Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for people in the food industry and for people who love restaurants
Quite simply the most interesting look into the art that is running a restaurant.

Like masters in any other field, those few truly elite restaurateurs share a combination of passion, skill, and years of experience obsessively pursuing their craft.

In this case-study of sorts, Nick Lander (a huge success both as a restaurateur, and as a...
Published 19 months ago by Nathaniel Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars high hopes
I had high hopes for the book, but it is a slow read. plots along a bit..... but there are some tidbits of information and insights that may not be available anywhere else, relative to the art, practicalities and insights relative to being a Restaurateur.
Published 14 months ago by Peter Jacobsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for people in the food industry and for people who love restaurants, November 21, 2012
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
Quite simply the most interesting look into the art that is running a restaurant.

Like masters in any other field, those few truly elite restaurateurs share a combination of passion, skill, and years of experience obsessively pursuing their craft.

In this case-study of sorts, Nick Lander (a huge success both as a restaurateur, and as a Food/Restaurant writer) takes us inside the world of some of the greatest restaurant creators he's come across in his long international career covering the subject.

I came across this book by chance, picked it up without knowing much of Mr.Lander, and within the first few pages I knew I had stumbled onto a gem.

Not a restaurateur myself, but I have tasted success in another field where passion is the number one ingredient. Lander peels back the layers and understands how to get to the heart of what has made each of his subjects the amazing successes that they are. His prose does equal justice to the talent he is describing.

A great read on its own literary merits, an indispensable volume for anyone in the food industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every serious professional chef, September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
Bought this for my son who is the chef/owner of a very busy 5-star fine dining restaurant. Content is creative, insightful and represents the full span of the restaurateur's sumptuous work. Given the demands of the industry, and passion one must have to be wildly successful, this book offers educational value on a topic chef/owners, in particular, thrive on but rarely have enough time to study. Informative, beautifully and skillfully written and sets both life and work in the context of the extremely demanding business. This handsome book is a fitting tribute to all those who bring joy to others through their God given talent and sweat in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, a must read for those that like restaurants, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
Any one that is interested in restaurants, either as a business or just as a pleasure must read this book. Full of excellent points of what makes the "difference" between a restaurant or a "great experience restaurant". How restaurants fails or succeed and the passion to serve the customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable to anyone interested in the restaurant business, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
I think the greatest quality in Nick Lander's book is that is was written focusing in the restauranter - not in the chef. A very pleasurable reading and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlighting, April 23, 2014
By 
Peter John Emblin (Lumpini, pathumwan BANGKOK Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
A great insight into the restaurant industry with cleverly told stories and great characters. A great tool for any one interested in how restaurants work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read for anyone thinking seriously about restaurant business, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
Excellent read for anyone thinking seriously about restaurant business.
Too many dreams are broken; too many emotional scars created and money lost in this industry and still many jump right in without the proper tools, knowhow, teams, etc. Knowing how to cook, even having a talent for creating incredible recipes is one thing...starting a restaurant is a entirely different creature. This is one of at least 3 books I would recommend to anyone thinking about getting in....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Bible, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
This book has taught me more about my profession than I could have ever imagined. I have studied it like a textbook. I practice the techniques and philosophies outlined in this book on a daily basis. I can tell you my confidence and vision has skyrocketed to new levels after hours of studying. I now have the intimate knowledge possessed by some of the greatest restaurateur's the world has ever seen. The Art of the Restaurateur has inspired me to push myself to the next level. This is the book you haven been waiting to read. I believe anyone who has visited a restaurant can find something to appreciate in this work. So many different topics are presented throughout. I thank Lander for shining a light on the men and women who put the thousands of moving pieces that each restaurant contains together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See The Other Side of the Table, November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
This book gives insight to the world of the restaurateur, which most would not notice. It makes one a 'better' diner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
I bought this for a friend and she love it. She always wanted this book and I have been looking for it for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars high hopes, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Restaurateur (Hardcover)
I had high hopes for the book, but it is a slow read. plots along a bit..... but there are some tidbits of information and insights that may not be available anywhere else, relative to the art, practicalities and insights relative to being a Restaurateur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of the Restaurateur
The Art of the Restaurateur by Nicholas Lander (Hardcover - September 17, 2012)
$39.95 $26.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.