Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


265 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerson Therapy, or Chemotherapy: Guess which one has less than 3% success?
It has been said that more people live off cancer than die from it. The Beautiful Truth is a movie that can put a stop to this travesty. Here is a very practical guide to the intensive nutritional treatment of cancer and other life-threatening diseases that many would consider to have been impossible to obtain. But thanks to the work of Max Gerson, M.D., and his daughter,...
Published on April 29, 2009 by Andrew W. Saul

versus
21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly produced.
First of all, I am already a believer and biased toward the message of this movie. Vegan and raw diets are healthy, environmentally responsible, and big agri business have hijacked our food and well-being. I am also a fan of the Gerson Therapy, although I don't think it's The Cure in all cases. The reason I give this movie 2 stars is that the writing and production is...
Published on August 26, 2011 by Gina


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

265 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerson Therapy, or Chemotherapy: Guess which one has less than 3% success?, April 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
It has been said that more people live off cancer than die from it. The Beautiful Truth is a movie that can put a stop to this travesty. Here is a very practical guide to the intensive nutritional treatment of cancer and other life-threatening diseases that many would consider to have been impossible to obtain. But thanks to the work of Max Gerson, M.D., and his daughter, Charlotte Gerson, this knowledge is readily available.

Max Gerson cured cancer. He did so with a strict fat-free, salt-free, low-protein, essentially vegetarian dietary regimen, based on great quantities of fresh vegetable juice, supplements, and systemic detoxification. Ms. Gerson explains:

"Dr. Gerson found that the underlying problems of all cancer patients are toxicity and deficiency. He had to overcome both these difficulties. He found that one of the important features of his therapy had to be the hourly administration of fresh vegetable juices. These supply ample nutrients, as well as fluids to help flush out the kidneys. When the high levels of nutrients re-enter tissues, toxins accumulated over many years are forced into the blood stream. The toxins are then filtered out by the liver. The liver is easily overburdened by the continuous release of toxins and is unable to release the load. Dr. Gerson found that he could provide help to the liver by the caffeine in coffee, absorbed from the colon via the hemorrhoidal vein, which carries the caffeine to the portal system and then to the liver. The caffeine stimulates the liver/bile ducts to open, releasing the poisons into the intestinal tract for excretion."

Some of the blunt, uncompromising statements this movie makes are certain to get up the medical profession's collective nose. Too bad for them, for Dr. Gerson was right. And as for Charlotte, his daughter, her entire life has been immersed in healing people, first learning while assisting her father, and later teaching his method to the world.

I personally have seen what the Gerson program can do for a terminally ill cancer patient. I have been called upon to help in a couple of high-profile but last minute cases. One patient was a well-known sports figure. He was given some months to live and was not happy about it, as he was still in his 50s. He asked what his best shot would be for inoperable, untreatable metastasized cancer. I told him: the Gerson therapy. He did it, not in its entirety, but with enthusiasm. And, he lived considerably longer that he was expected to. But what really impressed me was the dramatic improvement in his energy level. From fatigue and weakness, he went instantly to a vibrant life, commencing from the very week he started the program. He maintained a more-than-full schedule for so long that even people who knew he was sick forgot that he was sick.

Years later, people that never knew of my involvement in the matter would bring up his name, invariably recalling how active he was and how good he looked until, almost as a surprise, he died.

I saw a similar level of success with a prominent New York businessman, the owner of a chain of stores and afflicted with untreatable liver cancer. He began to do much, but by no means all, of the Gerson program, and was subsequently able to extensively travel the world with his family. He lived years longer than expected, with a high quality of life confirmed by all who saw him.

Looking only at these two patients, wanton critics of Gerson's method might think that, without complete and unequivocal cure, there is little to crow about. Such a view is unproductive, for neither of these patients followed the Gerson program completely. It is a tough sell, even to a person with a terminal diagnosis.

Why is this?

Ignorance and arrogance make a bad combination, and "modern" medicine has been guilty of both for decades. Political physicians did not heed Dr. Gerson. In fact, they publicly condemned him. The news media, and some so-called "consumer" websites, have been their willing accomplices. The misinformation they spew to this day is fraught with fabricated frights of natural therapies, while in the same breath they spew forth the wonders of pharmaceutical drugs. When is the last time you saw a favorable mention of the Gerson program in the newspaper or on TV? Since pharmacological doctors have no sure-fire cure for cancer (an understatement if there ever was one), they might at least back a winning horse. According to peer-reviewed research, conventional chemotherapy contributes 2.3% to five year survival in Australia and a mere 2.1% in the US. (Morgan, Ward and Barton. Clinical Oncology, 2004. 16: 549-560) The Gerson approach has been shown, for over six decades, to significantly improve both quality of life and length of life in the sickest, the most hopeless, of cancer patients. Many people have been completely cured on the Gerson therapy. Not all, but many. Far, far more than with chemo.

