Customer Reviews


266 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


332 of 345 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are reviews of an older edition
On the preorder page for one of the new 2012 editions of the "Magical Mystery Tour" movie, Amazon is showing old, negative reviews for a now-obsolete(and unauthorized) DVD release. These reports correctly inform the consumer of the poor audio & video quality of that unauthorized DVD, but when the new, high quality DVD & Bluray editions are released in October 2012,...
Published on September 8, 2012 by Philip A.Cohen

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but for fans only
The image quality on the new DVD is GREAT! Much better than I'd hoped for considering the age and the recordings of it to date. However, make no mistake, this one is for fans ONLY! It took my several attempts before I could even make it through the whole thing without cringing. This is essentially a home movie that the Beatles made the mistake of broadcasting. - The...
Published on October 15, 2012 by J. Besser


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

332 of 345 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are reviews of an older edition, September 8, 2012
By 
Philip A.Cohen (Bay Harbor Islands, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
On the preorder page for one of the new 2012 editions of the "Magical Mystery Tour" movie, Amazon is showing old, negative reviews for a now-obsolete(and unauthorized) DVD release. These reports correctly inform the consumer of the poor audio & video quality of that unauthorized DVD, but when the new, high quality DVD & Bluray editions are released in October 2012, consumers who visit the pages for these new editions will see negative reviews of the unauthorized DVD, and possibly think that those reviews refer to the 2012 editions. Amazon needs to correct this situation, so that space is left open so that reviews of the new editions appear on the product pages for those new editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, August 24, 2012
By 
Tim Goldich (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If anyone should ever doubt the Beatles greatness, this film will NOT be the one to change their mind. It is a silly film. In fact, it is a very silly, very amateurish trifle. In fact it is downright bad. So why do I give it five big ones? Because it's The Beatles, of course. The Beatles were cranking it out for only seven years. There's a limited quantity of Beatles' product and that makes every bit of it precious!

Nevertheless, the casual viewer will probably be quite bewildered by this goofy curio of psychedelia. It has no script, no plot, and no acting to speak of. So, if you've never seen it, go in with LOW expectations. First off, understand that this is not a Beatles feature film. It was originally presented as a one-hour Beatles TV special, nothing more. It is not a "good" film (in fact it is a "bad" film). But it is imaginative and energetic and it has its moments and it is Beatles!

For Beatles fans this lavish-attention release of MMT is way more than welcome! For the first time, we'll be able to see it in better than "bootleg" quality, much better! Just to hear the songs in remastered/remixed uncompressed (!) surround sound is reason enough to celebrate. Then there are the many extras and intriguing aspects (extra scenes? Songs "re-edited"?). I can't wait!!

Addendum: Having now experienced the blu ray, I like Magical Mystery Tour even more than before. It has a hip quality. It moves fast. The greatly improved picture and sound lift the film up a notch or two. Now that it sounds good, even the incidental music contributes. Everything comes off better than before.
The Beatle music sounds fantastic! It's been noted that the songs sound even better here than they do off the 2009 CD re-masters. I think that's true. And I think there are at least two good reasons: 1) This is what happens when you take your sound directly from the original multi-track source recordings and remix from scratch. 2)This is what you get when you refrain from adding compression in an effort to make the music sound "louder" (so it will sell in today's CD and mp3 markets).
I just wish ALL the Beatles' archive of music, films, and concerts were available in an equally superb presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie May be Silly, but Who Cares -- It's the Music THat Matters, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes, the movie is cheaply made and amateurish, but I really don't care, because spliced in between the poor "acting," silly scenes, blurry photography etc is the pure magic of seeing the Beatles performing some of the greatest music ever written. When, the songs start, my heart still jumps, and I forget about the filler in between. In all fairness, this was an experiment for the Beatles; if the cinematic part of the experiment failed, what matters is that the music succeeded beyond all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magnificent Release for a much maligned film., October 5, 2012
By 
Michael G Disa (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received my set today...upon opening the box the first thing I see is my very own Ticket for the Magical Mystery Tour. The 10 x 10 book has a nice forward by Sir Paul..followed by a Beatles time period piece by Barry Miles. The Book concludes with a "Diary of the Tour" with many many pictures and copies of invoices from the filming. Then there is a 7 x 7 gatefold holding both the Blu-Ray and DVD. Then finally the 7 x 7 Magical Mystery Tour EP made in the USA!!!! A gorgeous Gatefold replication. Yes the one record Capitol refused to release in the US, but instead adding singles tracks to create a full album. Yes the disc labels are replications of the UK release but have "Made In The USA"!!!! So Roll Up for the Mystery Tour!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up for the Mystery Tour, October 20, 2012
By 
steve_manassas (Manassas, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR was filmed in the fall of 1967, and was The Beatles' first major project after the death of manager Brian Epstein. While the film's soundtrack (a double-EP in Britain, an 11-song album in America, which was also imported into the UK, where it was eventually released on cassette in 1973 and on LP in 1976) was an enormous success, the film was not. It was first shown on the BBC on Boxing Day (26 December) 1967 in monochrome (most British viewers had black-and-white TV sets) and was not received well by the public, or by critics ("blatant rubbish" and "tasteless nonsense" were two of the milder descriptions). A second colo(u)r broadcast appeared on BBC2 on 05 January 1968, but only the few Britons who had "colour" TVs saw it, and the damage was done.

