Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars7
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2004
Having been raised by an extreamist feminist, I recognized many of the accusations made by LaHaye in this book as being genuinely part of the feminist/humanist agenda. Even had I not become a follower of Christ, I would have recognized every statement as being true. What was most eye-opening for me was how accurate the author was in his predictions. He makes many statements about how "20 years from now..." that, having read this book in 2002, 20 years after the initial publishing, I could see how accurate he was.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2015
Written for the 1980's, the message is still relevant today.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2014
It was heartbreaking to read the negative reviews some have given this book. I read it a long time ago and would give anything if I had read it sooner. It contains vital information I lacked during my late teens that I needed. (I'm in the market now for more copies of the book to give to young relatives.)

Though the book was written back in the 80s, ergo some of the stats aren't current, it's information is timeless. We are all injected into a world that sends such conflicting information, and yet we have a natural tendency to try to make some sense of it all. This book introduces a framework for sorting through information. It also covers aspects about the mind that everyone should have a basic understanding of because indeed there are forces that are battling for control of us.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 23, 2015
A great it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on April 26, 2006
Mostly interesting because 25 years after the book dominated the evangelical attack on humanism in public education, the language and paranoia are still fodder for the movement.

Obviously, fundicons will love this book and liberal intelligensia will hate it. I'm neither. As a Christian who does not identify as religious right, I personally found the book's checklist of political issues absolutely maddening. I don't think there's an inherently "Christian" way to view nuclear power or balanced budget legislation, and it galls me that someone purports to claim that there is.

The reaction to this book will be so tied to the politics of the reader that objectively reviewing it is impossible.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2007
Timothy LaHaye, best known as co-author and idea man for the Left Behind series, vomited up this work back in 1980 just in time for "morning in America." In it, he pits "God's wisdom" against "man's wisdom," and in the time-honored tradition of ideologues of every stripe, proceeds to define the former as everything he values and the latter as everything he derides. This isn't the place for a full rebuttal of this book (and that this book even needs rebutting bespeaks the current anti-intellectual state of the nation), but suffice it to say that LaHaye manages to be breathtakingly wrong-headed 100% of the time. To add insult to injury, his writing is juvenile, impressive only to those who recently graduated from his alma mater, Bob Jones University.

For LaHaye, following "God's wisdom" does not simply mean regarding the King James translation of the Bible as absolutely inerrant in all matters. It turns out that God is also the mind behind such wisdom as free market capitalism and American patriotism. The Bible, and Judaeo-Christian morality (as LaHaye defines it, of course), are the "intellectual base[s] for a morally sane society" (p. 49), an assertion that would certainly surprise ethical adherents of religions other than Judaism and Christianity. LaHaye even goes so far as to equate God's wisdom/Christianity with "science," albeit apparently not the same science that has its origins in reason and empiricism.

In opposition to "God's wisdom" is the wisdom of man, which LaHaye equates with humanism. But "humanism" for him does not simply mean the "broad category of ethical philosophies that affirm the dignity and worth of all people, based on the ability to determine right and wrong by appeal to universal human qualities" (source: Wikipedia article on "humanism"). Rather, LaHaye's "humanism" entails atheism, Communism, liberalism, socialism, Freudianism, higher criticism, feminism, sexual liberation, art, self-determination, rock music, tolerance, evolution, rationalism, empiricism, situational ethics, Unitarianism, and just about everything else that LaHaye doesn't like or find "moral." (Hard to believe he didn't include the commitment to universal literacy in his laundry list since the ability to read is what has led so many to embrace the "evils of humanism." Maybe he covered that in a sequel.) LaHaye is only the second person I've encountered who seriously regards Renaissance nudes as precursors to pornography (the first person being my father). He also makes no bones about condemning both the Renaissance and the Enlightenment as eras that brought us to this sorry state by insisting on evil ideas like individual dignity, self-determination, and the brotherhood of man. The fact that free market capitalism is as much a product of these eras as Marxian socialism escapes LaHaye, as does the fact that the Constitution was inspired by the Enlightenment ideas of Baron de Montesquieu etal. (That LaHaye attributes the idea of "separation of powers" to the Bible with a straight face indicates perhaps that he needs a straightjacket rather than a publishing deal.) Also conspicuous for its absence is any mention of the other world religions, even those that predate Christianity. I guess Buddhists, Hindus, Muslims, etc. are all just atheist, amoral humanists in disguise.