Some years ago I watched a video tape of a Gerson patients' "reunion." On stage were people from all walks of life, and most were advanced in age. One after the other they spoke of the cancer they were diagnosed with three, ten, or twenty years ago. All were recovered. Dr. Gerson was the reason. You cannot watch such an event and fail to be moved.

Charlotte Gerson is 87 now (2009) and fit as a fiddle. I've met her many times. She glows with energy and vivaciousness and life. But what is much more important, so do the vast majority of Gerson patients. I urge you to watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense cure -how brilliant!, March 25, 2009
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
This documentary reveals a simple truth to healing ourselves. You are what you eat...eat to live...food is the best medicine...all of these well-known conepts, when put into practice, really work! I have a relative who was cured of cancer through the Gerson Therapy in Mexico. She is in her ninties now!

thanks Garrett!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING this movie may cause EXTREME WELLNESS, March 2, 2009
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
Dr. Max Gerson saved my life. PLEASE WATCH THIS MOVIE. IT could save the life of someone you know or may know in the future. The Gerson Therapy is saving people from having their testicles, eyes, prostates, removed and discarded. And after all that the patient still has a severe metabolic breakdown, and just maybe they'll throw in a little chemical cocktail for an expensive, sickening finish. PLEASE BUY THIS MOVIE! For the sick and the suffering. This movie will change your life if you let it. TOO ALL THE DR. GERSON HATERS>>> TOO BAD COMMON SENSE ISN't COMMON. I personally know many cases of true wellness caused by the content of this Movie. Thank you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MYTH EXPLODING DVD!!! Please buy it while its still available., January 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
This is a beautiful DVD! The main feature is very good and illuminating. However the bonus feature titled: "The Gerson Therapy: A director's Perspective" -- is simply THE BEST!!! Just for the bonus feature alone, this DVD is worth its weight in diamonds. I don't believe there is another testimonial in the entire world that can make a believer out of everyone like those shown in the bonus feature will!

How come the US Congress has not set up a investigation committee at the highest levels of government to understand why alternate approaches, of which Max Gerson's is one such, are so effective where modern medicine has failed completely? How come the Gerson approach is able to heal terminally ill cancer patients, with life expectancies in weeks, when modern medicine had sent them home to die? Why is Gerson's approach so successful using non-invasive and non-barbaric procedrues in contrast to modern medicine? How come these terminally ill people are alive decades later looking vibrant and full of life, with absolutely no signs of mutilation? Why are these success stories not broadcast 24/7 on cable TV networks? When was the last time you watched someone who had been mutilated, nuked, chemo-ed etc come forth with accolades for the treatment they underwent? There are many such questions that need to be answered.

However, like in every such case where the truth stands out but the answers are not forthcoming, one need only follow the money trail. The US Congress and the regulatory agencies -- USDA and FDA, are in the back pockets of Big Pharma and the AMA. Its so simple! The "big guys" in the USDA and FDA are mostly former executives of Bigh Pharma or the multinational agribusiness. So its a "old boys" network between them with revolving doors. This is why such practices are allowed to persist while the medical establishment rakes in some $700,000 per cancer patient. The only loser in all this is the patient, who loses body parts, gets nuked (radiated), chemically treated with the most toxic substances known to man, mutilated by the knife and eventually dies, if not from the cancer itself, then from the treatment! Dante's version of hell is not in some nether world, but it exists right in our biggest and best medical schools, hospitals, nursing homes and such care facilities.

The whole dread complex around the disease of cancer drummed up my the Big Pharma, medical establishment, the American Medical Association (AMA), National Cancer Institute (NCI), American Cancer Society (ACS)and the rest is just a myth. They are completely, and I mean COMPLETELY on the wrong track when it comes to addressing the causes of chronic, degenerative and terminal illnesses. They have failed abysmally. They are like the three stooges trying to fix a problem they know nothing about!

The dread complex around such terminal diseases as cancer and others is deliberately engendered by Big Pharma and the AMA, to generate funds and sympathy for their failures at producing a cure. They need the dread complex to justify "Walk for the cure", bake sales, lapel pins, pink ribbons etc I cannot find enough words in the English dictionary to express my contempt and repugnance towards Big Pharma, the AMA, medical schools and the physicians of the entire medical establishments. They are not at all the learned people they think they are. They have completely forgotten two of Hippocrates proclamations, "Do no harm", and "Let your food be your medicine, and let your medicine be your food." A humble colon irrigation technician at a health spa does more good for the cause of healing than all these buffoons with a string of degrees following their names.

