Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full metal overload
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:55 Mins
Fans of the game, mecha robots, and sci-fi art would be delighted with The Art of Titanfall. Game developer Respawn Entertainment has filled all the 192 pages of this hardcover with wonderful concept art.

The artworks are a mixture, about half each, of in-game 3D models and digital art. And about half the book covers the mechas,...
Published 11 months ago by Parka

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had more Titans and robot art, less environmental paintings.
My book arrived today. Nicely bound, and as quality of a book as you would hope for. However, I was hoping for a LOT more artwork about the Titans themselves. Each of the three titan models gets a couple of pages of images, but the bulk of the book is human character art, weapons concept art, and the entire back half of the book is environmental studies, landscapes,...
Published 11 months ago by Aszurom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full metal overload, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:55 Mins

Fans of the game, mecha robots, and sci-fi art would be delighted with The Art of Titanfall. Game developer Respawn Entertainment has filled all the 192 pages of this hardcover with wonderful concept art.

The artworks are a mixture, about half each, of in-game 3D models and digital art. And about half the book covers the mechas, characters, weapons, spaceships and vehicles. The latter half, about 100 pages, covers the environment art.

Even though the book features 3D models as art from the game, these models are rendered really well with high resolution textures, good lighting and most importantly high poly-count models. They look great. You can still tell that they are texture-mapped, but they are not jarring or distracting.

Designs are fantastic. The artworks are printed huge so most of the minute details are even visible. The mechas and spaceships look really cool. Last few pages shows some actual maquettes (small) and a full-size Titan in some workshop.

There are a lot of environment art included, such as Demeter's futuristic cityscapes, devastated landscape of Fracture, exotic planets with leviathan bones everywhere, laid back tropical lagoon, and more. Again, lots of wonderful designs. As mentioned earlier, there are also 3D game graphics used here, and they do feel lacking in charm as compared to paintings. Nevertheless, all art pieces are good looking, just different in style.

The Art of Titanfall is a great video game art book companion.

Highly recommended.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had more Titans and robot art, less environmental paintings., March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
My book arrived today. Nicely bound, and as quality of a book as you would hope for. However, I was hoping for a LOT more artwork about the Titans themselves. Each of the three titan models gets a couple of pages of images, but the bulk of the book is human character art, weapons concept art, and the entire back half of the book is environmental studies, landscapes, etc. For a 190 page book about Titanfall, I think I should point out that there are TEN pages about the titans themselves. I was rather hoping for some looks at alternate designs in concept art, detail sketches from the artists showing how they developed them, and maybe some "Chilton's Manual" level of detail about them. Eh, not so much. Nothing here that you can't get yourself by taking screenshots within the game, unfortunately. However, there is a good bit of textual exposition that I haven't dug into yet.

If you want to see an example of my expectations completely met, check out the Pacific Rim art book. It covered all bases. http://www.amazon.com/Pacific-Rim-Man-Machines-Monsters/dp/1608871827
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition to my art book collection, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I collect art books, this is an awesome book, the pages look crisp clear. Eye candy for sure. Buy it if you have the money to :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, with a very wide variety of content. More than I expected., July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
A fantastic book, with a very wide variety of content. More than I expected.

This book has so much, it was hard to get trough in one sitting. The quality of images and provided concepts is realy good. The majority of concepts are shown as 3d models, but has a decent amount of digital paintings and some sketches aswell.

The biggest surprise was that half of the book is about locations. The creative team put a lot of work in level design and the story behind each one.

All designs have a few lines written about them giving the best info needed.

