Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Beauty is the Beast . . .
3.5 Stars

Isabelle was a spoil debutante, who only care where the next party was located. When a skiing accident had her injured in the middle of the wintry forest, Isabelle began to wonder where her life went wrong. Stumbling along, she found herself at Jeremy's secluded cabin. Forcing him to help her, she made herself at home. Jeremy was not happy with...
Published 12 months ago by P. Romance

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad
I love these types of movies but this one was pretty bad. Pacing was off and characters were unlikable. Pass.
Published 6 months ago by K. S. Haaland


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Beauty is the Beast . . ., October 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Beast (DVD)
3.5 Stars

Isabelle was a spoil debutante, who only care where the next party was located. When a skiing accident had her injured in the middle of the wintry forest, Isabelle began to wonder where her life went wrong. Stumbling along, she found herself at Jeremy's secluded cabin. Forcing him to help her, she made herself at home. Jeremy was not happy with the little arrangement and was determined to take this princess down a notch or two. But their forced closeness began to stir something that they both have forgotten. Will they discover that love can overcome all before the two weeks were up?

So, what happens when Beauty is the Beast? You get this movie. This was not the Beauty we're used to. Instead of being a nice, caring person we've come to expect, our heroine was a spoiled, rich socialite who preferred partying than helping others. Overall, the acting was done very well. Not over the top. Isabelle, played by Shona Kay, was perfectly irritating. Jeremy, played by Brad Johnson, was majorly cute and I formed more of an affinity with Jeremy's character than Isabella's. Their chemistry was not off the charts, but enough to make you believe that they were falling in love. Some of their scenes were giggle-worthy.

The movie basically played out like a romance novel. It was cliche and predictable. Which was awesome for me since I love my romances. However, for those expecting something new, you will be very disappointed. The plot was a little on the slow side. As a book, I would've enjoyed it more. But as a movie, not as much. Nothing much happened. For 70% of the time, it was more of Isabella discovering what happiness really meant by secluding herself in this cabin for two weeks with someone who didn't give in to every whim. I did like the way the movie handled her transformation though. Overall, it was a clean movie, except for a few kissing scenes. I'm guessing the Dove.org 12+ seal was probably for some of the mature topics. However, it wasn't anything you don't normally see on TV these days. Other than that, there was nothing else I found objectionable. For the few, there were some Christian elements near the end of the movie.

Beauty and the Beast is and will always be my favorite fairy tale. "A Beautiful Beast" took enough elements from the Disney's version to see the correlation and satisfy fairy tale fans. If you generally like gentle romances, this is definitely the movie for you. Mind you, the plot is predictable with a smidge of drama. And if you are a person who needs something unique and different, please pass this one by. So, depending on your mood, this will be a movie will be a hit or miss. Overall, I was excited to watch it once. However, I think once was enough for me.

Note: English language with English subtitles only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Beasty Tales, October 30, 2013
By 
mk (parker, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Beast (DVD)
Can't get enough Beauty and the Beast? Then, SunWorld Pictures offers a clean, Dove approved tale with a predictable but well made modern remake of the classic. And you really get two Beasts in this one.

Isabelle the spoiled orphan, socialite, party girl whose rich uncle provides for her from her deceased parent's trust fund is unlikable even to herself. She takes a ski trip, insults her not as-glamorous-looking friend and finds herself injured and isolated at the mercy of a mystery man living solo in a romantic cabin far from civilized contact. Wow, a perfect romance novel. Of course, the at odds relationship draws us, and we know where this is headed, but it's a relaxing, fun journey to enjoy.

SunWorld produces these kind of movies, e.g., Civil Love(directed also by Bryan Carzan)- a Civil War romance, Scents and Sensibility- a modern Jane Austen romantic comedy and others. The outdoor settings are beautiful, the actors do a fine enough job, although the characterizations and story can be a little overdone at times; the music, editing and general production values are good.

They provide for a genre featuring a simple moral tale with romance, comedy, happy endings, a family friendly film(but little kids will be bored), and a touch of spirituality, e.g., praying or asking God for help or forgiveness. These may not appeal to some for being insipid, moralizing and too predictable. My opinion: keep making them. 4 stars, 5 because I'm a sap at times for these warm and fuzzy love stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a good movie., January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Beast (DVD)
It was a little different than "Beauty and the Beast" but I enjoyed it very much. I like stories that are easy to watch and have some conflict but always end up with positive resolution. Fun to watch and I'll probably watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love these types of movies but this one was pretty bad. Pacing was off and characters were unlikable. Pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Reflections..., February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Beast (DVD)
Other reviewers have done a nice job describing the plot, so I will merely point out a few specifics not previously mentioned.

While it's natural to view Isabelle as a nasty woman, if you watch closely, you see a nice gal, doing her best to play a gnarly part. Later in the movie, the "real her" comes out, and she's very likeable. She does a good job with her acting; all of the actors here do.

Though Isabelle's skiing trip is set in Switzerland, the movie is filmed in Utah, and aside from one Swiss-style building seen early on, the wooded, rolling-hills landscape in no way resembles the Swiss Alps. A filming location with rugged mountain peaks would have made the setting much more believable.

Furthermore, Jeremy lives the "simple life" with no car, Internet, or even a phone - isolated 25 miles from civilization. Yet that doesn't jive with his huge, ritzy mountain home (not off-grid, either, but with electricity), chock full of designer furnishings - like many that we see here in America's northwest. A slightly more humble abode (that actually looked like the home of a humble man, and not an interior designer), would have added much realism to the plot being depicted. And it would have accentuated the moral that Isabelle came to learn - that money is not in the equation of the best things in life.

Those assessments aside, Jeremy (Brad Johnson) is a talented actor who sure nails his role here. He's also a very handsome guy, and men probably find Isabelle (Shona Kay) equally attractive. Most important, this is a wholesome movie that the entire family can appreciate. One finds it enjoyable to watch each character's individual growth as the story progesses. It's one that you may find yourself viewing again and again - and feeling good about at the movie's end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only so-so movie content, but seller did their job well., April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Beast (DVD)
This movie plot is mediocre at best and was not real good at clarifying where everyone stood in the end. The seller did their part to provide prompt reliable service, so no complaint there. Not a movie I would encourage others to spend the money on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a very good movie with an (obvious) twist on beauty and the beast. What I really like about it was that it really showed how love isn't just surface, based entirely on looks and perfection. It really showed the connection between the characters that eventually lead to a fondness better known as "love". Some people might say "I can't see how they fell in love when they were arguing all the time" I say, if you watch the movie with a critical eye, you get a chance to see that love is about accepting someone for who they are including their imperfections. Also before you can love you need to be honest with yourself so the movie had a little bit of self discover as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars liked it, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
looking for more like this, can be watched with your family, i hope we will have producers whow will make more movies like this or like 'finding normal'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great love story, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my all time favorite movies. I've watched it several times. Great family movie. A wonderful love story. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible acting, May 10, 2014
By 
Angelique C. West (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I only made it through half of this movie and I went into it only expecting light entertainment. The acting was so wooden and forced it was worse than any high school play I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Beautiful Beast
The Beautiful Beast by Bryan Carzan (DVD - 2013)
$24.99 $16.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.