Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great guide for life
this is a great handbook to own, it will teach you the importance of how and when to fight your battles, but more importantly..how to pick the ones you want to fight. you will know the difference. and if you follow these simple guidelines, you will succeed.
Published 8 months ago by JGal22

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into Chinese history, but limited practical use
The Art of War has in recent decades been applied to such modern day problems as politics and business - really anything where conflict can surface. It was also suggested reading during my entire time in business school. So, I finally pulled the trigger and read the "original" (or at least the most well-regarded translation) The Art of War. The most impressive thing to...
Published on April 19, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great guide for life, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
this is a great handbook to own, it will teach you the importance of how and when to fight your battles, but more importantly..how to pick the ones you want to fight. you will know the difference. and if you follow these simple guidelines, you will succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, July 1, 2012
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
This is about war, but it is more about getting things done. If you could only read 10 books in your lifetime, this book deserves to be on that list. I learn something new, every time I read this book. It is really neat. I know a former state representative, who reads this every single day, and gets something new, every time. Soul Sword: The Way and Mind of a Zen Warrior (Watkins Spiritual Classics), Path Notes of an American Ninja Master, The Book of Five Rings, and other such classics owe something to this book. It is simple, and profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, January 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
I got this because my son in-law needed to better understand business...this is a good book that helps many areas of life not just war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into Chinese history, but limited practical use, April 19, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
The Art of War has in recent decades been applied to such modern day problems as politics and business - really anything where conflict can surface. It was also suggested reading during my entire time in business school. So, I finally pulled the trigger and read the "original" (or at least the most well-regarded translation) The Art of War. The most impressive thing to me (which is explained in the introductory material) is how well the Chinese recorded their history. My only complaint about the introductory materials was that most great Chinese historical figures have multiple names - this makes it hard to track who is who in some of the commentaries. The actual strategies themselves are full of guidelines on determining your opponent's weaknesses, exploiting them and achieving victory. Not exactly full of moral or ethical advice, so I can't use much of it. I'm glad that I read it as it gave me a great look into Chinese history...but its practical use in my world is limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Execellent book more general or leaders should read this type of book., June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Very stragetic book good for the mind.
Recommend this book to friends and family.
like the book because it was straight to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thumbs Up!, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Great; Informative, Powerful, Thought-provoking Read!
My son said he could not put the book down and continues to read it repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Much Said With So Few Words, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
An excellent read. The principles of this book apply to so many aspects of life. It is not a long book. In fact, it is very short. That being said, you could read it in an hour or two, or you could chew on its words for an entire lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Everyone should have a copy of this classic around to glance at occasionally. I suspect it still is a textbook at West Point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Crap, crap, crap..., March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
This book is crap. It is put together poorly, in fact midway through the book there are a our twenty plus pages that are out of order and from some other book. Crap, crap, crap, don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Common theories that are (1) important nevertheless and (2) overlooked too often in modern game theory., March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
When I first sought out this book I did so because it seems to be everywhere. Everyone seems to have either read it or knows someone very close who has. It is in several movies and television shows; the list goes on. So I told myself, "I need to read this just to see what it is," and when it arrived I was surprised.

The book is incredibly smaller than I would have ever predicted, but this is not to say it is void of content. It seems to me to have been written in such a way as to avoid any irrelevant information. Without quoting or divulging its 'secrets,' The Art of War is a unique tool for looking into the strategic mind of the past, and for improving/refining/solidifying your own theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of War
The Art of War by Sun Tzu (Paperback - May 5, 2014)
$8.88 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.