Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Specifics of Talking in Various Situations.
Much of life starts with conversation. To some of us it comes easy, to some of us it is very difficult. Perhaps the hardest is the conversation at a job interview, or that first conversation with someone to whom you are attracted.

In the job interview, the interviewer will usually be asking questions. Your job is to provide the answers he wants to hear. Even if...
Published on August 4, 2005 by John Matlock

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More annoying than helpful
I have recently been into social dynamics and thought a book about the fine points of conversation would be helpful. Unfortunately, the book seems to be written by a prude who makes every effort to make your conversations as dull and boring as the book itself is.
Some major issues with the book.
a) Although "art" is the word chosen, most of the advice consists...
Published on June 22, 2007 by Brian E. Dean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More annoying than helpful, June 22, 2007
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
I have recently been into social dynamics and thought a book about the fine points of conversation would be helpful. Unfortunately, the book seems to be written by a prude who makes every effort to make your conversations as dull and boring as the book itself is.
Some major issues with the book.
a) Although "art" is the word chosen, most of the advice consists of things to avoid and in very specific detail (for example she says NEVER to say "to make a long story short")
b)More than half of the book text consists of assanine quotes from others that hardly relate to the subject as well as NUMEROUS and seemingly endless lists of statement examples (ie. "How nice of you" etc.) The author fails to realize that reading these are incredibly uninteresting and eliminate any sense of style one may develop. To top it off they are in alphabetical order which makes it easier to quickly glance over them.
c) The author seems to want to make you a parrot by telling you exactly how to respond in certain situations. She also often contradicts herself in these examples. She states to not say anything personal to anyone you meet yet reccomends a converstation starter as "you look fit, what do you do for a workout regiment".

Overall this book is a complete waste of time written by someone who I would never want to have a conversation with. She is so afraid of making a mistake that I would end up talking to her for an hour about the weather.

Conversations (at least socially) are meant to be fun, not exercises in safety. It is not the end of the world if you take a risk. It makes for a memorable conversation. I would avoid this book like SARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Option, October 12, 2012
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
There are other books in this field that are much better- How to Win Friends..., Conversationally Speaking, anything by Don Gabor. This book looked interesting because of how it breaks down specific situations (talking to people at work, talking to people on the street, etc.). The information in each of those subsections are largely pretty repetitive and not as specific as I thought they would be. The entire tone of the book is not encouraging either, which is tough for someone who is shy. The advice in the section on when to tell a joke is basically "don't tell jokes unless you are already funny because it will get awkward or you will offend someone." This may even be solid advice, but it should be phrased more positively for someone who purports to be a communications expert. I'd go with another book on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Specifics of Talking in Various Situations., August 4, 2005
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
Much of life starts with conversation. To some of us it comes easy, to some of us it is very difficult. Perhaps the hardest is the conversation at a job interview, or that first conversation with someone to whom you are attracted.

In the job interview, the interviewer will usually be asking questions. Your job is to provide the answers he wants to hear. Even if you decide you don't want the job, if you don't get an offer you don't get to decide.

In the romantic area it's really much easier. If both of you are interested, the conversation will flow - once you get it started. If the other person isn't interested, there isn't anything you can do to change it, move on to the next person. Getting it started is your job, and as with the other situations where you need help, this book will give you some good ideas. Good ideas of both things to say, and things not to say.

This book has eight chapters on the basics of being a good conversationalist. Then there are nine chapters on talking in various situations from the workplace to social events to talking with romance in mind. She knows what she is talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, January 27, 2009
By 
H. Singh "sim" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book because of the actual examples it gives that you may adjust as you need to. Most other conversation books don't give you that, and to that effect, don't really help people that are trying to figure exactly what to say rather than just underlying concepts. Though much of the book may seem bland for those who don't like to take manners into account, it is written properly as it is. I highly recommend this book for novice/intermediate individuals who want to improve their conversation skills!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How to be a boring individual, May 24, 2006
By 
K. Ranjan "SilverFox" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
The first 1 or 2 chapters of this book do indeed give you some good pointers on how to build rapport and to look for common threads, all very important parts of a conversation. However the latter chapters really get dull and tend to advice the reader to shy away from responding openly to real life situations such as when a friend approaches you with a problem, the author advices that you shy away from really putting yourself in their shoes and offering help, rather it gives you advice on how to decline offering help to someone in need. It also advices the reader not to tell jokes in any situation or to shy away from tellign detailed stories. Whilst for a social lepper this maybe sound advice most of us want to live in a world full of excitement and have conversations that are fullfilling for everyone, not just being a bore and trying to "fit in". Perhaps as an Brit this book is very American centric, but I'm sure even Americans are not even so boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not at all what I was hoping for, June 20, 2006
By 
Mbow (Atlanta Georgia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I put this audiobook in my Wish List several weeks before it came out. What I was hoping for was some good info on the psychology and execution of the lost art of conversation. What I got was an endless list of do's and do nots. I ONLY recommend this for EXTREME introverts. If you are looking to polish your social skills or socialize with anyone other than friends then keep looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If you tell me not to tell jokes in conversation, I will stop reading your book., November 4, 2014
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone actually hoping to learn conversational skills. The examples and ideology in this book are highly outdated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
I do really recommend this book for those who want to expand their knowledge about how to approach others in a wisely way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 20, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
Should read once nowadays people are being rude so how to handle you can think by reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, August 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation (Paperback)
Excellent book quality, amazing price, I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Talking to Anyone: Essential People Skills for Success in Any Situation
$22.00 $14.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.