm for the character is noticeable. My only minor criticism is that sometimes the text got too close to the spine and was difficult to read. 4.5 Stars.

THE ART OF IRON MAN 2. Despite a feeling of redundancy (the previous book already spent a huge amount of time on suit design), this book was also very good. A good deal of it concerns the suits, of course, but the suitcase suit and War Machine provide enough new material that it doesn't feel like a retread. The text was more important here as the editor made an effort to tie into the comics, and what was pulled from them in the development of the film. I found the bits about Justin Hammer particularly interesting, since I didn't feel the character added much to the film. This book spent more time on other character designs, since we have new ones like Black Widow and Nick Fury. Overall, this was nearly as good as the art book for IM. 4 stars.

THE ART OF THOR. I was most excited to see this art book, and ended up being hugely disappointed. This was the weakest book in the set - by far. Odd as it sounds, I think what was missing from this art book was more text. There wasn't enough context for the artwork, and how and why it was used. The first part of the book, the design of Thor himself, was fine. There is a lot of concept art for how his costume could look, pictures of Chris Hemsworth through the creation phase, information on the design of Mjolnir, and more. Still, there wasn't enough contrast vis a vis the comics. And, much less time is spent on Loki (who has three different costumes to Thor's one), and why they made the choices they did for him. There are many renderings of possible looks for him, but not why they chose some over others. And, they never explain the need for three. The other characters get uneven and much less than deserved coverage of their costume designs in favor of having pages, and pages, and pages and still more pages of over-enlarged, near-abstract landscapes for Jotunheim. Yes, the ice planet. How many ways can you depict ice? The book spent almost as much time on Jotunheim as on Asgard. And few of the paintings had much detail. More time is spent on the frost giants than the Warriors 3 who have actual costumes and more screen time! Readers get a few pages on the armory, which would have been very interesting with more information on the various weapons/artifacts within it (like the Infinity Gauntlet). With the film taking place literally on another world, this art book should have been the best of the set. I'm not sure if it was the artists on the film, or the editor, but it was a big letdown. 2.5 stars.

THE ART OF CAPTAIN AMERICA. This book is actually better than The Art of Iron Man because it doesn't have the issue with the text creeping into the spine. Otherwise, the two books each display a perfect balance of context, imagery and design. Unlike Thor, this includes plenty of context and background information for the character, the design and how they drew inspiration from the comics. Just about every character design is covered, from Cap and Red Skull, to Peggy, the Hydra soldiers, and the Howling Commandos. The layout of the book is also exceptional. Concept art is showcased against actual film shots, and the resolution is reflected in appropriately sized images. Like in Iron Man, there are also a lot of weapon and vehicle designs included. 5 stars.

All four books conclude with a section on storyboards, and a section on how they marketed each film, with emphasis on one-shot posters. I would love to see a book devoted solely to the marketing for all the Marvel films, as these short chapters were very interesting and a great way to conclude each book. Overall, this set is definitely worth the purchase, and the price is reasonable considering each individual book had a retail of $50 without a slipcase. For those reluctant to spend so much, a paperback set will be coming. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major find, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
wanted to get a copy of the making of Thor, but the cost is now too high to purchase as a single volume. This way I was able to add the Iron man series and Captain America to my collection too. All for less then the Thor stand alone edition would cost me. Great book for anyone that loved the movies. if you like the movies you will love these. they are some of the best movie art books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good collection!, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
You can't really go wrong with Iron Man, so I liked very much both books about him. I don't really like the Captain, so I can't really say anything about his book.
But the thing here is The Art of Thor. This one is just amazing. The amount of art on Thor himself is huge, and all of them are very beautiful and well-done. There is a painting of Odin riding Sleipnir that I just wish I had it framed on my living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of Marvel artwork, July 7, 2012
This review is from: The Art of Marvel Studios (Hardcover)
This is a great collection of the Marvel films so far, packed with a ton of production and concept notes, and best part also lots and lots of concept artwork so you see how they visualized these classic characters for the modern cinema. There's an introduction in each book for each film going into the origins of the character, and guides you into how the filmmakers and designers began to make each film.

If you're a Marvel fan and especially if you're a fan of the films you should definitely pick up this set! Iron Man and Iron Man 2 books have been out of print for quite some time and now is a good chance to get in on this deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa07a2888)

This product

The Art of Marvel Studios
The Art of Marvel Studios by Marvel Comics (Hardcover - September 28, 2011)
$150.00 $101.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.