In America, both ABC and NBC withdrew their bids for a network broadcast of MMT; the film made its U.S. debut at New York's Fillmore East a few months later as part of a fundraising concert. Over the years, Apple rented the film to colleges and indie movie theaters. The film did not appear on American TV until it was syndicated in 1985, which was where I saw it for the first time. A few poor-quality VHS tapes appeared in the early-to-mid-1980s, but the first proper video release was in 1988, when Apple and MPI Home Video released an official VHS tape, with a restored soundtrack by George Martin.

In 1997, MPI released the film on DVD; I own The Beatles DVD Collector's Set that was released in 2000, which contains the original MPI DVD versions of MMT, HELP, THE FIRST U.S. VISIT (both of which have since been restored and re-released by Apple), and the Phil Collins documentary The Making of A Hard Day's Night, which was upgraded in 2014 (see below). MMT has been out of print for years, although it has been bootlegged, but has just been re-released by Apple in DVD and Blu-ray format, as well as the Deluxe Collector's Edition, which I purchased.

To be honest, the film is no CITIZEN KANE or even A HARD DAY'S NIGHT. But it is a good piece of entertainment, and contains seven terrific Beatles songs: the title track, "The Fool On The Hill," the instrumental "Flying," George Harrison's "Blue Jay Way," the classic "I Am The Walrus," which appears in full stereo all the way through, and Paul's "Your Mother Should Know," which is the film's closing production number. "Hello Goodbye" plays over the closing credits. The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band's rendition of "Death Cab For Cutie" (featuring future Monty Python member and Rutle Neil Innes) is also an hilarious classic. One of the outtake scenes, Nat Jackley's romp around the pool with pretty girls, directed by John Lennon, features an unreleased Lennon-McCartney instrumental called "Shirley's Wild Accordion," played by accordionist Shirley Jackson. The stereo and 5.1 surround-sound soundtrack is excellent, and the picture restoration is good too, although some of the colors have faded over time. There are also four deleted scenes that are hidden on the main menu in the form of "Easter eggs"; two of them can be accessed by going to the "Play Film" option and clicking on the up-arrow or left-arrow key on your remote; the other two can be accessed by going to the "Audio Options" option and using either the up-arrow or right-arrow key. Sir Paul McCartney's Director's Commentary can either be listened to, viewed with subtitles if you don't want to override the film soundtrack, or both. There are two sets of subtitles; one for the main film, the other for Paul's commentary (11 languages in all). The subtitles also apply to the special features.

See Amazon's product description for more on the special features on the DVD and Blu-ray. The Deluxe Edition is worth having for the additional 60-page book, including essays by Sir Paul McCartney and Barry Miles, and an "itinerary" of the scenes shot in the film. There is also a reproduction of the original mono vinyl double-EP that was issued in the UK in 1967. This brings my MMT collection full circle; I purchased the stereo EP years ago as an import; I have three versions of the vinyl album - the original 1967 Capitol LP (with three fake stereo Duophonic songs), the all-stereo German issue from 1971 (with the pink cover) that was the template for the later CD release, and the 1976 UK Parlophone pressing that is identical to Capitol's. I also have the original CD from 1987, the stereo/mono CD version of the EP, issued in 1992 as part of the Compact Disc EP Collection, and the remastered mono and stereo CDs from 2009.

While it's not the best film, it's worth having, especially if you're a Beatle fan. Stripped of the dialogue, it would make an excellent long-form music video (unfortunately, there is no "songs-only" option). 4 stars for content; 5 stars for packaging and quality.

