Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Classic in the Segovia Tradition
Christopher Parkening's work has always been nothing less than stellar. This particular collection of works is drawn from four previous releases (and also includes unreleased recordings), and is exemplary of his artistry and talent. The recordings are as crisp and clear as the day they were set down on tape. His expression and tone are without comparison. The selection...
Published on February 17, 2000 by blender

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not what I expected.
This was not what I was looking for. I listed to a little online and thought it was what I wanted but I'm disappointed.
Published 21 months ago by P. Von Holdt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Classic in the Segovia Tradition, February 17, 2000
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
Christopher Parkening's work has always been nothing less than stellar. This particular collection of works is drawn from four previous releases (and also includes unreleased recordings), and is exemplary of his artistry and talent. The recordings are as crisp and clear as the day they were set down on tape. His expression and tone are without comparison. The selection of works on this particular CD show his ability to perform classics in the broadest range imaginable, and does so with ease.
The liner notes give great detail on each piece, including a brief history on Parkening himself. If nothing else, this brings the listener even closer to the performer, something I find rare in the classical music genre.
I once attended a concert given by local artists in a small church in Germany many years ago, and whenever I listen to this CD, it brings to mind memories of that afternoon. Parkening makes you feel as though you are in the room with him, listening in awe; you are never aware that he is playing in a studio at all.
Overall, this is a great example of one of the world's greatest classical guitarists (he's number one on my list).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensible CD to any music collection, August 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
This cd is a fine collection of some of the works released on Parkening's first four recordings, "In The Classic Style", "In The Spanish Style", "Romanza", and "Parkening And The Guitar". The music itself spans more than three centuries and effectivly demonstrates what the guitar is capable of in the hands of a great master. The disc begins with some of the better known transcriptions of Bach,and then moves on to some rarly heared guitar transcriptions of Mompou, Satie, Poulenc and Ravel. The entire album is wounderfully played, technically flawless and very expressive. As always Parkening plays with a beautiflly warm tone and a poetry reminiscent of Segovia's playing. I give this cd my highest recomendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bach at its best, April 24, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
The best part of this CD is the Bach recordings. I could listen to the Fugue from Violin Sonata No. 1 over and over without let up--it's astounding. The Chaconne is one of the best recordings of that most exalted work by Bach. The main reason I didn't give this CD a 5-star rating are the non-Bach selections, which although played brilliantly, are not among my favorite compositions. The exceptions are the charming Renaissance pieces for lute and the impressively transcribed and skillfully performed "Empress of the Pagodas." To be sure, there are some beautiful and dazzling passages within many of the other pieces, which makes this CD definitely worth it. However, the best Parkening release is "The Great Recordings," which is a double-CD set with a greater variety of music and includes the Fugue and a few other recordings from this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, July 26, 2008
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
This CD transports you to a place without time, stress or concerns. You quickly stop thinking "how can he play like that?" and just accept that you are transported to a peaceful place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The CD Matches The Sheet Music., October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
Christopher Parkening has published some of his pieces on sheet music. I play guitar, bought his sheet music, and this cd helps in practicing the music. He is a lovely guitarist and I appreciate both his music and his offering the accompanying sheet music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music. Great performer., April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
Parkening is wonderful. And this particular selection of music is a favorite of mine. If you haven't gotten into Satie's Gymnopedies, give them a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just what I expected, February 25, 2013
By 
C. Castillo (Kailua-Kona, HI, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
Fell in love with the "In The Spanish Style" years ago and wanted more. Love this too, will buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional guitar, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Christopher Parkening for some time -- and he has elevated the guitar skill above the mundane -- a sensitive and evocative performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, July 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
Christopher Parkening is, by any scale, an excellent guitarist. He brings life and emotion to all that he does, and this CD is no exception. It's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a magnificent touch on the fretboard., October 11, 2006
This review is from: The Artistry of Christopher Parkening (Audio CD)
Parkening has such a sensitive touch. He can make the softest song come alive into a world of its own with simple picking techniques. Or, on faster pieces, his brilliant interpretation and dexterity are truly amazing. You'll experience a wide range of emotions when listening to this CD, and you'll be in awe of Parkening's mastery of the classical guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Artistry of Christopher Parkening
The Artistry of Christopher Parkening by Christopher Parkening (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.