Prime Music
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Art Of Chill 4
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

The Art Of Chill 4 Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, October 9, 2007
"Please retry"
$19.55 $43.23

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Amazon's The Orb Store


Image of album by The Orb


Image of The Orb


The Orb virtually invented the electronic genre known as ambient house, resurrecting slower, more soulful rhythms and providing a soundtrack for early-morning ravers once the clubs closed their doors. The group popularized the genre as well, by appearing on the British chart show Top of the Pops and hitting number one in the U.K. with the 1992 album U.F.Orb. Frontman Dr. Alex Paterson's ... Read more in Amazon's The Orb Store

Visit Amazon's The Orb Store
for 49 albums, 6 photos, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 9, 2007)
  • Original Release Date: 2008
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Platipus
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #151,016 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Warszawa - David Bowie
2. Fearsome Jewel - Andrew Thomas
3. Edelblau - The Orb
4. Narcissist - Nina Walsh
5. Dub Power - Mad Professor
6. Duck You Sucker - The City Of Prague Phhilharmonic Orchestra
7. Garden Of Paradise - Steve Hillage
8. Tip Tip - Gundrun Gut
9. I Nearly Married Janis Joplin's Mum - Rootmasters
10. Beyond Light - Transmission
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Gas - Gas
2. Lumpy Psalms - Autolump
3. Nicht Die Welt - Ulf Lohmann
4. Smells Like Teen Spirit - Opium Jukebox
5. Inside River - Kaito
6. Codes - The Orb
7. With Oil - Thomas Fehlmann
8. Cuba TM - Schneider Tm
9. The West End Of a Duck Going East - Transit Kings
10. Fearsome Jewel - Andrew Thomas
See all 11 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Michael M. Johnsen on November 14, 2007
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is a compilation of various artists- some well known and others; not so well known. But the entire 2 disk set is nice to chill out too. Alex includes a Penguin Cafe Orchestra tune here (the "Sound of Someone You Love...")- a very pleasant suprise since I used to chill to this album in high school (~1984). Alex pulls in his past (working with EG records), and finally, has some interaction with Brian Eno with a 2004 digital remaster of "Taking Tiger Mountain." I've always wished for a collaborative album with Alex and Eno. David Bowie makes an appearance with an unusual track. But what really stands out is the Orb's own tunes. "Codes" has to be one of the better Orb tunes in the new Mellinium. "Inside River" by KaitO is also a stand out. Nice to hear from Fehlman - "With Oil" is a keeper. Steve Hillage and Mad Professor? It's an all-out Orb trip fest chill trip! As in: "chilly-chil-chillin'"
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By C. Burnside on November 9, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Liked it. A great album to put on and play. Good background music and relaxing to listen to. If you are into the Art of Chill series then you will like this addition.

Over the last six or seven years, the marketing of mix albums by certain artists has increased (eg. Back to Mine series). I think it is interesting to listen to a serving of good music that some of my favorite artists have prepared. Most people don't like albums as such becasue they are looking for new material by the featured artist. Others like it becasue they understand that this is not an album to promote new material, but to provide great listening pleasure.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I originally bought this CD because I am a fan of The Orb. Also, I was curious about the idea of chill music. From the moment I put the first disk in, I fell in love with it. After what must be hundreds of listens, I am finally prepared to write a review. What most struck me about this album and continues to give me enjoyment is the gentleness of the music without it being syrupy. It has never suffered the fate of some of my old New Age CDs that started to sound bland and a bit corny after a while. It continues to hold its own. The music is soothing and inspiring to my imagination. It is comforting, like an old friend. It has helped me relax and has served as great music to play when neighbors are just noisy enough to keep me awake. I have both painted to it and fallen asleep to it many times.

My favorite piece, "Gas 1", inspired me to purchase Nah Und Fern, a four-CD set that has also now become a favorite. But, I must admit, the Orb mix is like nothing I have ever heard and greatly compliments the original mix. It is like a late-summer evening breeze slipping into my dreams. Some of the songs are literally lullabies. The last piece, Husky Rescue's "Sleep Tight Tiger" makes me wish the singer was my dad singing to me. It is paternal affection at its best.

This may seem like an odd note, but I found it accompanied my summer Alaska cruise perfectly. Floating along the Inside Passage with its smooth waters and often overcast skies, glancing out of my porthole from time to time as I wrote out postcards or poems in my journal and listening to this CD will be a memory I will not soon forget. Sometimes I would pretend we had drifted off and entered another universe at the end of one of the fjords. This CD has inspired many dreams and pieces of my art.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?