If you love futuristic scapes, mechs and guns, this is the artbook for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I'm an environmental 3D modeler. Almost done with school getting my BFA. I love getting art books because of the inspiration they can give but also the references. This book is full of them. It's got awesome environments, characters, guns, and concepts. I'm pretty sure the gun collection for the concepts in this book is my favorite part. Very easy to scan and model over because of the layout they chose. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to be inspired or just loves Titanfall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifull Book!, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
The quality of the information, graphics, paper, binding and front and back cover is all excellent. Overall, the book exudes very high quality. Everything, from the initial sketches to the final artwork is top notch. The background information is detailed enough to be attention getting without being boring. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to have a either a coffee table book or an addition to their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this book, July 18, 2014
By 
Brady Thomes (Marysville, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
This book....what can I say, i love this book, it really sheds so much light on the background, setting, etc. of this IP. I loved the game, as brief as it may have been for populations on the PC, amazing while it lasted, and I fell in love with it all over again with this book, it left me with a greater appreciation for the game itself, and inspires me in many of my own artistic projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it contains many excellent examples of all aspects of Titanfall, December 14, 2014
By 
Jack (Columbus, Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I frequently buy books of concept artwork and this one is top-notch. Hardcover, well-bound, crisply printed, and glossy, it contains many excellent examples of all aspects of Titanfall. It's light on text as I'd expect from an art book but does cover some of the background of the game's design. Overall an excellent addition to any collection of concept art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Titanfall Book Review, March 3, 2014
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
If the recent Titanfall beta has taught us anything, it’s that gamers can’t get enough of Respawn Entertainment’s mindchild. 2 maps and 3 modes of the game were enough to keep gamers playing for hours, nay, days after the beta released. And just like that, after a week full of surprisingly titillating gameplay, Respawn Entertainment dropped a note, ended the beta, and like a one-night stand, left us high and dry, craving Titanfall more than ever. Such is Titanfall; a game that many people had doubts about, but once the masses got a taste of the gameplay, we all knew that the skepticism would take a backseat to the perpetual fun we were having with the game.

Even up until now, we thought that there could be nothing more that would surprise us about Titanfall, that there couldn’t possibly be any more new revelations about the game. That all changed when Titan Books swooped in and released The Art of Titanfall. Now I’ll be honest: I love coffee table books, and even more than that, I love video game coffee table books. And would you care to wager what pleases my fancy more than that? You guessed right. Coffee table books about video game art.

You see, in these sort of books, you as the gamer get to look behind the scenes, directly at the developmental process of a game. You can check out the concept art, delving into each and every avenue that the developers thought to consider, whether it be a different idea that they had in mind for a character, who through deliberation turned out to look like something entirely different. You can see that sense of change, that constant evolution of concept, unraveling in front of your eyes so you can pore over the details at your own pace.

The Art of Titanfall, published by Titan Books, is not any different. Written by Andy McVittie, this huge, 192 page art book is chock full of art – conceptual and realized – developer and artist insights and commentary, as well as a panoramic look at the game’s artistic development, from the individual characters designs, the tank-like Titans, to the industrial sci-fi-esque battlescapes where I’m sure some of our future “disputes” will be contended.

Now I know what you’re thinking, “it’s only 192 pages long. How much content and information could they fit…” I’m going to unceremoniously cut you off right there – The Art of Titanfall contains a ton of content. Andy McVittie and the artists over at Respawn Entertainment cover a lot of ground in the Titanfall art book. And just like the book flows, content-wise I’ll cover each of the areas.

The book goes over the three key Titans; the Ogre, Atlas, and the Stryder (sorry folks, it looks like that’s the final count, future-DLC notwithstanding). The thought process behind each Titan’s creation and function are covered, to the point where they show just how many iterations the Titan cockpit view went through before the artists and developers locked down the final versions.

The Militia, IMC, Rebel, Grunt, Spectre and Pilot designs were covered as well, each with their own distinctive and functional looks, explaining why they looked the way they did. Creature designs (you heard me right) were also covered. Now as far as we know, there will be creatures in Titanfall. Most of them will be present to add immersion to the levels situated in far off worlds (read about the Boneyard level further on).

“From the beginning, we wanted to have exotic creatures inhabit our worlds. Some will walk or fly around levels harmlessly until people interfere. Others will attack when you just stare at them” – Tu Bui, Concept Artist.