One would think that for the benefit of humanity they would step aside and let the Gerson therapy heal these cases. One would think that the US Congress would immediately investigate these cases and revamp the curriculums across the medical schools in this country to incorporate this approach to healing patients. After all, is not the health care budget a VERY LARGE portion of the total fiscal budget? Are not the health care costs the most significant concern for the entire US population, specially the increasingly aging population?

This DVD must be compulsory viewing for any one interested in true health care. If anyone in your family or circle of friends and co-workers has cancer, or any other chronic, degenerative or terminal illness, please have them watch this DVD! The cure is very simple. Its all centered around detoxification and proper nourishment. Please recall -- THE TRUTH IS ALWAYS SIMPLE!!!

Like I wrote before, the bonus feature on this DVD is the single greatest testimonial to the success story for the healing of cancer and other degenerative diseases! It is most definitely NOT the incurable disease that it has been made out to be. I know I'll be buying several copies of this DVD to counterbalance the propaganda of the entire medical establishment.

Along with this DVD, I would recommend the following list of titles for all those interested in a solid healing program, and a health program for life.

1) Healing Cancer

2) Food, Inc.

3) Eating - 3rd Edition

Healing requires a full hearted commitment so as to accomplish a dramatic change in lifestyle. Successful healing is impossible solely by consuming medication. Surgery, mutilation through radiation and chemo, bone marrow transplants etc are all highly dangerous and unnecessary procdures. The toxic nature of the chemicals and radiation speak for themself. Ask the physicians and nurses as to why so many of them would turn down these options if they were ever diagnosed with cancer.

Please take my advice in these matters and educate yourself thoroughly about different options. Watch DVDs like this one and hear testimonies from patients who recovered. Try all non-invasive procedures available through holistic healing approaches -- colon cleansing, raw living foods, massages and steam bath, any and all detox procedures etc Only as a last resort should one hand over one's body for experimentation and mutilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall, but I had a couple of quibbles with dietary recommendations, May 31, 2010
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
In the end, the narrator recommends a vegan diet, even though in the beginning of the film there were positive comments about nutrition researcher Weston A. Price.

Price studied healthy isolated native cultures throughout the world and found that they all ate meat or raw dairy foods. In addition, the original Gerson Therapy utilized raw liver juice. Price's natives also ate copious amounts of organ meats, which contain large amounts of vitamin A, folic acid and the omega-3 fatty acids DHA and EPA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Brings It All Together!, July 10, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
I enjoyed this DVD. I have read books and articles on each of the topics covered in this video. The topics are not new to me, but I did enjoy having them all presented together. This is a great video to start a new thinking process for those who are looking for a healthier way of life.

And for the guy who was repulsed by the thought of a coffee enima, I have never had one, but would be the first in line if my choice was between a coffee enima or chemo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this is the best truth out there and more people need to know it!, November 5, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
[...]

Garrett is a 15-year old boy living in the Alaskan wilderness with a menagerie of orphaned animals. Growing up close with nature has given him
a deep understanding of nutritional needs required by diet sensitive animals on the reserve. Unfortunately, the untimely and tragic death of his mother propelled him into a downward spiral and he risked flunking out of school. This led to his father's decision to home-school Garrett.
His first assignment was to study a controversial book written by Dr. Max Gerson.

