Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Baseball Fan's Bucket List: 162 Things You Must Do, See, Get, and Experience Before You Die
UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2010
I have to say I was very disappointed with this book. Yes, it does give 162 things to do in your baseball bucket list. Unfortunately, if you are an average baseball fan, you can probably make up a list of 100 or more easily. The kicker was they separately listed going to Boston to see the Red Sox play, going to San Diego to see the Padres play, etc which was very redundant and nothing new. That's 30 things you know already! Then saying to watch Field of Dreams, Bull Durham, or read Ball Four, Glory of Their Times, etc-just was not worth making into a book. I guess I was hoping for something new, but previous books like Baseball Road Trip and 101 Baseball Things to do... already covered these ideas. $16 to hear the same things was not worth it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2010
If you love baseball, you'll love the 162 recommendations the authors, Robert Santelli & daughter Jenna Santelli, are proposing you do before you die. From visiting such venerable and historic ballparks like Wrigley Field & Fenway Park (my personal favorites), to reading some terrific books (this list only scratches the surface of "must reads"), to engaging in some wonderful activities, such as "fantasy camps" (try hitting Bob Gibson's fastball, even now), to exploring the wonders of Cooperstown; this book is filled with wonderful suggestions, although you may need a little extra cash in the bank to take advantage of all of 'em.

If you're on a budget, you can always peruse Bert Sugar's Baseball Hall of Fame: A Living History of America's Greatest Game; it's almost as good as going to Cooperstown. Since reading is an inexpensive way to savor the game's history, here are a few other recent publications to add to the list: Fifty-Nine in '84: Old Hoss Radbourn, Barehanded Baseball, and the Greatest Season a Pitcher Ever Had,Willie Mays: The Life, The Legend,Roger Maris: Baseball's Reluctant Hero &Satchel: The Life and Times of an American Legend.

Finally, learn how to play "Take Me Out to the Ball Game" on the piano, guitar, or harmonica. It's guaranteed to put you in the spirit for another new season; and you'll certainly impress family and friends; but play it with feeling!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
This is the "year of baseball" at our house since we are doing a road trip to see all 30 major league ball parks. This book has given me lots of ideas to enhance our trip and continue seeing and doing baseball related things long beyond the trip. My only complaint is that sometimes the author assumes you are a guy (which I am not), but I can live with that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
Book has good ideas but some of the things would be really hard to accomplish. Would be fun to try them all though. I understand a bucket list of 162 since the season is 162 but a list of 100 would have been much better in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
I love to-do lists and baseball, couldn't ask for a better combination. I was surprised that I've actually done 37 of the 162. I think I've done some of the difficult ones (# 12 keep score, 16 take kid to first game, 48 SABR, 69 baseball reference library, 84 own classic photo - autographed Willie McCovey). Now need to purchase a paper copy of book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
A fun, light read. As previous reviews noted, there wasn't much new information here to people who are fans of the game, but it was nice to see the authors' stories and experiences through their own eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
It is good to read how an american baseball fan can have achievements in a bucket list.
As a die hard baseball fan from Europe I am lucky to have at least half of the things from the book.
The book is informative and give us a good overview about the life of a baseball tourist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
This is a great list of things for the baseball fan to strive to do before you buy the farm. Many of these items in this book are free or inexpensive and are very possible to see and do. Take this along with you on your baseball road trips and in a few years you will be surprised how many of these you are able to accomplish!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2010
If you are a baseball fanatic like I am and are curious about things to do to increase your baseball love life then this is the book for you. It gives you a lot of details on 162 things that you should do before you buy the farm if you love baseball and comes with websites, phone numbers, and other information needed for you to do and check off these 162 things on your bucket list. A must buy for any baseball fan.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2010
There are some things a baseball fan must do to be known as a baseball fan. "The Baseball Fan's Bucket List: 162 Things You Must See, Do, Get & Experience Before You Die" discusses the many pilgrimages a baseball fan should undertake in their dedication to the game. The baseball hall of fame, major novels and films, collectibles, the world series, even fantasy camps, Robert Santelli and her daughter Jenna give a read that is sure to motivate any ballgame fan. "The Baseball Fan's Bucket List" is a key addition to any sports collection focusing on America's pastime.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.