Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tale of History Set In Modern Times
As a lover of history, cars, and speed, the opening autobahn chase scene immediately catapulted me into this story, from the crash of a high-speed Porsche to the introduction of the high-stakes intrigue.

Meet our "banker spy", American Peter Armstrong - a man with a challenging past both in his career and his personal life. Peter is fired after a large deal he...
Published 21 months ago by D A Bale

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, Suspense/Thriller, E-Book
Some well-placed, well-timed terrorism worked for Adolf Hitler, and it might be just what Germany needs to prosper once again.

History repeats itself.
Published 15 months ago by Jill Bemis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tale of History Set In Modern Times, December 6, 2012
By 
D A Bale (Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
As a lover of history, cars, and speed, the opening autobahn chase scene immediately catapulted me into this story, from the crash of a high-speed Porsche to the introduction of the high-stakes intrigue.

Meet our "banker spy", American Peter Armstrong - a man with a challenging past both in his career and his personal life. Peter is fired after a large deal he pushed through for a friend turns south. The sting of rejection reminds him anew of his failed engagement, ended by a calloused phone call. Then a European bank handpicks Peter to oversee the largest international equity transaction offered by a European company, the prestigious Storch Motors. Storch's CEO has a reputation as a tyrant, but he also has ties to the current German chancellor, which brings with it certain perks. The Storch CEO bristles at all of the unnecessary inquiry as Peter questions the overall purpose for the massive cash influx into the company - and also the reasons for the chancellor's involvement.

Chancellor Denker secretly idolizes Hitler, but this information could defeat his reelection bid if the general public were made aware. From the initial meeting with Peter in Hitler's "Eagle's Nest" to revitalizing and utilizing old underground research and construction facilities for missile development, Denker lives to realize the reunified Germany's return to the glory of the Third Reich. He just never anticipated the tenacity of Storch's new banker, who questions every anomaly hidden in the company's financials.

When ex-fiance, Dayne Caymus, comes waltzing back into Peter's life, he's immediately suspicious of her desires and what she's doing in Germany, especially considering she's an agent for the CIA. As this femme fatale enters the scene, Peter's life gets turned upside down - again. But this time his life and the lives of tens of thousands are at stake.

I enjoyed most every aspect of this well-written, nicely plotted and paced story. The characters were well fleshed-out and neither flat nor one-dimensional, with difficulties shaping their pasts, potential life-altering decisions in their presents, and hopes for the future. The twists and turns kept coming, and once the action ratcheted up it didn't slow down. Being a World War II history buff, I loved "visiting" the old tunnels and elaborate underground Luftwaffe facilities, hangars, and camouflaged airstrips. It's truly amazing what human ingenuity accomplished to advance technology on both sides of the pond during that troubling time in our history.

The comparisons and similarities between Adolf Hitler and the fictional Chancellor Denker's antics, such as with the Sudetenland/Eastern Border Territory, were well managed and would be fairly simple to define by most readers with any knowledge of the era. However, I felt the usage of Hitler's questionable ancestry and possible Jewish roots by the Denker character to be a bit over the top. There was also one scene where Peter was mysteriously released from detention, which would never have occurred under the Nazis. That felt a bit unrealistic. However, the next time he was detained, the situation ended up being pretty intriguing in how it played out. Ultimately it made up for the previous dismissal.

I believe anyone who loves a good international thriller will find the action and intrigue in The Banker Spy enough to keep them reading until the morning's wee hours. It did me!

This review was originally provided as part of a blog tour, for which I received a free copy of this book. This is my honest estimation of the novel, and I was neither paid nor compensated in any way for this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IndieReader Review, March 5, 2013
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
American investment banker, Peter Armstrong, has a new job managing the large equity underwriting for a German luxury automaker. His life is finally on track after his ex fiancée, Dayna Caymus, dumped him via telephone. She not only broke his heart but also cost him his previous job. Now Dayna, a CIA operative, is back and needs his help. She wants Peter to use his new position to spy on the German government.

Media savvy Heinrich Denker, the incumbent German Chancellor has a political platform of "prosperity, security and unity" meant to restore nation pride and power. But U.S. National Security sources reveal that the chancellor has another agenda. He is using a luxury automaker to secretly produce missiles. Are these missiles to be used for satellites as he claims or for something more sinister?

