Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
Price:$39.99+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 15, 2007
Remember the proverb about the dancing bear? It isn't done too well, but you're surprised that it's done at all. That is the case with this collection...the first two Aztec Mummy titles have been VERY elusive, and it's nice to be able to see them, but don't expect as nice a treatment as Casa Negra would have given us. The first film is in Spanish only, and is of very muddy quality; at times it's difficult to tell what's going on. The other two films look better- though there is a nasty digital glitch near the end of the dubbed version of CURSE- and ROBOT's Spanish version looks the best. It's still the most entertaining movie of the three. I guess BCI did the best they could with this one, and they have released many kool DVDs recently, so they do deserve your support. THE AZTEC MUMMY COLLECTION, though, falls far short of BCI's best efforts, and is for diehards like me only.
33 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
I think this is a great set really. All three spanish Aztec Mummy movies plus the K. Gordon Murray english dubbed versions of parts 2 and 3. Its really quite amazing and in a very nice package. The really big problem is THE AZTEC MUMMY. The print is horrible. It looks like it was smeared with vasaline before its transfer. Its awfull. No other complaints really, but
given the lack of extras on disc one, they really should have thrown in at least one of the two movies Jerry Warren edited out of the the first film. Given the public domain status of these films , ATTACK OF THE MAYAN MUMMY abd FACE OF THE SCREAMING WEREWOLF, its almost a crime. Look, I know that Warren used very little of The Aztec Mummy in these films, but as extras they would be great.
And now that Ive seen The Aztec MummyI know why Warren edited them that way. Because The Aztec Mummy is the weakest film of the three and the Mummy Popoca doesnt even show up until near the end of the movie. In fact you will probably forget you are watching The Aztec Mummy about half way through. Another extra could have been Wrestling women vs. The Aztec Mummy. Its a different mummy, but this set really begs for extras.
All that aside, I think its a pretty good product comming from BCI. They are putting out really great quality sets like Filmation studios shows such as Ark II and Groovey Goolies as well as the inexcusably almost unwatchable awful
quality Ultraman sets.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2011
Overall, this set is not the best that Mexico has to offer as far as horror films, but considering that you get three discs for such a low price this would be a great starting point for anyone who wants to begin exploring international horror cinema. First of all, let me say that these movies are all pretty short, but are part of a continuing storyline. Because I ALWAYS watch movies in their original language, I will be reviewing the Spanish versions with the English subtitles. Unless you are unable to read or vision impaired there is no reason to not watch films, from non English speaking countries, in their original language and with English subtitles on. Only in the original language can a writer, actor and director's vision truly be seen.

La Momia Azteca (1957) Pretty damn good and without question the best of the three films on this set. Like all monster movies, you wish there was more of the namesake mummy. If the translations presented here are accurate (I speak some Spanish, but I'm not fluent) then the dialogue in this film comes across as more intellectual than the average low budget horror movie. The story of the Bat stealing the Aztec treasure is carried throughout all three films. The scenes with the Aztec ceremony and the hypnosis would definitely be considered "padding" within this plotline, but in the end, simply put the score is excellent and the mummy looks great.

La Maldicion De La Momia Azteca (1957) For some reason the aforementioned "padding" scenes from the first film are repeated here. The character of the Angel is pretty worthless and would be out of place in any country other than Mexico. Angel can't fight or act and he doesn't add anything to the plot. The mummy still looks great and it's kind of crazy to see all the main characters take numerous beatings. Overall, a silly yet slightly above average movie despite my criticisms.