And the creatures range in all sizes, from mountainous (and I mean that literally – some creatures completely tower hundreds of feet above tree lines) Leviathans, Flyers – threatening dragon-like creatures, sure-to-be-uncomfortably large insects, and quadripedal Prowlers, that look like juiced-up, bastard children of wolves and tigers (except they lift).

After the admittedly brief creature section, we’re thrown straight into covering spacecraft, aircraft, ground vehicles, industrial machines, robots, and weapons.

IMC Carriers, to space freighters. Brickships were broken down in depth, and look pretty badass in their own right. Destroyers look exactly like their name implies. Taking a page out of the Halo school of spaceship design, Destroyers are frightenly-realized literal gunships. They look like weapons of utter destruction.

Then come the functional, detailed and militaristic designs of the space faring and air-born ships like the Aliens-esque Crow, the Goblin Dropship, and the sleek Hornet Fighter. Will we be able to fly these beasts? Dear Lord please let it be. The designs are just alluring enough to make we want to climb in the cockpit and rain down death from above.

Ground vehicles designs are also shown, like the intimidating Assault car, the utilitarian Samson truck, and the very functional and overbearing tanks. Methinks these vehicles just might be player-controlled in the game. Nevertheless, the designs shown fit in quite flush with the world of Titanfall and who knows…we might actually get to take them around for a ride, gunning it underneath parkouring pilots and swerving around stomping Titans.

Some industrial and commercial vehicles are also shown, notably an industrial Titan of sorts, which looks much like the open-cockpit fork-lift suit from Aliens, but on steroids. Drones, and automated, insect- like policing vehicles, and other mechanized robotic contraptions closed off the vehicle section nicely.

The weapons, oh the weapons. The Assault rifles, rocket launchers, the Arc Cannon, the Rail Gun; each of these tools of mayhem and chaos look aesthetically brutal. Whether Titan or Pilot weapons, they all look like they can cause a decent bit of pain on the battlefield, no matter what the target is. The art book even goes insofar as to show how the smart bullets function after propelling out from the barrel of a Smart Pistol. Especially noteworthy is the Data Knife, and its ability to puncture and persuade – hilt that baby in a Spectre and you can gain its allegiance. Don’t try it on a Titan though. That might get you turned into a blissfully uninformed stain on the ground.

The locations section in the Titanfall Art Book is absolutely massive, giving the reader a detailed look into each of the familiar and alien environments in the game. The areas are gloriously detailed with artwork, screenshots, and detailed, historical explanations of their existence and purpose. The book covers each location’s hotspots, notable areas, and more. To cover this area of the book, we’ll go into each of the 12 individual locations listed in the game. Now before you start wearing your “Only 12 maps in Titanfall?!” hat dismissively around, remember that there still might be a few locations that haven’t been revealed to us, as the running rumor is that there’ll be 16 maps in the final game.

Training Ground – Training Ground seems to be the same area that we tried out during the tutorial portion in the beta, with profiled targets, and test bunkers throughout the area. A perfect, tight battleground that would get pretty chaotic with a full spread of teams.

Angel City – Ah, the best map from the Beta: Angel City. With its tight confines, Asian anime influenced aesthetics, and “there’s definitely a pilot hiding somewhere” layouts, it’s one of the more strategy-heavy maps on the list.

Outpost 207 – Outpost 207 is an IMC defense facility, located high in the mountains with panoramic skies above, and a decent view of valleys and mountains below. What’s distinguishing about this area is that it houses a gigantic military rail gun. Will it be usable in the final game? Let’s hope.

Fracture – Another map from the beta, Fracture is located on planet Victor in the Yuma system. Lush foliage grows over buildings, and the “destroyed beauty” theme is definitely in play on this map.

Demeter – Demeter is a very visually impressive map. It houses the refineries of the IMC military and is a major colonial base of operations for them. With an overbearing red giant covering half of an alien skyline, and a Mass Effect-ish terrain laying out the finishing touches, Demeter is a sight to behold.