As the Chancellor's intentions become increasingly suspect and CIA sources begin turning up dead, Dayna suggests that the CIA use Peter with his banking credentials to spy on the German automaker. Peter is untrained but expendable as far as the U.S. government is concerned. This isn't the first time that Dayna has used and discarded Peter. She is ambitious, but would she place him in danger just to advance her career? With world peace hanging in the balance, Peter is forced to put his fears aside and trust her once again. The last time he was involved with Dayna, he lost his job and his heart, this time he may lose his life.

Byrnes has done his historical research and includes extensive details of the political climate of post WWII Europe as well as the detailed world of international banking. The Banker Spy will appeal to readers who enjoy a multi-layered, novel with plenty of political intrigue.

Reviewed by Maureen Fajt for IndieReader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Mix of Action, History, and Romance, November 29, 2012
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
From the pulse-pounding opening scene, the action never lets up. Peter Armstrong, an investment banker, needs to rebuild his career and reputation. His last deal went sour, thanks to personal feelings clouding his judgment, and his industry rarely gives second chances.

Unfortunately, the company he's dealing with is involved in more than just selling cars. Soon, his path crosses with Dayna Caymus, a CIA agent who broke his heart years ago. When she asks for his help, he finds himself in the middle of government conspiracies that could easily lead to another World War. Peter quickly realizes that it's not just his career and heart on the line--he'll be lucky to survive.

The storyline gives readers twists and turns and plenty of action and intrigue, but it goes beyond that. There's something for everyone. For history buffs... German history is a detailed and interesting backdrop for the unfolding events. A fan of historical fiction, I found the interwoven German history fascinating.

For those who enjoy a little romance... Not only does Peter struggle with his feelings for Dayna, but he has a growing attraction to his coworker, Erin. I have to admit I found myself rooting for Erin. Dayna and Peter have history, but too much of that history includes Dayna putting her own needs first.

Some action stories build so much tension that character development is shaky at best. But, The Banker Spy has an interesting cast of characters whose feelings and backgrounds become as much a part of the story as the action is.

I highly recommend The Banker Spy to readers who appreciate a book that speaks to them on many levels. It's not a simple, one note action thriller. Instead, it's a compelling mix of action, history, and romance.

Note: I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review; the opinions expressed are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally engrossing!, September 27, 2012
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful combination of banking, European history, conspiracy and intrigue! The author maintains a terrific pace throughout the book which makes for a great reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced Espionage, December 24, 2013
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
When I first began this book, I was pretty convinced I wasn't going to like the book that much. There were portions that just did not seem to interest me. I was somewhat bored, and so I figured I would not give this book any kind of fantastic rating.

This is why it is so important to not give up within the first portion of a book. About one third of the way into the book, I discovered that I was actually interested in the story. Not only that, I was somewhat fascinated by this take on the story--I never considered Germany being any kind of threat in the world after WWII. This was an intriguing and somewhat scary prospect. And who doesn't like a good spy? With a hint of romance--that is unresolved--to it.

I am happy to report that there are no sex scenes, and the profanity is limited, even though I feel it is unnecessary. There are also no graphic details or descriptive senseless violence--always nice to report. There were portions of the book where I admit that I lost interest, but much of the book truly did keep moving at a pretty good pace. I struggled in the beginning to keep the various characters straight. I would have loved a "character list" or something because often in these kinds of books, I get confused with all the various characters. Again, just my opinion.

Do you want to read a fast-paced spy/intrigue/espionage book? This may very well be for you. I nvite you to check it out!

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Banker Spy, October 9, 2013
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
The story and characters kept you reading to discover what was next. Suspenseful all the way through to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, Suspense/Thriller, E-Book, June 23, 2013
By 
Jill Bemis "Penandtome" (St. Paul, Minnesota USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Banker Spy (Kindle Edition)
Some well-placed, well-timed terrorism worked for Adolf Hitler, and it might be just what Germany needs to prosper once again.

History repeats itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Banker Spy
The Banker Spy by William G. Byrnes
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.