Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Justice in beautiful Cyprus
this mystery is full of twists and motives from all kinds of suspects who coulda/woulda/shoulda killed the truly hateful victims. (i wanted to kill both of them too!) totally recommend this book.

the author has been compared to Agatha Christie. But I disagree. Christie's characters are 'true' - as are Mortimer's. But Mortimer colors her characters more deeply,...
Published on April 2, 2012 by Elva Moser

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant characters
I got the book based of the reviews and the fact that it was supposed to be written and/or is compared to Agatha Christie's style. Big mistake.

In a small village on Cyprus, Leslie, a aging Lothario, is murdered brutally. Soon, we discover that pretty much everyone of the small expatriates community may have a reason to kill him.

I love Agatha...
Published on April 14, 2012 by North


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Justice in beautiful Cyprus, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
this mystery is full of twists and motives from all kinds of suspects who coulda/woulda/shoulda killed the truly hateful victims. (i wanted to kill both of them too!) totally recommend this book.

the author has been compared to Agatha Christie. But I disagree. Christie's characters are 'true' - as are Mortimer's. But Mortimer colors her characters more deeply, provides more background and backstory. Her narrative contains subtle psychological nuances. When you're done with the story, she's pretty much told you everything you need to know - if only you'd read the signs more careful.

diana and steve are a charming investigative couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking mystery..., September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book after I got past the first few chapters. At first the "players" were confusing to me because of the number of suspects and how the story jumped around. But as I started to sink my teeth into the underlying story, I could not put this book down. I thought it was a clever idea to use the theater opening to set up and maintain the tragedy behind the underlying story.

I love a good mystery that keeps you guessing, and that was the case for me in this book. It was complex enough that every time I thought I had everything figured out, there would be another twist or revelation. I look forward to reading the author's next mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent psychological mystery turned tragedy, August 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village (Paperback)
Faith Morimer's Assassin's Village is the kind of mystery I love to read, psychological and delving beneath mere motives to the twisted and eventful stories about people involved with a local murder. I kept looking at the cover because masks are employed throughout and that intensifies the mystery. The murder scene, because of the suave Leslie's many sordid offenses, is attended by discreet spectators. These and other affected neighbors are each portrayed with pasts that bring many of them to the small village in Cyprus. The individual stories are taken up and told to a present where the confrontations with other characters inhibit the truth. And that's where a character's mask takes over, meeting another mask so that the dialogue perplexes.

This is the stage that the newcomer, Diana, attempts to penetrate as she struggles to write a novel. Although the rehearsals of MacBeth are stalled amongst the British ex-patriotics, the role of Lady MacBeth might be stealthily executed by one of four women. That, while Mediterranean and other male vendettas creep into play.

The history of the British on Cyprus extends this mystery, meting out their relationships with the local Cypriots. All of the characters are fascinating; their habits and quirks in this setting held me rapt. I was reminded of Doris Lessing and Muriel Sparks' stories about ex-patriot British people in Africa.

Assassin's Village begins as mystery but halfway through, it becomes a tangle of tragedy, mounting until it has revealed the inner grief of the woman most damaged. Throughout, the scenes and the characters are held in lively balance, keeping tragedy underneath and delighting the reader's senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it to the end., April 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
By all means, you must read this book to the end. I admit, I hesitated part way through, but am quite glad that I finished it. The characters are unique and the story takes a number of twists. You'll be surprised to see who the murderer is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written Island Murder Mystery, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The first few chapters were a little hard to grasp due to the introduction of so many characters, but as the story unfolded it held my interest until the very end. It kept me guessing until the very end trying to figure out 'whodunit!' I also loved the island setting for the book! Thank you Faith for a well crafted murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great' who done it' mystery, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is not just a `who done it' but also a wonderful picture of ex pat life in Cyprus. Ms Mortimer brings all her ex-pat characters alive with a sure touch and a deft stroke of the pen. But she doesn't just stop there. She also gives us an insight into the Cypriots as well. Their way of thinking as well as their way of life.
Her characterisation is the reason this book works so well. It is so well written, the book is an easy read, as not one word is out of place or unnecessary. A tour de force of the `Who done it' mystery genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Assassins' Village, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Assassins' Village (Paperback)
The Assassins' Village
Author: Faith Mortimer

Reviewer: R. Murry

Ms. Mortimer's novel starts you off with a zinger that holds your attention until the last `t' is crossed and the last `i' is dotted in the final chapter. And even then, you're not certain as to if the mystery is solved. Agatha Christie novels kept me on the edge, as this well written "Who done it?" tale. A little Macbeth is appropriately used as the "Lead in" on each chapter. Who could ask for anything more? Well, this mystery makes you think - Is it him? Or, is it her?

Our sleuth, named Diana, is a foreigner living in a small village on the island of Cyprus where everyone knows everyone. The reality is that the villagers don't have a clue as to what their neighbors' rumored backgrounds are. They only surmise as to what is real or not. One relocated Englishman is murdered and everyone is suspect except the ones who were at the restaurant with Diana and her husband Steven - of course.

Diana, a writer, lists all that could have committed the crime. Its Ms. Mortimer's prose that paints a vivid character picture of these would be murders. This is all portrayed in the colorful scenery of a beautiful island. It would seem that any of her finely developed characters on the list could have done the deed, because Leslie, the victim, has negatively commingled with many of them.

What is the instrument of the murder? This is what the reader my pick up on, but I do not think that will happen until the end of this book. It's when Diana learns the truth about one of the characters. This is my kind of mystery - you think you know who did it, but you don't until the end.

If you're like me, this gem of a book will grab you and you will want to read another of Faith Mortimer's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting reading, October 22, 2011
By 
Mrs. Phyllis J. Burton (fARNHAM, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Assassins' Village (Paperback)
Faith Mortimer's book 'The Assassin's Village' is an excellent read. The format is unique and each chapter starts with a quote from Macbeth, so the reader immediately knows that the book will be exciting. The characters are intriguing and very well rounded: each one seems to have a reason for thoughts of murder, but author Faith Mortimer keeps everything really close to her chest until the very end.
A really good book which can be recommended to anyone who wishes to be entertained and surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written murder mystry, February 5, 2013
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fans of PD James and Minette Walters will be drawn to Faith Mortimer's work. This novel is carefully crafted and surrounds the viscous murder of a particular nasty individual. With a seemingly endless list of suspects the writer carefully disguises the identity of the true killer right up until the final page. Set in Cyprus a place the author clearly knows well, the characters of the ex-pat community are well drawn and fully rounded. I highly recommend this book and any others from a writer with a growing reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly constructed thriller, September 3, 2011
This review is from: The Assassins' Village: A Mystery & Suspense Thriller in the Bestselling Diana Rivers Series (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It's taken me a while to complete this book - not through any fault in the writing - life just got in the way!
Faith has created a brilliant thriller here. All the characters are painted wonderfully, the setting in Cyprus is equally good, you can feel the heat and the suffocating atmosphere of the storms.
Can't say any more without giving away spoilers but if you are looking for a good read then I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.