La Momia Azteca Contra El Robot Humano (1958) I think the only sequel that had more flashbacks than this one is 'Silent Night, Deadly Night 2'. A lot of the story is told in flashbacks, but the first 25 minutes simply repeats scenes from the first two films. Within the flashbacks, we find out that the Bat is still alive and still causing trouble. Here he's creating life a la 'Frankenstein' with a hint of 'The Invisible Ray' thrown in, but we get a REALLY lame version of Frankenstein's monster. This film deservedly got the Mystery Science Theater 3000 treatment that I believe is also available on DVD. The graveyard scenes add a new element to the series, but considering that almost half the movie is a flashback, it's hard to call this anything more than an average horror film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
If you love trash cinema (like I do) you have to own this set! It consists of Attack Of The Aztec Mummy (in Spanish with English subtitles), Curse Of The Aztec Mummy (Side A - Spanish with English Subtitles; Side B - English dubbed version) and The Robot Vs. The Aztec Mummy (Side A - Spanish with English Subtitles; Side B - English dubbed version). All versions of each film are black and white. The only extra consists of a photo gallery on the Attack Of The Aztec Mummy disc, although the three disc set comes with a very attractive eight page booklet that gives us the history of these classics. The films have not been restored, so expect the slightly out-of-focus grainy photography you remember from the late show years ago. That said, watching the original Spanish language versions of these films makes one wonder what the original filmmakers were thinking; they wanted us to take this stuff seriously! And then there's the English language versions. Insanity on the hoof! This set very nicely takes me back fifty years to the pleasures of the Friday night late show, the high point of my week as a kid. And now, it's great wacky fun all over again. Five Stars. Check it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At last, the trilogy of the ages has been captured on DVD! Forget LORD OF THE RINGS, THE AZTEC MUMMY trilogy contains far more wholesome, cheezy goodness per ounce. In ATTACK OF THE AZTEC MUMMY (spanish w/ english subtitles), we are introduced to Dr.Eduardo Almada (Ramon Gay), his beautiful fiancée, Flor (Rosita Arenas), and the wicked BAT / Dr. Krupp (Luis Castañeda). Together w/ his henchmen, Krupp attempts to steal an ancient aztec breastplate / bracelet combo. This upsets Popoca, the mummy guardian! hilarity ensues. Next, in CURSE OF THE AZTEC MUMMY (in original spanish and english dub), Krupp returns to try once more to attain the breastplate and bracelet set. Popoca won't stand for it! Dr. Almada and Flor are joined by the mysterious, masked hero, "The Angel" to thwart Krupp's plot before it's too late. Then, in THE ROBOT VS. THE AZTEC MUMMY (in spanish and english dubbed version), Krupp builds a killer robot w/ a human head and burning touch, all in a last-ditch effort to finally possess the breastplate and bracelet! Of course, Popoca gets mad and battles the robot in a duel to the death! One great thing about these movies is that the entire cast remains the same throughout. This is Mexican cinema at it's best...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2008
Got my dvd box-set in. I've always enjoyed the mexican classic horror. I found these movies to be funny, and entertaining. As fo the quailty of the films. NOT BAD! I prefer to have these movies release at a reasonable price. Then paying a arm and a leg for them. I strongly recommend this set to own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2007
These are extremely goofy films that are good for laughs if you like this sort of thing.

The extended Aztec Karaoke scene is in all three movies. Watch the guy behind the drummer. He is trying very hard not to crack up.

"The Angel" super-hero is an inspired bit of plot revision, and the Human Robot shows what a determined director can do with a cardboard box, some glue and paint, and a few odds and ends from the junkyard.

None of the films is very long. This is a strong point.

And none of these have the sheer, sustained, loopy brilliance of "Wrestling WOmen vs. The Aztec Mummy." The mummy in that one says "Woo," and the Evil is defeated by girls with tight sweaters and capri pants.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
Good, not great image quality. Some of it looks pretty smeary. It would be nice if somebody found the negatives and made better prints, because these are fun pics to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2007
these movies are not as good as the universal monsters series but are fun if you aren't in too serious a mood. In the Aztec Mummy, researchers have to deal with arch criminal "The Bat" along with the Mummy who is just trying to keep tomb raiders from messing with a sacred Aztec temple.The mummy then has to deal with others looking to steal the Aztec gold and other interlopers in the subsequent featues. He isn't really scary looking,so don't expect too much along those lines Not included in this Mummy Marathon is "AZ vs the Wrestling Women'. But three south of the border thrillers should hold you. Best viewed with tongue in cheek and brew in hand.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2007
I thought the presentation (disc art, menus etc.) was great but these prints are in horrible shape. When Casa Negra is releasing quality prints at a very reasonable price, I expect BCI to do the same. Of course, it was not long ago that BCI was making millions by being the kings of cheap movie releases. Nice set for the price, but don't expect a great quality set. Oh, the subs are actually very nice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse