Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Important Reference for Today's Marketer
Prior to launching Domino Theory: Smarter Business Communications, I spent 10 years in B2B marketing publishing trade media (and 15+ in consumer marketing and media before that). Long before anyone had heard of social networks, inbound marketing, or social marketing many of my days were spent convincing marketers that their advertising dollars were best spent reaching the...
Published on January 9, 2012 by Jon Yoffie, Principal, Domino ...

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nope
I took a chance on this book, going against my better judgment. I usually never buy a book with only glowing reviews. So hopefully, this objective review will help some avoid the same mistake.

I bought this book because of Jon Yoffie's review. Read that review. It's informative. But don't buy the book.

And the bit on calulating ROI is bogus. Here it...
Published on October 14, 2012 by InfoJunkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nope, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
I took a chance on this book, going against my better judgment. I usually never buy a book with only glowing reviews. So hopefully, this objective review will help some avoid the same mistake.

I bought this book because of Jon Yoffie's review. Read that review. It's informative. But don't buy the book.

And the bit on calulating ROI is bogus. Here it is. Lifetime Customer Value MINUS Cost of acquiring a customer EQUALS: ROI.

There's a whole lot more to calulating marketing ROI than that. Cost per lead, Cost per sale, etc. Look at any good direct marketing book for that.

The main problem with this book it is vague and general. It seems to be written more for corporate types. So if you are an entrepreneur or small business owner I would definitely skip it.

You don't need a book to tell you to use content to drive traffic to your site.

Also, I usually never comment on production values...but this is a hard cover book. Nice on the outside. Ashame that the publisher was so cheap with the paper quality and print on the inside of the book.

I'm returning this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Important Reference for Today's Marketer, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
Prior to launching Domino Theory: Smarter Business Communications, I spent 10 years in B2B marketing publishing trade media (and 15+ in consumer marketing and media before that). Long before anyone had heard of social networks, inbound marketing, or social marketing many of my days were spent convincing marketers that their advertising dollars were best spent reaching the audiences we delivered. Year after year, because we had the leading media brands in our space, these marketers were generally in agreement that our magazines, web sites, newsletters, and conferences were the right places to promote their messages and products.

In 2008 things started to change. In October, when the markets crashed, ad spending all but stopped. As the markets found their equilibrium, we business publishers found ourselves in a new world. Ad dollars were not returning to the market. As we probed and did research, we found that dollars once dedicated to ad spending were being spent instead on web development and other marketing efforts that did not require our media partnership.

During the next couple of years it became increasingly clear that while manufacturers told us they value our trade magazines, web sites, newsletters, etc., they were finding that their businesses continued to thrive despite their reduced ad spend. What had changed?

What had changed was that manufacturers had found that through their email marketing and web initiatives they were able to create their own communication channels. Where they previously needed trade media to deliver eyeballs, they were now able to generate an audience on their own. Fast-forward to 2012 and this trend is still accelerating.

The B2B Social Media Book<----->Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, E-Mail and More by Kipp Bodnar and Jeffrey L. Cohen is the best resource I've found to date for B2B marketers looking to leverage the changing media/marketing landscape. When Bodnar responded to a tweet I posted about the book asking if I'd write a review, I figured, why not?

The thesis of the book is simple, social networks, search engine optimization, e-mail marketing, and specific web site tactics, when applied properly and scientifically, have created an opportunity for B2B marketers to shift the cost of marketing from an expense to an asset. Because these marketing messages are no longer fleeting advertisements in an environment created and owned by others, Bodnar and Cohen make a compelling case that marketing becomes an annuity that continues to pay dividends long after the effort has been executed.

The general concept is one espoused by Bodnar's employer, Hubspot, called Inbound Marketing. The concept is to be a resource when your customers are looking for information and nurture them along in their education and decision process. In dong so, your company is able to successfully position itself as the solution the buyer was looking for in the first place. It's a quite a bit more more complicated, but you get the idea.

The mindset that Bodnar and Cohen espouse is that once marketers shift from thinking about generating leads, counting Facebook Likes, etc., and think about driving profit, the game changes. Marketers are now able to track customers from initial contact through the sale and beyond. Bodnar and Cohen show not only what to do, but why you should be dong it and how it's going to impact your career.

If You Can't Count It, Why Do It?

While this is hardly the first book to talk about using social networks as a marketing tool, Bodnar and Cohen take the important step of adding quantification. This is the piece that is most compelling to me. I've always believed the mantra that, "If you can't count it, why do it?" As marketing moves from the mystical to the scientific, The B2B Social Marketing Book offers a great road map.

The key piece to quantification is the formula the book provides that shows how to calculate true ROI of the marketing programs you put in place. By being able to demonstrate true ROI, marketing value increases dramatically.

Parts of the book covering content creation, blogging, use of social networks, etc., have been written about ad nauseam, but having everything one resource makes it easy to grab one reference whenever a question arises. However, there are good tips on leveraging social media at trade shows and removing internal roadblocks to marketing success that should be helpful to most marketers.

One word of warning, both Bodnar and Cohen work for companies that would like to sell you marketing services (Hubspot and Radian6 respectively). The book dovetails nicely with their companies' offerings, as it probably should, but there are more references to Hubspot's services than one might expect in a typical business reference.

For my part, I'm a big believer in the concepts put forth in the book and use many of them to assist my clients. The ability to quantify your marketing efforts is a game changer and I'm convinced all businesses will end up on this path eventually. If you're exploring how to move your company this direction or have already begun the migration, The B2B Social Media Book belongs on your desk.

Jon Yoffie, Principal
Domino Theory: Smarter Business Communications
[...]
jon@dominothry.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read. Great Tips. Actionable Information., January 12, 2012
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
I've been waiting for a book like this for quite some time. Most social media books focus on the B2C aspect, but this is the first book I've come across that focuses on B2B. Also, I was glad to see that the authors included Email marketing in their mix of social media tools. Email marketing gets overlooked but it's one of the better (and most underutilized) secret weapons.

I also found the information on blogging quite helpful. The book kind of demystifies the whole blogging world and gives some good tips on how to use blogs for business.

I wish this book came out a while ago, but it was worth the wait. If you're looking for good tips written by guys who have the experience to back it up, I'd recommend this book. For me, it was just what a B2B person needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BE THE LAST PERSON IN YOUR INDUSTRY TO READ THIS BOOK !!!, January 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More

VP of Marketing, CEO, Sales VP, Business Owner...STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING.....it isn't working any more. Cold Calls!!:(, email blasts, trade show attendance and everything you learned about selling/marketing and customer acquisition has changed, and it's for the better. These guys get it, Bodnar and Cohen put a step by step road map to cutting sales cost, condensing the sales cycle and generating leads via blogging ,Linkedin, Twitter, Facebook, email and more. Do not be the last person in your industry to read this book. Chapter 15, "10 B2B Social Media Roadblocks" is worth the price of book by itself, "legal wants full approval -of everything"' sound familiar. Find ways to make this roadblock work for you in Chapter 15, pg 185.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want Leads? This book is a valuable guide for B2B marketers, June 10, 2012
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
Let's get one thing straight, insist Kipp Bodnar and Jeffrey L. Cohen in 'The B2B Social Media Book,' social media marketing works just as well for B2B as it does for B2C -- and you can measure the results in dollars.

"Social media marketing," they write, "is not about generating buzz, creating content that goes viral, gaining positive mindshare, or using any other fluffy metric. Marketing's job is to contribute to revenue generation, not be a cost center for superficial activities with no clear return on investment."

"If you are not driving revenue, or leads as their proxy, it is difficult to measure the return," they note. "That's why lead generation is the cornerstone of this book."

The strong points of 'The B2B Social Media Book' are its chapter-by-chapter guides to establishing a B2B marketing program using your blog, LinkedIn and Facebook company pages, and Twitter. The authors provide tips for 'socializing' email marketing and present excellent ideas for making the trade show experience more social. Each chapter concludes with a three-step To-Do list to operationalize your program, along with key lessons and case studies from industry practitioners.