“We knew we wanted to have epic skies and celestial bodies to help remind players that they’re in the Frontier. Demeter was a perfect fit for this red giant (star)” Todd Sue, Lead Environment Artist

Colony – Colony is an uncharted and fertile world far away from IMC forces. Formed from parts of the salvaged carcass of the IMS Odyssey, an IMC ship, its rebellious crew rose up against their IMC commanders, escaped to a far-off world, and formed their own outpost on Colony. You can see ingenuity in every corner of the map as the resourceful crew inventively used parts from the Odyssey to create bunkers, posts, and other structures.

Boneyard – Boneyard is situated on the planet Leviathan in the Badlands system. Leviathans, gargantuan beasts after which the planet is named, completely intimidate the landscape, whether they’re alive or dead. Creatures so huge that settlements are built on the rib cages and bones of the creatures. Their bony frames rise hundreds of feet into the air. Flyers, prowlers, and other dangerous creatures also lurk around this map.

About the Leviathans:

“Mountains are only as tall as this creature’s knees. Land shifts and clouds scatter when it moves.” – Tu Bui

The IMC is trying to re-establish their home on the planet Leviathan, using huge Repulsor towers in place to emit sonic deterrents against the local fauna.

Corporate – Hammond Corporation’s regional headquarters. The map is covered with sleek buildings housing shady corporate dealings and hidden military R&D facilities.

Overlook – Overlook is a prison complex set against a huge cliff-side. It has a very hard, industrial look to it and might be a pretty tight and frantic map for Pilots and Titans to fight through.

Nexus – Nexus is a war-torn location with battle-weary buildings and scarred by the destruction of war. You can definitely tell that some **** went down in this city, located on the planet Harmony (I’m not even going to talk about the irony of the planet’s name).

Airbase – Airbase is located on a distant moon of the planet Demeter. It houses the IMC’s Rapid Response Fleet, and is salted with a ton of vehicles, both air and spacefaring.

Lagoon – The Lagoon map is a natural setting among a collection of islands. It’s filled with lush jungles, oceanic views, and quite a few Rastafarian shacks dispersed throughout the map.

The guide also covers a few in-game graphics and insignia, as well as some intriguing signs and posters which aptly convey the culture of the world of Titanfall.

Maquettes – physical models, created by Joel Emslie, show a nice collection of models of the Ogre Titan, Spectres, Pilots, and a few other denizens of Titanfall’s world. A few pictures showing the construction of a full-scale Titan are also shown. (I’ve contacted Respawn Entertainment about shipping one to me, but so far, they haven’t responded. I’m sure it’s because the shipping costs must be sky-high. Yeah, that’s it).

Overall, The Art of Titanfall is a remarkable collection of the game’s art. From conception to execution, the book covers just about every aspect of the artists’ and game designers’ work, with thoughtful, detailed explanations tailing just about every piece of art and graphic. It even throws in quite a few revelations and insights about Titanfall’s world, and is truly a perfect companion piece to the game. The Art of Titanfall has taken up a permanent place on my coffee table, and yours could definitely do with a copy as well. Highly recommended.

“Titanfall was born from this chaos. When was it born? I can’t rightly say. There were sparks flown out early, but they didn’t ignite immediately. How was it born? Out of a desire to do something different and a need to manage the scope of what was possible. We were starting over. We had limited time and resources. We had to focus down to the core: This is a game and we know how to make games. There was never a clear path of how this one would come to be, but the result is rooted in the art and artists that built the foundation of our worlds and cemented our universe together”. Excerpt of Afterword by Vince Zampella, CEO Respawn Entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love this book., March 28, 2014
By 
Caetis "Caetis" (Portland, Or United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
This book is full of stunning, incredible art!
If you love the future and giant mechs, you'll love this book. If you've played the game, you'll love this book. If you're an artist and want inspiration for your tech/sci-fi work, you'll love this book.
Front to back and cover to cover it's filled with beauty. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Titanfall
The Art of Titanfall by Andy McVittie (Hardcover - February 25, 2014)
$34.95 $24.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.