Hopefully, if director Michael Lindsay-Hogg is right, the elusive LET IT BE will finally be out in 2013, and that a newly-restored 50th Anniversary edition of A HARD DAY'S NIGHT will be released in 2014 (the 2002 Miramax version sucks; until 2014, I watched the older MPI DVD). UPDATE: Still no LET IT BE, but the updated A Hard Day's Night (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) was finally issued in 2014, and includes an upgraded version of The Making of A Hard Day's Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Collector's treasure., October 6, 2012
This Review is for the box set edition of The Beatles Magical Mystery Tour 2012 release. I have used the basic content in order as listed in the press release and on the box itself and will elaborate on it based on my viewing of both the Blu Ray and DVD set which I was lucky enough to receive on October 5th.
The Beatles Magical Mystery Tour is basically their 1967 home movie which bewildered audiences at the time.
Today it allows us to look back at a time when the Summer of Love seemed endless and possibilities were limitless.
This box set contains the DVD & Blu-Ray, as well as a very nice softcover 60 page book with background information, photographs and production notes.The book also contains period reviews of the film,which were not so kind.and also includes a faithful reproduction of the mono double 7" vinyl EP of the films six Beatles songs.The discs are pressed in the USA on reproduction Parlophone labels.,and mirror the original British issue which accompanied the films 1967 TV premiere.The EP is remastered,possibly from the 2009 Mono Masters set,but I'm not sure.

Special Features include:

Director's Commentary - by Paul McCartney. Very anecdotal,with several interesting McCartneyesque quips,and some sharp barbs at BBC censors.

The Making of Magical Mystery Tour (19m 05s) - Features interviews with Paul and Ringo, along with other cast members and crew. Includes unseen footage.Very enjoyable,and adds some much needed background to the proceedings

Ringo the actor (2m 30s) - Ringo describes his role in the film and mentions his other acting experiences.

Meet The Supporting Cast (11m 27s) - Nat Jackley, Jessie Robins, Ivor Cutler, The Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, Victor Spinetti, George Claydon, and Derek Royle are profiled.Again,not essential,but adds a little to the depth of the filmby way of additional outtake footage.

`Your Mother Should Know' (2m 35s)
`Blue Jay Way' (3m 53s)
`The Fool On The Hill' (3m 05s)
- These three songs are presented in previously unseen edited editions. These alternate versions will especially be interesting to Beatle collectors,as they have not been released officially or bootlegged.They are,however,not quite as crisp visually as the remastered film itself.

`Hello Goodbye' (3m 24s), as featured in Top of the Pops 1967
- The Beatles had the BBC film them in the editing process when they were working on Magical Mystery Tour. the resulting film was edited to create a promo which was subsequently broadcast on Top of the Pops. Done in Black and white,this is a great addition to any Beatles collection and it also makes its DVD debut here.

Nat's Dream (2m 50s) - This deleted scene from the original film was directed by John Lennon and features Nat Jackley.
Of interest to Beatle collectors is the music soundtrack to this deleted scene,"Shirley's Wild Accordion",a Lennon-McCartney instrumental composition,recorded at Abbey Road during the Blue Jay Way sessions on October 12,1967. and produced By John Lennon. This features Shirley Evans on accordion,Paul McCartney on maraca,with some incidental background yelling,and Ringo Starr on drums.Never released until now.

Ivor Cutler - `I'm Going In A Field' (2m 35s) - Cutler is featured performing on a keyboard `I'm Going In A Field', and it is the weakest of all the bonus material,.This deleted scene features no other cast members.

Traffic - `Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush' (1m 53s) -Traffic's excellent `Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush',is slightly reminiscent of the Strawberry fields forever Beatles promo. It was commissioned by The Beatles who at one point planned to include it in the film.It survives today as an outtake.

All in all this box set is a beautifully packaged commemorative edition,with the book containing a diary of events as they unfolded.
The DVDs are in a laminated folder and individually enclosed in laminated mini sleeves for protection.
The vinyl mono EP is also a faithful reproduction,but the sleeves seem a little too snug for the enclosed discs.The remastered film is beautifully reproduced ,both visually and musically.I will have listen more closely to note sonic differences between the Blue Ray and the regular DVD.At present,to my ear The Blue Ray 5.1 stereo is about as good as it gets.
As far as the film itself,It should be looked at for what it is,53 minutes of the Beatles being themselves.That should be good enough for anyone.
As far as the price,I hedged a bit at first,but such a quality package makes it an essential purchase for the avid Beatle collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW TO ACCESS EASTER EGGS, October 16, 2012
This review is from: The Beatles: Magical Mystery Tour (DVD)
In the main menu, place the cursor on 'Play Film' and hit the 'up' button on your keyboard to access "Fish and Chips Shop." To access "Missing Dining Room Scene," hit 'left' button from 'Play film' position.
To access "Jessie's Blues," place the cursor on "Audio Options" and hit the 'right' button on your keyboard.