LaHaye's so-called research is pathetic. He bases his discussions of humanism on two publications and falsely asserts that these two works are definitive, "the official position of the humanist movement...accepted by the faithful as the current mandate on humanist beliefs, values, and goals" (p. 85). One doesn't even know where to begin dismantling this monstrous claim. First, humanists, as narrowly defined, don't have an "official position" since one of the claims of humanism is that each is to be guided by his or her conscience. In fact, this description says more about LaHaye's projections and understanding of the faithful-as-automatons than it does about humanism, however one defines that term. As well, since LaHaye's "humanism" effectively includes every worldview except his own, finding a definitive source would be IMPOSSIBLE. And then there is the matter of citations. If he wants to quote scripture, he is right there with chapter and verse, but when he makes the craziest assertions about the evils of "humanism" he does so without a single source to back him up. Oh well, my reliance on facts and evidence is probably just indicative of humanist indoctrination.

This book would be laughable if LaHaye were merely one more fundamentalist moron who can't come to grips with a bigger, more complex world than the one into which he was born. Alas this is not the case. The ideas he expresses in this book inform his best-selling Left Behind series, which has influenced millions of self-proclaimed American Christians. Throughout his book, he talks about how "humanists" are unfit for holding public office in the US (a position that flies in the face of Article VI of the Constitution) and repeatedly advocates that "Christian, pro-moral Americans" take power back by whatever means necessary. If you don't find that a chilling thought, read about how non-Christians are treated in the Left Behind books or play the new Left Behind video game, and you may change your mind. When examined, LaHaye's us-versus-them worldview reveals itself to be murderously pernicious and downright fascistic.

Alas, with the dawning of the 21st century, it looks like "taking the power back" is precisely what LaHaye's acolytes intend to do. Those of us who still care about individual freedom and Enlightenment (i.e., Constitutional American) values would do well to read this book to see what we are up against. It ain't pretty.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on August 1, 2009
I realize there are a lot of unpopular ideas put forth by Tim in his book but I have found more truth then fiction in his book. It's a shame that many so-called Christians continue to delude themselves that man-kind is somehow wise enough to better determine what is needed vs God. Absolutely False! Countries that have abandoned God's precepts are neither good nor noble. Tim correctly points out that Humanism appeals to those who delude themselves into believing that we are capable of determining what is moral and what isn't! History proves that to be one great big lie but that has done little to silence this ungodly trend. He also points out that a lot of the concepts that far-left liberals embrace have been indoctrinated into them by far-left zealot college professors. This also has been proven true but that of course doesn't stop the far left from denying this reality. I don't agree with everything in his book but he has enough basic truths present in his book that anyone wishing to truly understand the vile humanist movement should read this book. Of course humanist deny that they are trying to control those "they" deem less enlightened then themselves but what would you expect from this group. While on the surface they appear to only have their fellow human-beings "best interest" at heart but even if they did the ungodly and irresponsible way they go about it is contrary to everything that God has taught us. Not all atheist are humanist but all humanist are atheist! Since when did those who deny the existence of God know better how one should live ones life better then God! And shame on all of the ignorant persons who think that they live any sort of life they want and still be considered a Christian. And for those foolish enough to doubt the credibility of the Bible should read Lee Strobel's book 'The Case For the Real Christ'. Lee challenges numerous biblical scholars along with a psychologist and a medical Doctor in order to determine the credibility of the Bible. A few idiots have tried to bash his book as well and they come off sounding like a bunch of babbling half-wits. Zero credibility! Their arguments are incoherent and they also consist of gross misquoting or deliberate misreading of various passages of the bible. So if these feeble arguments these people can come up with to bash Tim or Lee I think those of us who are real Christians should embrace these books and ignore all of the fair-weathered and phony Christians pathetic attempts to deceive all who seek the truth!
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Battlefield of the Mind: Winning the Battle in Your Mind
Battlefield of the Mind: Winning the Battle in Your Mind by Joyce Meyer (Paperback - October 1, 2002)

Fundamentalism: The Search For Meaning
Fundamentalism: The Search For Meaning by Malise Ruthven (Paperback - June 2, 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.