Bodnar and Cohen do a deep dive on content creation -- from blog posts to ebooks, webinars, B2B videos, and virtual conferences -- and discuss issues such as buying leads. There's a chapter on mobile, though it's more about optimizing existing content for mobile rather than actual mobile marketing or a robust discussion of apps and how to create an effective one for B2B marketing.

The book stumbles a bit whenever the authors try to tie in the hype of the subtitle about becoming 'a marketing superstar' and in sections on establishing a social media marketing program within a corporate hierarchy. These sections are far too short to do the topic justice and the recommendations suffer from a basic lack of expertise in the corporate arena.

The quality of their concepts, strategies, guidance, and tactics for B2B marketing on social platforms is so solid, the hyperbole is unnecessary. Ignore these final filler chapters and use 'The B2B Social Media Book' as a finely detailed road map for B2B marketers who want to start using social media right now to generate valuable leads and turn them into customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Buy!, March 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am an accountant and an aspiring Social Media Marketer. The B2B world overall seems to doubt the potential of social media marketing, but the authors address that issue in the first chapter, and explain why B2B business are better equipped for social media already than their B2C counterparts. The book identifies and explains several social media opportunities, and at the end of each chapter there are action items to help you down your path.
I'm very satisfied with the purchase, and I'm already putting together a holistic social media plan for the CPA firm I work for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for B2B marketers!, February 3, 2014
By 
Scott A. Inks (Muncie, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally, a book about social media marketing that positions social media as a set of tools for generating leads and increasing revenue. The authors provide almost step-by-step instructions for how to develop and execute social media strategies that are part of higher level marketing strategy. The book is well written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Well-Balanced Book on B2B Social Media, September 4, 2012
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
With The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More, authors Kipp Bodnar of HubSpot and Jeffrey L. Cohen of Salesforce Radian6 have literally written the book on social media best practices for B2B marketers.

Unlike the multitude of other social media marketing books, this one isn't about how celebrities build a huge Twitter following or how big consumer brands use coupons and contests to attract massive "likes" on Facebook; it's focused on the content-centric, information-hungry world of B2B marketing.

The book is divided into three main sections: The Fundamentals of Social Media Lead Generation, Social Media Lead Generation in Action, and Taking Social Media Lead Generation to the next level. As those headings suggest, this isn't a book about "engagement," conversations, shares, likes, followers or any other soft measures of social media success, but rather is focused on using social media to generate a high volume of qualified leads, the top priority of B2B marketers.

The opening chapter, "Why B2B is Better at Social Media than B2C," helpfully lays the groundwork for the book with two key sections. First, five reasons B2B companies are a better fit for social media marketing than their B2 counterparts:

* Clear understanding of customers ("B2B marketers go far past demographic data")
* Depth of subject matter expertise
* Need for generating higher revenue with lower marketing budgets
* Relationship-based sales
* Already have practice doing it ("long before the social web, [B2B marketers] were publishing newsletters, quarterly magazines and [using] other marketing tactics that map to many key social media marketing methods")

All of which should sound familiar to B2B marketers. Still, that said, the authors point out that there are situations where social media isn't right for B2B firms:

* Very small, concentrated market
* Purchasing decision makers are behind strong firewalls (e.g., the military, power utilities)
* No internal advocate for social media (i.e., lack of executive support)
* Need to generate a high volume of short-term sales
* Lack of resources to be successful ("you will always need more time and money than you expect for executing your social media tactics")
The book also points out that social media marketing takes time to produce results, as it more of a long-term investment than an immediate expense with a quick payback. "With the hurdles into publishing and information sharing now so low, it is harder than ever before for a company to stand out. A great CMO needs to take risks an try new things, while also ensuring that the entire marketing team understands that risk and polarization are accepted and encouraged for the success of the business." Fortunately, CMOs have a bit more luxury of time today than in the recent past, as the average tenure for a CMO has increased from just 23 months in 2006 to 43 months now.

After laying the foundation, the book steps through best practices for developing eBooks and webinars; business blogging; marketing through LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook; making email social; B2B social mobile marketing; and integrating tradeshows with social efforts. Along the way, the authors share numerous bits of marketing wisdom and findings such as:

Content really is exploding. "According to Google executive chairman Eric Schmidt, more information is created on the Internet in 48 hours today than was created by all humankind from the beginning of time until 2003."

