Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The SodaStream Bible!
I bought a SodaStream and soon started wondering whether I could make my own syrup. I quickly discovered that I was not alone and that there were several very good books out there to help me get going.

This is actually a review of three books about making your own soda. I got all three books out of the trusty Baltimore County Public Library and had a wonderful...
Published 14 months ago by Ex-Pat Brit

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you have a Soda Stream
Basicaly her recipes are only for soda syrups to add carbonation too. If you are expecting to learn how to make a self carbonated soda like the old fashoned gingerales or rootbeers this is not for you.
Published on November 20, 2012 by Pacycrochets


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The SodaStream Bible!, October 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
I bought a SodaStream and soon started wondering whether I could make my own syrup. I quickly discovered that I was not alone and that there were several very good books out there to help me get going.

This is actually a review of three books about making your own soda. I got all three books out of the trusty Baltimore County Public Library and had a wonderful time experimenting.

The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes by Andrea Lynn

This is the best book for those looking for recipes for syrups to put into their SodaStream bottles for two reasons: the syrups are pretty good and the concentration is right. They recipes are typically 1.5 to 2 tablespoons per 8-10oz glass, so you will need ˝ cup of syrup at the very most to work with the SodaStream 1 liter bottle - which is just perfect. Neither of the other books create syrups that have the right concentration. Indeed, this book is design for SodaStream and the author lists SodaStream as one of the essentials. The author is not affiliated with SodaStream. The book covers all the basic syrups and uses a variety of different sweeteners, picking the one that she most feels complements the recipes. As others have noted, this book is small, but that is just fine. When you only have a few ingredients on a page combined with some pretty basic instructions, you don't need to kill the trees. Two minor issues with the book: no index and no resources section. This book does not contain any information on fermentation for those interested in self-fizzing sodas.

Homemade Sodas: 200 Recipes by Andrew Schloss

This the best general book on making sodas, but not the best in any particular category, although it is the only one with a recipe section for using sodas in regular cooking. You can make syrups and learn about using fermentation, and there are recipes, including the famous seltzer matzo balls. Nice index and helpful section on resources. There is also a comprehensive introduction to soda making and good information on sweeteners. For those using a SodaStream, the concentration will not work with your SodaStream bottle, but, of course, you can just put syrup into a glass and add seltzer. Unfortunately, there are some clunker recipes, and I still have nightmares about the Date + Balsamic Vinegar experience.

If you are only looking for SodaStream, go for the Artisan Soda Workshop; if you are only interested in fermentation, you might want to look at True Brews: How to Craft Fermented Cider, Beer, Wine, Sake, Soda, Mead, Kefir, and Kombucha at Home by Emma Christensen; if you are looking for the best soda syrups available, then head for the next book, by Anton Nocito.

Make Your Own Soda by Anton Nocito

This book is in a different league to the others. This chap is the soda-maker royal to Martha Stewart! This is the put ice in a tall glass, add 3 tablespoons of syrup (plus a tablespoon of lemon juice or a dash of this or that - depending on the recipe), add seltzer, kick off the shoes and relax book. Wonderful index and resources. Here is an example of why this book is in a different league: The cream soda in the Lynn and Schloss books consists of just vanilla beans, water, and sugar. In the Nocito book, that basic recipe is called vanilla soda. Nocito's cream soda includes boiling sugar in lemon water to caramelization before adding more lemon water, the vanilla beans, and a dash of salt.Wow! What a difference!

Just a quick warning before you run off to try to make your own syrups: Cola is very, very complex, and you will not be able to reproduce Coke. Root beers are also very complex, with lots of ingredients. With such complex syrups, the effort may be more than it is worth. If you are going for cream/vanilla soda or ginger ale (basically, sliced ginger, water, sugar, plus some ground ginger for extra oomph), then you will be fine - just remember to get the best ingredients.

Enjoy your soda experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to make natural sodas and skip the artificial ingredients!, October 19, 2012
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
This is a cute little book that is jam packed full of good recipes. The author starts out with a brief introduction that includes information about why you would want to make your own soda. She really stresses the natural ingredients in homemade soda and the fact that you can control just how much sugar you want to put in it. She discusses a few of the basic tools you will need for making the syrups (potato masher, strainer, etc). She recommends a Soda Stream unit for making the sodas but points out that you can use store bought seltzer water. I have a soda stream and can tell you it is incredibly easy to use and a great way to make cheap, carbonated water. You don't NEED one for these recipes but it makes them alot easier to make and more convenient.