For "Magic Alex Sings Walls of Jericho," hit the 'up' button while the cursor is on "Audio Options."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome package, but beware!, October 10, 2012
By 
Patrick Ogelvie (Wilmington, NC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received my copy of the deluxe MMT set today only to find that disc 2 of the double-EP set was missing. This is undoubtedly due to some mixup at the manufacturing/assembly stage, so there's no way to know if you've got one of these until it's opened. So don't delay in cracking the shrinkwrap, you may be a disc short. I've already initiated an exchange, and Amazon is all over it, so no worries if that's the case. Other than that, the package is astounding. It'd be nice to see all their other films, including Let It Be, presented on this level - along with some other titles that have languished in the vaults for decades: Shea Stadium, Budokan, etc. Hell of a job all around, despite the missing disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mystery Tour FINALLY!!!.....Will Let It Be come next??, October 7, 2012
I have an Australian copy of Magical Mystery Tour on DVD with stereo soundtrack that I purchased at a Barnes and Noble many years ago, but the picture quality wasn't up to par. So finally, Apple has decided to re-release the Magical Mystery Tour film with fully remastered film and soundtrack. At least they are doing the soundtrack right this time. When I bought the remastered Help! DVD, the soundtrack was only either in stereo or 5.1 DTS. I don't have DTS on my A/V receiver, so I couldn't listen to it in full surround sound. Magical Mystery Tour is in Dolby 5.1 surround sound, so that's a good thing (too bad Help! wasn't). I've seen MMT a few times, and I've had mixed feelings about the film. On the one hand, it's The Beatles, and like many Beatles fans, I tend to scoop up anything Beatles. So seeing them in a film, ANY film is one I'll watch. However, the film is what it is. This was The Beatles first foray into making their own film, doing it their own way, without any real professional help or guidance. And it does show, since MMT doesn't have the type of direction their other movies had (sans Let It Be). But MMT is an enjoyable film nonetheless, and I will be looking for it at Wal-Mart to see what their pricing will be on it. I'll only get the single DVD release. While the box set looks nice, what I'm more interested in is the DVD, and seeing how good the remastering process was for this DVD. So now the question: Will Let It Be come next?? While Beatles fans have clamored for Let It Be to be released and remastered, for the Beatles, this was the one movie they would have probably preferred not to release, since it is essentially as Paul McCartney put it "watching the Beatles break up on camera". It's got great music, and the rooftop concert can't be beat, but it is a somber chapter in Beatle history. But it does bring to an end what Beatles publicist Derek Taylor once called the Beatles "the twentieth century's greatest romance".

UPDATE (10/9): Today is MMT day, and I went over to Wal-Mart to get the Magical Mystery Tour DVD. They only had the single DVD though. I didn't see the Blu-Ray version or the box set. Anyways, I got it home and watched it. Apple did a very good job with remastering the movie. For the DVD, everything look pretty crisp and clear. I can only assume how good the Blu-Ray version would look. The audio mastering was very good too. Even the spoken dialogue was cleaned up and sounds good. When I used to watch MMT, I could never understand what the couriers on the bus were saying through the hand held mics during the film. With the audio remastering, you can hear it really good. So it's not just the songs that benefit from the sound makeover, but the movie dialogue as well. The single DVD has a 6 or 7 page book inside the case with pics and liner notes on the DVD. I liked the special features section of the DVD, especially the cut-out scenes from the movie, and the Steve Winwood/Traffic song 'Here We Go 'Round The Mulberry Bush'. I had heard about this song, but didn't know it had been considered for the MMT film. So 4 stars for the remastered MMT film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMT is an eccentric delightful gem deserving of the best quality video and audio, August 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I immediately pre-ordered the Blu-ray of Magical Mystery Tour - confident that the Capitol label and McCartney's personal involvement would guarantee this to be a genuinely fine high definition experience. 16mm film is capable of looking very impressive on Blu-ray (a prime example is "Peter Gabriel - Secret World Live"). The quality of the restoration for this first official MMT release is truly astonishing - and that's in regard to both the video and audio. The main soundtrack is in either genuine stereo (i.e. not simulated) or a skillfully mixed and very impressive 5.1 surround.

Paul McCartney's commentary track is well worthwhile - he shares some interesting first hand knowledge in a very laid back manner. Ringo adds his comments to camera in the "Making Of" special feature, and there are archival comments by John and George.

I love this film not just because of the Beatles music, but also because it features my favourite Scottish artist, Ivor Cutler (as main character "Buster Bloodvessel") - I'm very happy to see that he performs in one of the bonus features. MMT also includes my clear favourite comedy music group, The Bonzo Dog Band singing "Death Cab For Cutie".

For any fan of Ivor Cutler, The Beatles and/or the Bonzo Dog Band, this official Blu-ray or DVD will be a invaluable addition to their collection.

Prior to this October 2012 release the only 2 DVD versions that had been available were transfers from very noisy film (with the out of print "MPI" release being vastly superior to the "Avenue One" atrocity).

MMT is a wonderful diversion - an eccentric delight which I've enjoyed 100 or more times over the years - and which I will enjoy even more in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Beatles: Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles: Magical Mystery Tour by Paul McCartney (DVD - 2012)
$19.98 $14.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.