You have to ask for leads. "The lack of conversion opportunities is the single biggest mistake that we see when speaking with B2B marketers working to leverage social media."

"Emulate the best, not your competitors." "The people who sign your multimillion dollar purchase orders read the New York Times, buy digital goods from iTunes, and order shoes from Zappos." Yes, you need to do a better job with search and social than your direct competitors, but for inspiration, set your sites higher.

Social media marketing isn't a campaign, it's a reorientation. "The only way to get more time back for new marketing strategies, such as social media, is to stop strategies and tactics that don't work. Stop now. This simple idea of stopping tactics that don't work will instantly make you a better marketer."

Search and social are inseparable. Given that the number of Google+ and Facebook shares that a piece of content gets impacts its search ranking, "SEO is the number one reason a B2B company should be using social media marketing" according to the authors. "Social media isn't the first thing a business should focus on to improve search traffic, but it is certainly part of long-term SEO success."

Content is core to social media marketing success... "Getting found on the web is a lot like winning the lottery. A person who has 100 tickets has a much better chance of winning the lottery than a person with only one ticket. In the world of social media, content is the equivalent of lottery tickets."

...but it has to be high-quality content. "The biggest secret in B2B social media marketing is that those companies that create great content consistently over time are the ones that succeed."

eBooks and white papers are complementary. Too often, these terms are used as synonyms, but there are important differences between the two formats which the book explains simply and concisely. "Traditionally, white papers have been more academic in tone and style. Although an eBook may strive to educate on the same topic, it would do so in a more entertaining tone, accompanied by images to help illustrate its points...Go for the eBook instead of the white paper when talking to nontechnical audiences." The authors also include an excellent "10-Step Blueprint to eBook Awesomeness."

Improve your webinar presentations with a live audience. Among the helpful tips in "Five Steps for an Engaging Webinar" is the suggestion to use a live audience: "Even if it is only one person, have someone else in the room with you while presenting a webinar. As speakers, we all use feedback from the audience to adjust our presentation. Since you can't see the people listening to you on a webinar, having a co-worker sit in as an audience to provide feedback is invaluable."

Keep videos short. "Perfection in B2B video is not when there is nothing left to add in, but instead when there is nothing left to remove...three minutes is an eternity on the Web."

And there's much more, including how often you should aim to publish new posts on a business blog, the best time to send b2b emails, and how to promote your company on Twitter without overdoing it.

The book has its minor flaws. Rank is not "dead" as the authors claim; true, with Google experimenting more with image results, additional ad placements, personalized search, and even displaying email results on SERPs, rank doesn't have quite the unique value that it once did. But it still matters; ranking at #1 or #2 will virtually always result in more clicks than ranking at #8, or #18, or #28.

The analogy used on page 65 is of questionable appropriateness for a business book, but it does get the point across. (No, I won't tell you what it is, you'll need to buy the book to find out.)

And the most significant criticism I've heard of the book is that it covers too much old ground. But in defense of the authors, given the wide range of social media knowledge in the marketplace (from newbie to expert), it's challenging to appropriately balance the risks of stating the obvious versus leaving out crucial detail. In truth, those who are relatively new to B2B social media will find the book an essential primer, while even seasoned experts are likely to discover useful tidbits.

Quibbles aside, Jeff Cohen and Kipp Bodnar have done an outstanding job of producing a B2B social media book with enough practical substance mixed with higher level theory to meet the needs of virtually anyone involved in this area, from entry-level practitioners as well as senior B2B marketing executives. The B2B Social Media Book deserves to be read, highlighted, dog-eared, Post-It noted and referred back to often by pretty much anyone whose role is impacted by B2B social media.

Read original review at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Social Media Book, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Email, and More (Hardcover)
Really dry reading. Couldn't get into it. It may have some good info, but just isn't reader friendly. Maybe someday I will look it over again, but regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for B2B Social Media, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are not enough books written on B2B social media to begin with. For companies who need to know "what" and "how" to do social media marketing for business-to-business, this is a great book to begin with. Well written and understandable for most levels of online marketers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.