Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!
I recieved my copy , today. This is one of the best instructional books , I've ever read. Filled with info ,projects,beautiful photos!
It covers all necessary information and more. I was thrilled to read about viking knitting.(Not very easy to find), it was in this book! I've never done a review before and i have many books.
I highly recomend. Can't wait to read...
Published on January 25, 2012 by Sandra Boyd

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like this sort of thing
I'm a jewelry instructor and I teach classes in wire wrapping cabocoons. I found most of the wrappings to be over the hill (in other words) too overly designed. However, you may like that sort of thing. I'm more into practical designs. What I did with some of the ideas was to cut back on them. This took some design rethinking on paper. Not much though. I don't...
Published 21 months ago by Catherine Franz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!, January 25, 2012
This review is from: The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry (Paperback)
I recieved my copy , today. This is one of the best instructional books , I've ever read. Filled with info ,projects,beautiful photos!
It covers all necessary information and more. I was thrilled to read about viking knitting.(Not very easy to find), it was in this book! I've never done a review before and i have many books.
I highly recomend. Can't wait to read more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art Of Wire:, April 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry (Paperback)
Very informative, and easy to follow instructions. Very happy with my purchases. Made a couple beautiful piieces with just a few changes from the original piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures and projects for all levels of expertise, March 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry (Paperback)
The projects shown are very well done and the techniques are well explained. I would recommend this book for your Wire Jewelry Making library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tangled, September 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good book on wirework. Loved the design on the front so had to get the book. Lots of great projects and techniques. I like the use of round wire where I would normally use square. I'm going to use more of the round in my designs too! The design on the the cover is still my favorite and easier than it looks. A good addition to your jewelry making library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Wire - Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry (Paperback)
The book begins with sections on materials such as Wire (different shapes, gauges, metals, hardness, etc.), tools (all the different kinds of pliers, etc.) and basic techniques (wrapping, hammering, loops, coils, etc.). I've never seen this next subject in any jewelry-making book before, and I think it's really helpful! The chapters are divided up into "Hammered Wire", "Wrapped Wire", Wire Filigree", "Wire Crochet", etc. The projects are beautiful. There are plenty of numbered written steps and plenty of clear, close-up photos to go with each step. This is wonderfully helpful. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I'm really impressed with this book, August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry (Paperback)
This book contains great advice and wonderful, FRESH ideas. It has projects for all skill levels. One of the best jewelry books I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like this sort of thing, February 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry (Paperback)
I'm a jewelry instructor and I teach classes in wire wrapping cabocoons. I found most of the wrappings to be over the hill (in other words) too overly designed. However, you may like that sort of thing. I'm more into practical designs. What I did with some of the ideas was to cut back on them. This took some design rethinking on paper. Not much though. I don't recommend this book for a beginner but more advance jewelry making. It will push your thinking outside the box though if you are seeking this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry, June 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book it has so many projects that are very simply, but beautiful. The book is so great that it is continuously on loan from my electric library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful wire works!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy to understand well written very informitive a joy to work with I just loved it am now twisting and bending like an expert thank you Marsha Michler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Informative, Well Done!, October 12, 2013
As a professional jewelry designer always working to expand and improve my skills, I found this book to be incredibly inspiring, informative, challenging, and innovative. The content is very thorough for covering a wide variety of skills and techniques and it offers many excellent projects for which to hone those skills. The instructions are clear and well thought out, it's loaded with photographs from start to finish, and the author goes into great detail with regard to tools, techniques, skills, and supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry
The Art of Wire: Creative Techniques for Designer Jewelry by J. Marsha Michler (Paperback - December 6, 2011)
$24.99 $16.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.