Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comes with lots of environment art
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:21 Mins
Capcom and DONTNOD Entertainment have created quite a surreal dystopian world in the game Remember Me.

That world comes in the form of 2084 Neo-Paris. Parts of the city are now populated with cool sleek skyscrapers. Elsewhere, the city feels more gritty and weary. The art direction for the game is wonderful. The sci-fi elements are...
Published 18 months ago by Parka

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice reference book...
If you're working in the industry and love the game, you'll probably appreciate this book a little more.
Personally, I enjoy paying attention while walking through the game more than flipping through the book.
Published 9 months ago by I. Tang


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comes with lots of environment art, June 12, 2013
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:21 Mins

Capcom and DONTNOD Entertainment have created quite a surreal dystopian world in the game Remember Me.

That world comes in the form of 2084 Neo-Paris. Parts of the city are now populated with cool sleek skyscrapers. Elsewhere, the city feels more gritty and weary. The art direction for the game is wonderful. The sci-fi elements are nicely laid over a city that still retain the beautiful architecture. It's still Paris, it just looks and feels so different.

The art book is 184 pages, hardcover. Publisher Dark Horse has used thick low gloss paper. The reproduction quality is terrific.

About half of the book is filled with amazing environment art of the Neo-Paris. They explore the alleyways, streets, slums and interiors. The designs looks great, believable and moody. Many of these are painted to the level of detail that you typically get from photographs. It's astonishing. Every illustration wants you to spend time to study, to absorb what you've just seen. Most are printed at half page. Every one that's printed small will have you wishing it to be bigger.

The other half is packed with character designs. Mainly humans. There are only a handful of sketches, the rest are all painted in detail. There's a good amount of writeup for every page with the exception when the art goes two pages.

I've to list out the artists for their incredible work. They are Aleksi Briclot, Michel Koch, Frederic Augis, Gary Jamroz-Palma, Gregory Z. Szucs, Paul Chadeisson, Edouard Caplain, Alexis Smadja-Fellous, Bastien Ramisse, Regis Capotosto, Yan Le Gall and Cristian Buliarca.

This is an excellent video game art book. And this is the first game for DONTNOD Entertainment. More please.

Highly recommended to anyone who likes art.

Easily one of the best art books for 2013.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
The book is jammed with a lot of very nice art. It depicts a nice variety of the environments, characters and weapons. You can flip through parka's video review to see for yourselves.I think people who like concept books will be pleased with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bland Game, AMAZING Art!, October 15, 2014
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
I've had the opportunity to play both the game and see this artbook. Now let me tell you, the game is incredibly lacking in the gameplay and that's just me being polite.

But this review isn't about the game, it's about the book. Regardless of what your opinion of the game is, this book is a must-buy. It almost seems like a given that the artbook is great no matter what.

The art is so impressive, with such immersing details given the the setting, the technology, and populace within it. It really shows a futuristic setting that's both near-future and really far out there. Some of the concept art of the city looks a little too far future to believe it being set in the year 2084 (although given rapid advancements like the internet or even the cellphone, who really knows what the future can bring), but it's definitely something that can inspire anyone to want to take a page of the attention that has been put in the game.

What I am really fond of is the fashion, which was perhaps the biggest draw even over the technology with the environments being a close second. You don't see this level of detail and diversity in many sci-fi works when it comes to fashion wear, with jackets, pants, shirts, tuxedos, and dresses shown to speak more of the world and it's people than the environments ever could. It makes greater and more expansive use of brighter colors than predominantly darker ones (although dark colors exist along side them and add more to the complexity of the fashion) without looking cartoony about it, with combinations and cultural influences that rivals, maybe even surpasses Deus Ex: Human Revolution depending on who you are which I think is really saying something. And if anything, this is another reason to buy the book, to get an inspiration of fashion and how to design in for a futuristic setting - that's definitely something this book has opened my eyes on and made me more attentive of in sci-fi works.

The developers notes are worth reading as well. You can tell how much care and crafting they've put into the world they've made that you really don't want to see their efforts go to waste.

I reiterate, even if you find the game bad, the artbook is definitely worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
Easily one of my favorite art books! The style and mood of the work is very consistent and authentic. The binding is solid and the pages are thick. A must have for those who love scifi, dystopian settings and concept art in general. Only thing more I could want is lengthier character bios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive!, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
The artwork was impressive. It reflected the mood of the game thoroughly and further explained the characters. My art class members and I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Curious and Wonderful, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
If one is a fan of the game, this is a curious and wonderful compliment to a Dontnod collection. If one is an artist / illustrator in real life, then this is a good instigator of sparking creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fulfilled expectations, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
If you really like the game you should have this great book
Its success is based on its futuristic story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a great way to deepen into the compelling world ot Remember Me,, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
Even if Remember Me plot and mechanics' are not groundbreaking, it may have one of the best concept art in videogames. DONTNOD, under the direction of Aleksi Briclot, did a great job reinterpreting the cyberpunk style, making it its own. This book is a great way to deepen into Neo-Paris and the compelling world ot Remember Me. Here you'll find tons of sketches and concept art of the characters and backgrounds. You'll realize all the tiny little detail put on every aspect of the game. If you are a fan of the game or a fan of sci-fi in general, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Book, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Remember Me (Hardcover)
The book is gorgeous and has lots of neat bits of information about the game. The amount of detail in all of the concept art is amazing. For a hardcover book full of all color pictures this is a great price. Always a pleasure to look through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great artbook, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
'it's great
good design!
game is also great
worthy to buy
I really don't want miss it!
so remember me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Remember Me
The Art of Remember Me by Aleksi Briclot (Hardcover - June 4, 2013)
$39.99 $29.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.