Written over 50 years ago, Dr. Gerson found that diet could, and did, cure cancer. Controversial at the time (and even today), Garrett took on the challenge of researching this amazing therapy, which drew the interest of his neighbors in the small Alaskan community.
With the help of Dr. Gerson's daughter, Charlotte Gerson, and grandson, Howard Strauss, they gave him the ammunition needed to go in search
for the truth - a truth that would affect not only him, but his entire Alaskan village - all of whom wanted to know if these claims were true. After a number of cancer patients, who were diagnosed as terminal, shared their stories and their medical records with Garrett, it becameabundantly clear that, contrary to the disinformation campaign spear-headed by the multi-billion dollar medical and pharmaceutical industry, a cure for virtually all cancers and chronic diseases does exist - and has existed for over 80 years!
Garrett's mission now is to tell the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Documentry changed my life, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son-in law told me about this juicing documentry that I should watch, which was Fat, sick and nearly dead. I have Netflix but there was a very long wait so I started looking at other documentries and found Forks over knifes. My husband and I watched and I don't know what happened but everything changed about our eating habits NO meat,cheese,eggs. Now were about 2 weeks into this and I find THE BEAUTIFUL TRUTH DVD with DYING TO KNOW and THE GERSON MIRACLE OMG!! This documentry made me and my husband cry so much because we lost his mother a year ago to pancreatic cancer. We have never heard anything about this before. It sickens us both now how naive we were about what we were putting into our mouths. I have been buying every book about nutrition that I can get my hands on. Found the book The whole truth about soy there's another OMG!! I ate soy like it was candy...what has become of our Goverment to let us eat things that our body's were not meant to digest. Just found out about GMO' another OMG!! I'am now trying to heal my Mother, Aunt and all loved ones of their aliments. The journey will continue!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, June 20, 2010
By 
Carnagie Thornhill "bungalowjoe" (Treasure Island, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
Although I never knew it by name, I was aware of the Gerson Therapy for many years and would
share what I remembered hearing about with anyone who would listen even though it was'nt until
I saw "The Beautiful Truth" that I finally got the whole story.
The information enclosed in "The Beautiful Truth" can and should be life changing and makes
perfect sense and confirms the adage "You are what you eat."
Of course, changing a long developed lifestyle for the sake of one's health is'nt as easy as it sounds
and long developed bad habits are'nt either. Rather, it should be construed as growing a plant from
a single seed. The correct elements: water, sunlight, nutrition etc. will grow a full, healthy plant and product beautiful flowers and ripe delicious fruits.
The DVD points out this scenario for the human body and provides enough legitimate information
for the viewer to absorb and decide for themselves.
I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Ironic, October 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer (DVD)
I have watched this several times and absolutely love it. It gives a lot of information that everyone needs to know about the cronyism seen in the food, chemical, drug, and medical industries (yes, I purposely put "medical" as an "industry") in relationship to the government. Their ongoing pursuit of profit (and I'm quite the capitalist, but this isn't it) at the expense of the health and lives of their fellow humans is disgusting and frightening.

This little movie looks at a young man's journey of seeking information about health, diet, and a cure for cancer (his mother died from it). I enjoyed the story, but was bothered by a couple of items that were dead wrong or glossed over, which is typical of Steve Kroschel otherwise stellar work.

The first part of the movie had a section that focused on the work of Weston A. Price, a dentist who, along with his wife, traveled all over the world to study cultures untouched by civilization and studied the rate of dental caries. He was surprised to find that there was little incident of caries in the cultures who did not have contact with "foods of modern commerce" as he called them. Chronic diseases (heart disease, cancer, diabetes, etc.,) were practically unknown. The subsequent generations, however, were impacted negatively once they became westernized and ate western-type diets. In all of these cultures, animal products were an important part of the diet. There were no vegan cultures. In fact, Dr. Price noted that in once incident (in Africa), the culture that had adopted an agrarian lifestyle was completely dominated by another that had not (this is in Nutrition and Physical Degeneration - a stellar work). Dr. Price emphasized this point over and over again as he visited each culture.

You'd never know it from this movie which promotes vegetarian and vegan lifestyles as far more healthy than eating meat - irony indeed. That's just not true if the meat comes from a clean animal source which, unfortunately, is practically unknown today. So I could argue that the availability of different vegetables year round makes vegetarianism healthy, but all things considered, the natural state of man is at least as an *occasional* meat eater.

The second thing that bothered me was the discussion of the teeth of a carnivore (in this case, a wolf) in comparison to the teeth of herbivores. They also compared the short digestive tract of a carnivore with the longer digest tract of a herbivore. Therefore, the rationale stated, humans are meant to be herbivorous because of our flat teeth and longer GIs.

Two things sprang immediately to mind: one, {{as a generality}} animals who are herbivorous with flat teeth generally chew their cud (sheep, cows). We don't. Our so-called nearest relatives (chimps, gorillas) have as ferocious looking a set of canines as just about any hard-core carnivore. Once again, we don't.

A quick search will take you to any number of scientific studies which compares the human digestive tract to those of OTHER OMINIVORES including bears and chimpanzees, and states it as such.

So an oft-stated assertion made by vegans regarding the human digestive system as being the same as other herbivores is wrong on many, many different levels.

With all of that being said, the movie is otherwise enjoyable, and considering the serious and sobering subject, actually entertaining in that it makes you sit there and watch it.

While I still believe that Steve Kroschel gets a little too PC and "precious" in some of his statements, he still has good insight and did a good job with this movie.

Five stars for the movie + three stars for the errors = four stars. (I suck at math).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Beautiful Truth: The World's Simplest Cure for Cancer
$24.95 $9.67
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.