Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full metal overload
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:55 Mins
Fans of the game, mecha robots, and sci-fi art would be delighted with The Art of Titanfall. Game developer Respawn Entertainment has filled all the 192 pages of this hardcover with wonderful concept art.

The artworks are a mixture, about half each, of in-game 3D models and digital art. And about half the book covers the mechas,...
Published 6 months ago by Parka

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had more Titans and robot art, less environmental paintings.
My book arrived today. Nicely bound, and as quality of a book as you would hope for. However, I was hoping for a LOT more artwork about the Titans themselves. Each of the three titan models gets a couple of pages of images, but the bulk of the book is human character art, weapons concept art, and the entire back half of the book is environmental studies, landscapes,...
Published 6 months ago by Aszurom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full metal overload, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:55 Mins

Fans of the game, mecha robots, and sci-fi art would be delighted with The Art of Titanfall. Game developer Respawn Entertainment has filled all the 192 pages of this hardcover with wonderful concept art.

The artworks are a mixture, about half each, of in-game 3D models and digital art. And about half the book covers the mechas, characters, weapons, spaceships and vehicles. The latter half, about 100 pages, covers the environment art.

Even though the book features 3D models as art from the game, these models are rendered really well with high resolution textures, good lighting and most importantly high poly-count models. They look great. You can still tell that they are texture-mapped, but they are not jarring or distracting.

Designs are fantastic. The artworks are printed huge so most of the minute details are even visible. The mechas and spaceships look really cool. Last few pages shows some actual maquettes (small) and a full-size Titan in some workshop.

There are a lot of environment art included, such as Demeter's futuristic cityscapes, devastated landscape of Fracture, exotic planets with leviathan bones everywhere, laid back tropical lagoon, and more. Again, lots of wonderful designs. As mentioned earlier, there are also 3D game graphics used here, and they do feel lacking in charm as compared to paintings. Nevertheless, all art pieces are good looking, just different in style.

The Art of Titanfall is a great video game art book companion.

Highly recommended.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had more Titans and robot art, less environmental paintings., March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
My book arrived today. Nicely bound, and as quality of a book as you would hope for. However, I was hoping for a LOT more artwork about the Titans themselves. Each of the three titan models gets a couple of pages of images, but the bulk of the book is human character art, weapons concept art, and the entire back half of the book is environmental studies, landscapes, etc. For a 190 page book about Titanfall, I think I should point out that there are TEN pages about the titans themselves. I was rather hoping for some looks at alternate designs in concept art, detail sketches from the artists showing how they developed them, and maybe some "Chilton's Manual" level of detail about them. Eh, not so much. Nothing here that you can't get yourself by taking screenshots within the game, unfortunately. However, there is a good bit of textual exposition that I haven't dug into yet.

If you want to see an example of my expectations completely met, check out the Pacific Rim art book. It covered all bases. http://www.amazon.com/Pacific-Rim-Man-Machines-Monsters/dp/1608871827
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition to my art book collection, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I collect art books, this is an awesome book, the pages look crisp clear. Eye candy for sure. Buy it if you have the money to :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this book, July 18, 2014
By 
Brady Thomes (Marysville, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
This book....what can I say, i love this book, it really sheds so much light on the background, setting, etc. of this IP. I loved the game, as brief as it may have been for populations on the PC, amazing while it lasted, and I fell in love with it all over again with this book, it left me with a greater appreciation for the game itself, and inspires me in many of my own artistic projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, with a very wide variety of content. More than I expected., July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
A fantastic book, with a very wide variety of content. More than I expected.

This book has so much, it was hard to get trough in one sitting. The quality of images and provided concepts is realy good. The majority of concepts are shown as 3d models, but has a decent amount of digital paintings and some sketches aswell.

The biggest surprise was that half of the book is about locations. The creative team put a lot of work in level design and the story behind each one.

All designs have a few lines written about them giving the best info needed.

If you love futuristic scapes, mechs and guns, this is the artbook for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I'm an environmental 3D modeler. Almost done with school getting my BFA. I love getting art books because of the inspiration they can give but also the references. This book is full of them. It's got awesome environments, characters, guns, and concepts. I'm pretty sure the gun collection for the concepts in this book is my favorite part. Very easy to scan and model over because of the layout they chose. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to be inspired or just loves Titanfall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great art book of great game, great quality, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
Great art book of great game, great quality.

Good colors and papers. Interesting concept art and some insights. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome world art book., April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I you want to get more from and into the "Titanfall World", this book is for you than. Makes a great addition to any collection too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifull Book!, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
The quality of the information, graphics, paper, binding and front and back cover is all excellent. Overall, the book exudes very high quality. Everything, from the initial sketches to the final artwork is top notch. The background information is detailed enough to be attention getting without being boring. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to have a either a coffee table book or an addition to their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
Great art for everyone in the business or who is aspiring to get into it.

Pros - a lot of great concepts 2D and 3D
Cons - unfortunate no "how to's"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Titanfall
The Art of Titanfall by Andy McVittie (Hardcover - February 25, 2014)
$34.95 $24.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.