I love that the recipes use all sorts of different sweeteners including agave, honey, raw cane syrup, maple syrup or regular sugar. They each have their own characteristics when it comes to flavor so your resulting syrups will also carry a touch of flavor from the sweeteners. The author starts out with 'basic' soda flavors like cola, lemon-lime, etc but quickly moves into unique pairings like kumquat with rosemary or blackberry lavender. When you are making your own sodas, the possibilities are truly endless when it comes to flavors!

Along with traditional syrups there are also things like aqua frescas, shrubs, and even some concentrates for adding to alcoholic drinks like the Hot Buttered Bourbon. You can use the syrups for icecream floats, cocktails, or many other drinks. Personally, I think some of them would go great just drizzled over a bowl of oatmeal!

There are several very attractive photos scattered throughout the book and the recipes are very easy to follow. If you are interested in switching to a more natural diet but don't see yourself giving up soda, I think you will really appreciate this book!

Disclaimer: I received one copy of this book at no charge in exchange for my honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you have a Soda Stream, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Basicaly her recipes are only for soda syrups to add carbonation too. If you are expecting to learn how to make a self carbonated soda like the old fashoned gingerales or rootbeers this is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique drinks, great for parties, August 1, 2012
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
What a fun and unique recipe guide. I recently brought a couple jars of various syrups to a July 4 party and I can't tell you how many compliments I got on my contribution. Folks loved mixing the Rhubarb-Grapefruit syrup with vodka--what a hit on a warm summer afternoon! I plan to make syrups my new gift in 2012/13 and am already thinking about the upcoming fall holidays.

Andrea's recipes are easy to follow, ingredients are minimal and the book itself is just so darn cute. This would make a great stocking stuffer (along with a jar of your favorite concoction).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Your Own Soda and Save Money, August 8, 2012
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
The 411 by Maria:
WOW...I am in love with this book and have made two pints of homemade Fresca already. One for me and one for a friend to try. Pictures to come. It is super easy and shockingly tasty. Who knew?!

I am not a big soda drinker and probably only soda, once a month and not a full glass either but occasionally I enjoy it.

Last year I wanted to get myself a SodaStream but financially there was never enough in the extra cash pile to do so, mostly because there is never an extra cash pile. However, you don't need a Soda Stream to use these recipes if you use Seltzer. As non soda drinkers, we have seltzer in the house most of the time and all these recipes can be used with Seltzer.

There are some pretty interesting ideas here too.

Make your syrup add it to the seltzer and you had homemade soda.

I even loaned the book out to a friend of mine who owns an Inn because I thought the recipes were so unique that she may want to use some of the ideas for specials on her menu.

The homemade Fresca I made was only seltzer, red grapefruit and agave syrup. So easy and delicious.

I am thinking of making myself a jar of Banana-Brown Sugar Syrup to put on top of my morning oatmeal. Sounds so good, I am craving it right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes if you don't want to use the pre packaged syrups for Soda Stream, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
I didn't want to use the pre packaged syrups for the Soda Stream.
Why choose a healthy alternative to sodas if you are not using healthier ingredients.
The first recipe I tried was the pineapple basil (hold the sugar). Basil from the garden and pineapple juice from the pineapple tidbit can. It was tasty. One of my favorites.
We don't use sugar, and there are many recipes that are still great when you hold the sugar.
It's a good book to have in the reference library at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes for syrup, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
This is a good book if you are looking for ideas and recipes for syrups to add to sparkling water. However if you are looking for a book that focuses on brewing soda from scratch I would look for another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple pleasures & party pleasers!, August 13, 2012
By 
Kim Michelle "KmL" (Brentwood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
There are quite a few soda books floating around right now that involve crazy ingredients and special gadgetry. This book throws those out the window and has simple and accessible recipes that still have a lot of punch as fancy drink options for a weeknight, weekend or dinner party. I'm going to feel so silly the next time I spend $14 on a specialty cocktail at dinner when I now know how simple these syrup combinations are to whip up at home! Next recipes on the list to try: agua frescas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home made sodas, July 13, 2013
By 
J A Nelson (Eugene, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
You made each syrup/soda from scratch, so the preservatives and other additives are not in it. If you have a carbonator like the SodaStream, make your own fizzy water, then blend with syrups, fruit juices, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for summer drink ideas!, August 6, 2012
By 
Kathryn (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More (Paperback)
I've been enjoying going through several of the recipes in this book. Some of them I am really looking forward to making, like the Strawberry Balsamic Shrub! I didn't even know what a shrub (the drink, not the bush) was until this book.
There are other fun recipes and ideas that I'm looking forward to the opportunity to try, like the sea salt lime syrup for margaritas! Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.