Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HORROR/THRILLER SLEEPER
Rebecca Hall stars as Florence Cathcart an educated woman who debunks spiritualists. The movie opens with a seance in 1921 London. Our heroine springs into action.

She is then requested to come to an orphanage where a ghost of a boy has been spotted and photographed. She dismisses the ghostly images, and accepts the task.
Florence is an independent and...
Published on July 31, 2012 by The Movie Guy

versus
30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly close to something great but not quite there
The Awakening has all the trappings of a classical ghost story and starts strongly off the mark, mixing the post-Victorian fascination with seances, the massacre of World War I and the oddly placed skeptical brilliance of an educated lady who debunks the nonsense. Twenty minutes in, I was expecting a tightly plotted masterpiece that would keep me guessing and finally...
Published 23 months ago by James Beswick


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HORROR/THRILLER SLEEPER, July 31, 2012
Rebecca Hall stars as Florence Cathcart an educated woman who debunks spiritualists. The movie opens with a seance in 1921 London. Our heroine springs into action.

She is then requested to come to an orphanage where a ghost of a boy has been spotted and photographed. She dismisses the ghostly images, and accepts the task.
Florence is an independent and educated woman, who smokes. She reminded me of Anne Hathaway in this role. As her investigation proceeds, Florence begins to doubt her skepticism/atheism.

Interesting film with a twist that has clues. Good use of sound. Enjoyable. 4 1/2 stars.

PARENTAL GUIDE: Sex and nudity (male and female)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "TRULY TERRIFYING!", September 1, 2012
This creepy gothic thriller/horror is set in old England, 1921. This production is your typical British Haunted House Movie, starring Rebecca Hall who plays Florence Cathcart. Florence is hired to investigate a haunted boarding school, who has her doubts at first that ghosts are haunting the school. However, as the investigation continues, so do the eerie occurences around the school. The ghost hunter then becomes convinced that spirits of the dead are angry as the terror begins. Acting Performance of Rebecca Hall is perfect for this chilling movie, along with England as the spooky setting. Delightful for horror and thriller lovers on a dark, summer evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, January 27, 2013
By 
Ferdy (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Awakening (DVD)
This is a very well done ghost story set in early 1920's Great Britain. It is shortly after the first World War and terrible influenza epidemic and "a time for ghosts". Florence Cathcart is a nonbeliever who investigates claims of the supernatural and has never found evidence to support any kind of haunting. Then she is asked to investigate a boys' boarding school where the ghost of a boy is haunting the halls and has led to the death of one of the pupils. Florence is a strong minded, modern woman who goes about her task a bit like Sherlock Holmes does when solving his cases. Everything, in her mind, has a scientific explanation. She sets up tests to record temperature, measure magnetic fields, and even track footprints. As her investigation proceeds, what started out as just another false claim begins to get more complicated. The story is interesting and the actors are perfect in their roles. It's a bit predictable at times but never boring. This is a film that I would highly recommend for horror fans. There is some brief nudity and sexual situations so not for the younger ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly close to something great but not quite there, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Awakening (DVD)
The Awakening has all the trappings of a classical ghost story and starts strongly off the mark, mixing the post-Victorian fascination with seances, the massacre of World War I and the oddly placed skeptical brilliance of an educated lady who debunks the nonsense. Twenty minutes in, I was expecting a tightly plotted masterpiece that would keep me guessing and finally reveal some grand view from the jigsaw of clues. Unfortunately, that didn't happen.

The movie is shot beautifully and the director trades cheap scares for a long brooding eeriness that permeates the look and feel of everything. There are even moments of horror genius involving a doll's house that will make your skin crawl. There are so many good elements that make it feel like The Shining meets the Woman in Black.

But then there are so many scenes that go nowhere, clues that mean nothing and a rushed (and ambiguous) conclusion that doesn't ring true. I must have counted a half dozen red herrings that add nothing to the plot and have no payoff whatsoever. And once you know the big secret of the film, playing it backwards doesn't make much sense either.

This is brilliantly acted, especially by Rebecca Hall who practically carries the movie, and the direction is perfectly creepy. The script on the other hand needed more polish - it could have been a indie horror film classic but instead leaves the viewer frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suggestion for more movies like this one, please!, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Awakening (2012) (Amazon Instant Video)
I saw the reviews about the ending being somewhat contrived and cliched. Perhaps that is so. But for me, the ending could not detract from an artful, interesting, subtly creepy, atmospheric ghost story that kept me guessing. I loved the measured but powerful performances, the historical context and the moving but quietly frightening story line. (That peering into dollhouse scene is going to stay with me for a long time!)

I love this type of horror story and I loved this movie . . . be warned: this is not a slick, gory, cheap thrills, special effects type of movie.

Anyone else agree, would you please let me know of other movies that are similar? I find them far and few between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Awakening - a Gem!, February 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Awakening (2012) (Amazon Instant Video)
Bust out your mugs of cocoa, light up the fireplace, cozy up on a stormy night and watch this good old-fashioned ghost story. It has enough creepy atmosphere and spooky nuance to keep you completely engrossed. Everything clicks in to place and it is well worth a second, even third, viewing, it is THAT good! Excellently done start to finish, and this is rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good old fashioned ghost story!, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Awakening (DVD)
I love scary movies and its hard to find a ghost story that offers a lot of suspense these days with out the gore. This is by far the best one I've seen in years. Its got everything you would want from great actors to a strong story line and a great twist at the end yoiu never saw coming . Its just a great movie .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprise, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Awakening (2012) (Amazon Instant Video)
I just wanted to watch a spooky movie but ended up with something much more fulfilling. The movie was well shot and made me want to watch it over and over to get all the details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and Spooky, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Awakening (2012) (Amazon Instant Video)
Intense, fascinating. Reminded me of the classic mystery films, such as the Haunting or The Innocents, with a clever twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, creepy, period piece, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I waited for this film to come to one of my local cinemas, but it never seemed to get a wide showing.
Without giving away too much, it reminds me of "Haunted" with Aidan Quinn and Kate Beckinsale, especially the remote, creepy, mansion/boarding school brimming with secrets.
Rebecca Hall does a good job playing a strong, intellectual, woman - firmly grounded in science, but
secretly hoping for something more.
Dominic West plays a history professor dealing with the psychological debris of World War I.
All of the characters are haunted by things not necessarily of a supernatural nature, but there is still
something else lurking there......

Overall, I enjoyed the film, and am glad it finally became available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The  Awakening  (2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.